Loc Hist R 35£. 3 HIS
History of the fire and
police departments of
c . 3
Pater sdn Fre
Fire and Police Departments
PATERSON, N. J.
Their Origin, Progress and Development.
THE OLD AND THE NEW.
Our Twin Protectors.— The Volunteer and Paid
Fire Organizations.— Gallant Fire Fighters.
Police Protection and Law and Order,
a Well Disciplined Force.— Bio-
graphical and Historical.
Efficient Fire and Police
Sold by Subscription Only.
PATERSON, N. J. :
The Relief Association Publishing Co.
T^HE compiler lias to acknowledge at the outset his
indebtedness for much valuable material, which he has
used without stint, to a historical brochure on the fire
department, published two years ago. The facts* therein
contained are vouched for by ex-Chief McKiernan and
Chief Stagg. As the story was tersely and accurately told,
it was adopted in the main, without transposition or altera-
tion of any consequence. Other features entirely original
have been added, bringing the review of events to date.
The facts contained in the sketch of the police depart-
ment have been, in great part, obtained at police head-
quarters through the courtesy of the Commissioners and
Chief Graul. The compiler is also indebted to the centen-
nial edition of the Paterson Evening News for valuable
data. Both departments are well organized and their
respective duties are ably administered. Paterson is well
served by her police and firemen ; that fact is amply dem-
onstrated by the records of the departments, and freely
acknowledged by the press and public. There are eighty-
six policemen and fifty-eight firemen. Their respective
commanders are experienced officers and have the respect
of the men and the confidence of the community.
THE LYONS OF AMERICA.
What a Century Has Done for Paterson— Alexander Hamilton— The
"Society for Establishing Useful Manufactures " — The First
Cotton Mill— Business Development of the City— The Great Falls.
ftATERSON is celebrated as the " Lyons of America,"
as a compliment to the quantity and quality of its
product in manufactured silks.
It is just a century since Paterson was founded as a
manufacturing town. The site was selected as affording
the most numerous and striking advantages for a manufac-
turing center. It was the far-seeing mind of Alexander
Hamilton that marked out the locality as specially adapted
for great industrial activities, and the " Society for Estab-
lishing Usefu] Manufactures" (organized by Alexander
Hamilton) laid the foundation of the present city. "When
the first factory was built, there were about ten houses
within the limits of the present city. The society's charter
was signed by Governor William Paterson, and it was this
that caused the city to be named after him. These are the
few and brief foundation facts that have caused a primitive
wilderness to develop into a bustling city of 80,000
b "THE LYONS OF AMERICA/'
When the city of Paterson was incorporated in 1850 it
had a population of 11,341. In ten years these figures had
expanded to 20,478; in 1865 the city's census was 50,950;
1885, 63,279; and in 1890 the population had reached to
The debt of the city is less per capita than that of any
city of the state. Jersey City owes $120 per head ; New-
ark, $60 ; Hoboken, $35 ; Camden, $28 ; Paterson, $20.
The original and uppermost idea was, undoubtedly, the
manufacture of cotton goods on a large scale, but the pro-
duction of other necessary domestic articles also was contem-
plated. It was from the start a city of great expectations,
its founders going so far in their extravagant enthusiasm as
to believe, as many of them did, that at the location selected
by the society all the manufactures of any account in the
Union would finally center. The glorious future of the
country was then unknown to mortal, and as this was the
first organized attempt to establish anything like an indus-
trial center, the success of the undertaking was regarded
with the most sanguine expectations. This, indeed, is a
historical example of the fact that the founders had builded
better than they knew, and, as the result proved, their
wildest dreams of success have been more than realized.
Alexander Hamilton, Washington's first secretary of the
treasury, as already stated, first conceived the plan or idea
of founding the nucleus of the city of Paterson. He had
early become convinced that the United States would never
be really free and independent of Great Britain until they
could manufacture goods enough for their own consump-
" THB I-VoN.s OF AMEKICA. 7
ri. Hi, and one of his first acts as the head of the treasury
department was to endeavor to enlist Congress in support
of his views on this subject. The enterprise, we learn
from the history of Bergen and Passaic counties, was
worked up with great skill and industry until the immense
capital of one hundred thousand dollars was subscribed for
the projected company ; a vast sum to invest in manufac-
tures in those days. The new company was the largest, if
not the only one of the kind, in the whole United States.
Hamilton and his associates concluded to locate their
works at the Passaic Falls, as affording the finest water-
power anywhere within convenient reach of New York or
Philadelphia, and then they applied to the New Jersey
legislature for an act to incorporate them. The bill became
a law on the 22d of November, 1791.
In the year 1837 the County of Passaic was formed
from portions of Essex and Bergen, and Paterson became
the county seat. In 1838 the population had reached
The advisability of changing the form of government
from a township to that of a city was fully discussed,
resulting, on March 19th, 1851, in the approval by the
governor of a bill passed by the Legislature granting a
charter to the City of Paterson.
An election w r as held under the charter on April 14th,
1851, for the filling of municipal offices. The first meeting
of the Council was held at City Clerk Socrates Tuttle's
office on the south side of Congress street, on Tuesday
<5 "THE LYONS OF AMERICA.
morning, April 22d, 1851, for the appointment of city
The Great Falls of the Passaic, or "Passaiek," as it was
called in the early days, has the extraordinary watershed of
over 800 square miles. The changes made at and about the
falls are almost inconceivable. At first a slender dam was
built 200 yards higher up stream than the present one, just
above the falls, at La Fontaine's Gap near the bend of the
river, the ravine having been converted into a reservoir out
of which the current passed into what is now the middle
raceway. This water was conveyed 150 yards to the
society's first factory off Mill street at the corner of Passaic,
as those streets were afterward laid out.
The present dam was constructed in 1838-40, thereby
converting the water into an artificial channel constructed
across the deep ravine and through the rocks. From this
point it is made to turn in succession three tiers of fac-
tories, the height of the fall allowing three raceways, the
water being used successively that number of times, after
which it is once more discharged into the river at a distance
of nearly half a mile from the point of leaving it. The
minimum supply for mill purposes in a dry season is fifty
square feet ; the aggregate horse-power is 2,646. The
estimate of manufacturers is that a square fofct of water is
equal to 21 horse-power gross and 19 horse-power net.
The society owns rights and franchises for water storage by
which it is claimed the present supply would be quadriqjled
if found necessary. It is estimated that the average annual
rental received by the society per square foot is $750. The
Hon. Thomas Beveridge,
"THE LYONS OF AMERICA." 9
estimate of manufacturers of the average cost of the water
is $37.50 per horse-power per annum.
The fact that the important water franchise and a great
part of the land on which the city of Paterson is built were
held by the society under perpetual charter, with provisions
exempting from tax and granting in all respects very
sweeping powers, including the right of exercising munici-
pal government over several square miles of territory, has
been regarded by some as a very great disadvantage and as
having retarded the growth of the city at an earlier date.
It was claimed that the high rates demanded on leased
water privileges, as for the mill sites owned by it, not only
discouraged but in some instances drove away from the
place wealthy men and strong corporations who otherwise"
would gladly have located here. The current method of
leasing, for a term of twenty-one years, with a right of
purchase was regarded as pernicious in the degree that
under this system the society had the power to exact higher
rates than were equitable or profitable to purchasers.
These objectionable features, however, are of only
antiquarian interest, as such disabilities have long since
been removed. The society, in 1848, concluded to sell
outright in fee. The result on the prosperity of the young
city was most salutary.
Paterson is favored in other ways. The Morris canal
runs through the city, and a very large freight business is
done upon it, mostly coal and iron for the locomotive
works, mills, etc. The Passaic river runs also through the
city and is navigable from the Dundee dam to the Broad-
10 "THE LYONS OF AMERICA."
way bridge. A survey of the river lias been made by U. S.
engineers, who have pronounced the work of making the
river navigable to the heart of the city feasible. The time
is not far distant when the river frontage will be in demand
for manufacturing purposes and the shores of Dundee lake
will be lined with factories, ice houses, lumber yards, oil
The Valley of the Rocks is a wild glen where both
Washington and Lafayette used to love to wander. The
Revolutionary camp ground was near the falls, on the slope
of the Totowa hills.
The Cotton Industry. — Inspired by Alexander Ham-
ilton, the Society for Establishing Useful Manufactures
4nade preparations for the erection of a cotton mill to be
equipped with the novel water-power machines (December
5, 1791). This mill was erected on the west side of the
present 'Mill street, a short distance north of Market street.
It was the summer of 1794 before the mill was got into
operation. This first Xew Jersey cotton mill was a small
affair. The workmen had to be imported from England,
Ireland and Scotland. Owing to poor management the mill
did not prove a success, and in March, 1797, it was decided
to lease the mill. With its destruction the manufacture of
cotton bade fair to cease in Paterson, but the revival of the
industry was rapid and remunerative.
In 1810 the production of cotton, linen and woolen cloth
for the year amounted to 201,836 yards in families, and
456,250 yards of cotton goods, such as cassimeres, stripes,
checks, shirtings, corduroys and fancy goods. There were
"THE LYONS OF AM ki;k 'A." H
585 looms in operation— 102 for weaving cotton goods— of
which 70 were driven by water-power. Henceforth the
business history of Paterson was one of constant develop-
in cut and progression.
SKETCH OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT.
An Organization that Did Notable Service and Produced a Devoted
Body of Men — Their Services Briefly Reviewed — Introduction of
the Steam Engine — Some Big Fires.
"T^HE beginnings of the tire department of Paterson were
humble, as became the modest little manufacturing
village located by Alexander Hamilton at " The Great Falls
of the Passaick." Several mill owners had small hand-
engines, not much better than a good-sized hand-squirt, and
these w^re used with more or less eifect at the occasional
fires that awoke the villagers from their quiet, hum-drum
The first tire company was organized July 4th, 1815,
and was appropriately called after the river that flowed by
the settlement and furnished the mills and factories with
(at that time) unlimited power. Passaic No 1 was the only
company until February, 1821, when Neptune No. 2 was
placed on duty, with a new engine built by James Smith,
of New York. Other companies followed, and as the vil-
lage developed into a town and ultimately grew into a city,
the department increased in efficiency and usefulness, until
it has reached a position that entitles it to praise and dis-
8KET0H OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT. 13
tinction amongst the fire fighters of America. Paterson is
a leading manufacturing center, containing many tall build-
ings, tlif floors of which are saturated with oil, and contain-
ing heavy machinery covered with inflammable material in
course of manufacture, all of which are capable of making
trouble for the firemen, should a fire occur in their immedi-
Old residents of Paterson say that John Parke brought
the first fire engine to this city. Mr. Parke was in business
in Market street, near Mill, as early as 1807, spinning cot-
ton and candle wick. In May of that year his mill burned
down and the works were removed to Boudinot, now Yan
Houten street, where Mr. Parke erected a small frame
building. In 1810-11 he built a brick and stone mill which
now forms a part of the Phoenix silk works. At the close
of the war of IS 12 Parke failed, and the property passed
out of his hands.
Passaic 1 was the only company in the village until De-
cember 1S20, when a new company known as Neptune 2
was organized, going into service in February, 1821. This
year the legislature erected the thickly settled portion of the
village into a fire district with power to tax the inhabitants
for fire protection. The first meeting of the Paterson Fire
Association was held December 2, 1821. It was voted to
raise by tax 82,300, and the fire wardens were directed to
pay the militia fines of the firemen if they did not exceed
$3.00 per man. August 3, 1825, the value of the real and
personal property of the Fire Association was $2,325.94.
The hook and ladder house was worth $29.25. The debts
14 SKETCH OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT.
were $55.94. John Benson was foreman of No. 1 aud Da-
vid Keed of No. 2. In March, 1829, the first lot of sewed
hempen hose was purchased. Before that time leather riv-
eted hose had been used. Peter Tice built a house for the
truck company at a cost of $150. The residents of Man-
chester township petitioned the board of wardens for fire
protection, but the wardens refused, it being out of the
limits of the association. April, 1830, gates were placed on
the Dublin Spring brook at Congress street, Ellison street,
Van Houten street and Broadway for the purpose of dam-
ming the water in case of fire. November, 1830, the Fire
Association at their annual meeting instructed the wardens
to endeavor to procure the passage of an act exempting fire-
men from militia and jury duty after serving seven years
as firemen. This is believed to be the first firemen's ex-
emption law that was passed in New Jersey.
In December, 1836, the firemen for the first time were
given an opportunity to nominate their Chief and Assistant
Engineers, John G. Bates for Chief, Nathaniel Lane First
Assistant, and Albert I. Hopper Second Assistant being
named. The wardens were not pleased with the nominees,
and laid the question over, but as the firemen stood firm the
wardens receded from their position and the nominations
were confirmed. January 23, 1837, the wardens voted
" That each engine company be allowed for refreshments
when on duty at fire as follows : For one hour $2.50, for
two hours $3.50, for four hours $5, and no more to be paid
by the treasurer." Old firemen say that it was not at all
unusual to run out five times in one night. November 15,
SKETCH OF THE OLD BTEE DEPARTMENT. L6
1837, the Chief was voted a salary of $50. In 184< » tin-
firemen were given the privilege of voting directly for ( Ihief
and Assistant Engineers. The election was held at Peter
Archdeacon's Museum hotel, corner of Smith and Main
streets. William Cnndell was elected Chief; Titns Ward
and Cornelius IT. Post Assistant Engineers.
The wardens of the Fire Association governed the de-
partment until April, 1855, when they relinquished their
charge to the care of the city authorities (Paterson having
been made a city in 1851). Until 1854 all the engines in
Paterson were of the goose neck style of build except the
Phoenix engine, which was a double deck engine. In that
year the wardens ordered a piano box engine from Van
Ness, of New York, for Engine Company No. 1, but the
weight of the engine was against it, and a lighter engine of
the same style was purchased for the company from James
Smith, of New York.
When the city took charge of affairs improvements were
made at once, new houses were built, new apparatus pur-
chased, and in a few years the efficiency of the department
was greatly increased. In the first thirty years of the ex-
istence of the department the houses were small, one-story
frame buildings, 10x20x8 in size. Sometimes they had holes
cut in the rear wall to permit the ends of the brakes to pro-
trude. A stationary bench was built around the two sides
and rear of the house and furnished the seating accommo-
dations for the members. A stove, a table and a lamp was.
the usual outfit of an engine house in the primitive days of
the department. Latterly the company's quarters were
16 SKETCH OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT.
built of brick and were commodious and comfortable, the
upper room, or parlor, being furnished in gorgeous style.
January, 1858, the Fire Committee reported to the
Board of Aldermen, in response to a request for informa-
tion, that the amount of pay received by the several fire
companies from January, 1856, to January, 1858, was
$1,454.61. The committee suggested a fixed amount of
pay per annum. This was done and the Board voted to
pay first-class engine companies $300.00 per annum ; sec-
ond-class companies 8200.00 ; hook and ladder companies
$250.00, and hose companies $200.00. The ordinance fix-
ing the salaries went into effect March 1st, 1858.
"Water for fire and domestic use was first introduced
into the city in 1855 by the Passaic Water Company. In
September, 1856, the city made a contract with the company
for one hundred hydrants.
In November, 1857, three two-wheeled jumpers were
built for the use of the companies having piano box engines.
Previous to this the hose had been carried on reels fastened
upon the boxes of the engines.
The volunteer firemen of Paterson, in common with
firemen everywhere, bitterly opposed the introduction of
r-team fire engines. They looked upon it as the death knell
of the volunteer system, and hence they regarded it with
anything but feelings of satisfaction. The credit of the
introduction of steam into the Paterson department beLi.gs
to "Washington Engine Co., No. 3, and particularly to ex-
Chief John McKiernan, ex-Chief Daniel McClory, ex-
Asst. -Chief Patrick Chapman, Henry Barclay (now a police
BKETCH OF THE OLD FIBE DEPARTMENT. It
sergeant), and Andrews -I. Rogers, all of whom were mem-
bers of No. 3.
In the fall of lSf>0, No. 3 visited Albany, Troy and
Ponghkeepsie. While npon their trip they witnessed
several tests of steamers (the Arba Read at Troy and Cat-
aract 4 at IVughkeepsie). Upon their return to Paterson
the above-named gentlemen began to agitate the question.
It required considerable labor to persuade the company to
take any stock in the affair. However, as a result of their
efforts the company petitioned the board of aldermen to
furnish them with a steam fire engine, offering to pay
81,000 of the cost and reserving the right to buy the city's
interest in the machine whenever the company could raise
the necessary funds.
The petition was referred to the tire committee, and in
a few weeks they reported unfavorably, giving as a reason
that "the city was not disposed to enter into a joint stock
speculation with a fire company. That steam engines were
as yet an experiment and none of the committee had ever
seen one of them in operation."
It is an interesting fact that the chairman of the com-
mittee was foreman of one of the engine companies. This
was intended as a dampener and partly effected its purpose,
but McKiernan was not discouraged and found another way
to accomplish his object. Ex-Chief Nat Lane, by whom
McKiernan was employed, furnished Lee & Lamed, of
New York, with the brass work for their engines, and he
was an enthusiast in everything that pertained to fire
apparatus. Messrs. Lane and McKiernan requested Lee &
IS SKETCH OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT.
Darned to send an engine to Paterson on trial. The firm
had a small engine named the " Mary Ann." This was
brought up, and was received by No. 3. A parade was
made through the city, followed by a dinner to which the
city authorities and all the prominent citizens were invited.
A fireman's dinner without speeches would be an anomaly
and this one was no exception to the rule. Foreman
McKiernan had his say, of course, and in his remarks he
recited the difficulty he had encountered in procuring the
presence of the machine; told of the offer the company
had made to the city and closed by saying that if the city
would not buy improved apparatus the firemen would pro-
cure it without their aid, and said that the company stood
ready to pay 81,000 toward the cost of the steamer.
George Wiley, a prominent manufacturer and an active
member of the company, instantly arose and said : "I will
give another hundred. ,? Others followed and in a few
minutes over fourteen hundred dollars was pledged by
those present, making, with the sum offered by the com-
pany, $2,400. Everything seemed to indicate the purchase
of the " Mary Ann " or a similar machine, but the rebellion
broke out soon afterwards, and in the earnest efforts made
by the Paterson firemen in common with their fellow-
workers all over the North to advance the cause of the
Union, the plans for purchasing a steam engine were lost
sight of and the matter was allowed to drop, as in a short
time No. 3's ranks were so depleted by the members enlist-
ing that the company was compelled to appeal to the citi-
BKETOB OF THE OLD PISE DEPARTMENT. L9
zens, asking them to join the company and in that way
make up their numbers to an effective force.
Paterson had at that time several craci militia com-
panies, but they did not volunteer with greater alacrity
than the firemen. Engine Co. No. 1 had forty-two mem-
bers. Underneath the names of twenty-eight in the due
book are written these words: "Absent in defense of his
country." That company's runners (the Passaic Associa-
tion) enlisted almost to a man. Engine companies 2 and 3
furnished two full companies for the 25th Regt. New
Jersey Volunteers ; Co. A, Captain John McKiernan, and
Co. C, Captain Archibald Graham, the former mainly com-
posed of engine 3's men and the latter made up from
members of No. 2. Andrew Derrom, colonel of the 25th,
was an old fireman, having served nine years in No. 2, and
nearly every line officer in the regiment had seen service as
a fireman. Every company recruited in Paterson had in its
ranks many firemen, while Co. K, 13th Regt. Volunteers,
had for its captain Hugh C. Irish, for many years one of
No. l's most active members. The part taken by Paterson
firemen in suppressing the rebellion is a grand one. It has
never been written, but when it is made the subject of the
historian's pen it will be found an interesting theme. As
the war progressed and promotion followed bravery, the
fire companies whose members were thus advanced were in
the habit of presenting them with the paraphernalia per-
taining to the rank conferred. The files of the daily papers
frequently contained accounts of presentations to fortunate
20 SKETCH OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT.
James McKiernan, of No. 4, was elected Chief Engineer
in April, 1861, enlisted in the following September, and
came home major of the 7th New Jersey infantry, his duties
as chief being performed for the balance of his term, while
he was absent at the front, by his assistants.
With the exception of a few weeks in winter when the
snow lay deep, and for two or three days about the Fourth
of July, the apparatus was drawn by hand. The question
of the use of horses was an ever fresh topic of discussion
amongst the firemen, as it was generally supposed that a
paid force would follow close upon the heels of the horses.
There is little doubt that this feeling had much to do with
the delay, although all admit now that it was a mistake to
suppose that the volunteer department would go to pieces
The introduction of horses into the department perma-
nently 1 dates back to May, 1SS4, at which time Passaic
Engine Co., No. 1, purchased at its own expense a team of
hay horses for its steamer. In August of the same year
another horse was bought by the company for the hose
William H. Whittaker was appointed driver of the
engine, and for the first six months after the hose cart horse
was bought a detail of six members acted, as call drivers.
In the spring of 1885 Cornelius F. O'Neil was appointed to
drive the hose cart. In August, 1885, the city authorities
purchased teams for engines 3, 4, and 5, and truck 2.
Christopher Cubby, Patrick Sweeny, William Cook and
Martin Brandt were appointed drivers, and John Weber
SKETCH OF THE OLD FTRE DEPARTMENT. 21
was given the position of tillerman. In the Bummer of
L886 horses were furnished for the hose wagons of engines
4 and 5. the hose cart of engine 3, and truck 1. Peter
Riley, William Stannard, Daniel W. Leonard and David
McAllister were appointed drivers, and Thomas Klvin
tillerman. The following year engines 2, 6, 7, 8, and 9,
were given teams, and John Breen, Allison Roswell, Alfred
Rogers, John Ellis and Michael Condon were appointed to
the position of drivers. In October, 1SSS, Michael Farrell,
of engine 9, was appointed permanent substitute driver and
placed in charge of the chief's gig. The pay of the perma-
nent men was 8T20.00 per annum until 1887, when it was
made $850.00 per year.
At the fire which destroyed Allen, Reynolds & Co.'s
tobacco factory in Yan Houten street, in November, 1865,
Patrick Brophy, of engine company Xo. 3, was buried in
the ruins and killed, and James Johnson, engine ISTo. 5, was
overcome with the heat at the lire at the Danforth Locomo-
tive Works, July 8th, 1866, and died in a few hours.
Previous to 1868 the leather hose was slushed at each
engine house. In 1868 the present city hose house in
Bridge street was erected and the firemen were relieved
from the disagreeable task of slushing. In IS 71 the first
rubber hose was purchased, and in 1881 the first lot of
cotton hose went into service. The Gamewell fire alarm
telegraph was introduced in 1872-73, going into service
March 1st, 1S73, with twenty-three street boxes, three tower
bell strikers, six gongs, one three-circuit repeater and seven-
teen miles of wire. Edward Gore was the first superin-
22 SKETCH OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT.
tendent of fire alarm. His successors have been Edward
Swift, William Hobson and James F. Zeluff. From 1821
to 1838 the wardens appointed the chief and assistant engi-
neers. In 1838 and 1839 the wardens appointed upon
nominations made by the firemen, and from 1840 down to
the present time they have elected their officers with the
exception of James Radcliffe, who was appointed assistant
engineer by the board of aldermen in the spring of 1869.
The first salary paid was to Chief Lane in 1839, and was
$50 per annum. The assistants w r ere not paid until 1851,
when they were given $25 yearly salary. The companies
are now paid as follows : Engine Co. No. 1 (independent,
owning their apparatus and horses), $2,175.00 ; eight other
engine companies, $675 each ; two truck companies, $340.00
each ; three hose companies, $300.00 each ; engine compa-
nies are allowed fifty men each, truck companies forty men
each, and hose companies thirty men each. Horses were
introduced in the department in May, 18S4, and sliding
poles in 1885.
CHIEFS AND ^ASSISTANT ENGINEERS.
Pasl and Preseul Department Commanders— A Roster of Well-known
Names — Date of Appointment and Term of Service.
' I T HE following is an almost complete list of the chief
and assistant engineers of the Paterson fire department,
with date of appointment : 1821, February 7th, Timothy
B. Crane, chief; 1821, December 28th, Samuel Colt, chief.
At the same meeting Mr. Colt's election was reconsidered.
1822, January 4th, the wardens voted to serve as chief
monthly in alphabetical order. 1S23, March 22d, Timothy
B. Crane, chief; 1824, January 5th, Timothy B. Crane,
chief ; 1825, December 9th, Timothy B. Crane, chief; John
Rutan and Andrew Parsons, assistant engineers. 1826,
December 6th, Timothy B. Crane, chief ; 1827, December
10th, Andrew Parsons, chief; John Rutan, assistant engi-
neer. 1828, November 14th, Andrew Parsons, chief ; John
G. Bates, first assistant ; David Reid, second assistant. As
Mr. Bates declined to serve, Dec. 1st, Mr. Reid was
appointed first assistant and Cornelius S. Post second assist- .
ant. 1829, November 2d, John G. Bates, chief ; Peter F.
Merselis, assistant engineer. Mr. Merselis declining, Novem-
ber 9th, John Garrison was appointed first assistant and
24 CHIEFS AND ASSISTANT ENGINEERS.
Charles D. Clinton second assistant. 1830, no record of
appointments. 1831, November Ytli, Josiali M. Crismond,
chief ; Horatio Moses, first assistant ; John II. Ryerson,
second assistant. 1832, November 23d, John G. Bates,
chief ; Alexander Paul, first assistant ; Albert Hopper, sec-
ond assistant. 1833, November 5th, John Sloat, chief ;
Cornelius II. Post, first assistant ; Nathaniel Lane, second
assistant. 1834, November 4th, Nathaniel Lane, chief
(Lane resigned March 9th, 1835); Cornelius H. Post, first'
assistant ; Henry Tan Houten, second assistant. 1835,
November 18th, Cornelius Speer, chief ; Giles Van Ness,
first assistant ; Henry Tan Houten, second assistant. 1836,
December 30th, Horatio Moses, chief. 1837, January 9th,
John G. Bates, chief ; Nathaniel Lane, first assistant ;
Albert I. Hopper, second assistant. 1837, November 8th,
John G. Bates, chief; Nathaniel Lane, first assistant;
Cornelius V. W. Post, second assistant. 1838, November
14th, Nathaniel Lane, chief ; Edward McKeon, first assist-
ant; Robert Fields, second assistant. 1839, November
15th, Nathaniel Lane, chief ; John Bentley, first assistant ;
Giles Yan Ness, second assistant. On March 27th, 1840,
Messrs. Bentley and Yan Ness resigned and the wardens
appointed William Masters first assistant and Jacob Yan
Houten second assistant. 1840, November 11th, William
Cundell, chief ; Titus Ward, first assistant; Cornelius H.
Post, second assistant. 1841, William Cundell, chief, no
date of election. 1842, Nathaniel Lane, chief; John Ben-
son, first assistant ; Cornelius Westervelt, second assistant.
1843, Nathaniel Lane, chief; Alfred Westervelt, first assist-
CHIEFS AND ASSISTANT ENGINEERS. 25
ant ; Peter B. Westervelt, second assistant. 1844, Nathaniel
Lane, chief ; Austin McCloud, first assistant ; Robert Smith,
second assistant. 1845, John W. Ackerson, chief, no date
of election. 1840, Nathaniel Lane, chief, no date of elec-
tion. 1847, Nathaniel Lane, chief, no date of election.
1848, May, Thomas O. Smith, chief; Michael B. Murphy,
first assistant ;• Richard B. Chiswell, second assistant. 1849,
1850, 1851, May 29th, Thomas O. Smith, chief;
Patrick Curran, first assistant. There being a tie vote no
election was had for second assistant. 1852, Thomas O.
Smith, chief ; Patrick Curran, first assistant ; Griffith King,
second assistant. 1853, Patrick Curran, chief; William
Douglass, first assistant ; Thomas Farnon, second assistant.
1854, Thompson Titus, chief ; Thomas Farnon, first assist-
ant. 1855, William Sykes, chief; John Bowering, James
A. King, assistants. 1856, William Sykes, chief ; John
Bowering, James A. King, assistants. 1857, John Bower-
ing, chief ; James A. King and Thomas Farnon, assistants.
1858, John Bowering, chief ; William Killen and Thomas
Farnon, assistants. 1859, James A. King, chief; Jonathan
W. Hockett and William Killen, assistants. 1860, James
A. King, chief; John Gillespie and James McClory, assist-
ants. 1861, James McKiernan, chief; George J. Bunce
and Peter Fields, assistants. 1862, Peter Fields, chief;
John McKiernan and John Hinchliffe, assistants. 1863,
William Killen, chief ; John Schoonmaker and Jacob Pfitz-
meir, assistants. 1864, William Killen, chief ; Edward
Swift and Jacob Pfitzmeir, assistants. 1865, Edward
26 CHIEFS AND ASSISTANT ENGINEERS.
Swift, chief ; George W. Steed and Lawrence Ryan, assist-
ants. 1866, Daniel McClory, chief; Andrew Moser and
Charles Reed, assistants. 1867, Andrew Moser, chief;
Joseph Bousseleth and Dewitt C. Simonton, assistants.
1868, John McKiernan, chief; Patrick Sweeney and
George Young, assistants. 1869, Patrick Sweeney, chief;
Edward Gore, William E. Heimlich and Jas. Radcliffe,
assistants. 1870$ Edward Gore, chief; James Doherty,
George Burton and James Atchison, assistants. 1871,
James Atchison, chief ; Patrick Chapman, William Martin
and Thomas Mullen, assistants. 1872, William Martin,
chief ; Edward Fanning, George M. Case and Thomas
Mullen, assistants. 1873. James I. King, chief for two
years : assistants, William Bailey, two years ; Joseph Buck-
lev, one year. James I. King was the first chief elected
for a term of two years. Bailey and Buckley, assistant
engineers elect, drew lots to see who would have the two-
vear term. Bailey was the fortunate man. Thereafter the
chiefs and assistants were elected for two years. 1874,
Bartholomew Ileilly. a-sistant. 1875, John E. Eegner,
chief ; Fredrick Wieler, assistant. 1876, Lambert Bomaine,
assistant. I s 77. David I. Turnbull, chief; William Bland,
assistant. 1878, Patrick Morrison, assistant. 1879, Bar-
tholomew Reilly, chief ; Gustave Specht, assistant. 1*880,
James Kearney, assistant. 1881, Leonard Garrison, chief;
Daniel W. Leonard, assistant. 1882. Louis Brandt, assist-
ant. 1S83. John MacDonald. chief; Peter Zeluff, assistant.
1884, Samuel S. Pounds, assistant. 1885, James Kearney,
CHIEFS AM) assistant ENGDTEEBS. 27
chief ; Charles Carroll, assistant. 1886, Frank \V. King,
assistant. 1887, John Stagg, chief; John Struck, assistant.
1888, John Crottj, assistant.
ENGINE AND HOSE COMPANY SKETCHES.
When Organized and Where Located— The Goose-neck and Piano-box
Engines — The Amoskeag — The Silsby — Modern Apparatus— Hose
and Hook and Ladder Companies.
i^ASSAIC Engine Co., No. 1, was organized July 4th,
1815. The first location of which we have any
knowledge was in a small, one-story frame building on the
north side of Yan Houten street, east of Prospect street,
which was occupied until January, 1843, when the house
was burned down. They then were housed in the old house
of Engine Co. No. 2 on Market street, opposite Prospect
street, until the latter part of February of the same year,
when they removed to a two-story frame building on the
corner of Broadway and Mulberry street. This house
sheltered them until the spring of 1853, at which time they
took possession of a two-story brick building adjoining
their old quarters. Here they were stationed until 1871.
In May of that year they removed to their present commo-
dious quarters, No. 112 Yan Houten street. The first
engine used by the company was a cumbersome affair oper-
ated by hand brakes and a roller, underneath the box, upon
which the rope was wound. In May, 1822, an engine was
ENGINE AND HOSE COMPANY SKETCH is. 29
purchased from Sayre & Force, of New York. This was a
side brake engine. In June, 1835, the famous Black Hawk,
a goose-neck machine built by James Smith, of New York,
was received by the company. In March, 1853, they pro-
cured a Van Ness engine, piano-box style. This machine
was so heavy that in 1855 a Smith piano-box engine was
purchased and was used until May, 1866. In December,
1865, the company purchased an unfinished single pump
Banks steamer in New York. It was completed in the
engine house and went in service the following May. This
machine did duty until September, 1871, at which time
Harrell & Hayes, of Paterson, N. J., built a double pump
engine for them at a cost of $5,000. This did good service
until January, 1886, when they bought their present appar-
atus (a Button steamer). This company was the first to
introduce horses in the department, in 1884; the sliding
pole, in 1885, and the steam heater in 1886.
Neptune Engine Co. No. 2.
This company was organized in December, 1820. Their
first engine was a goose-neck built by Smith, of New York.
In 1810 they received a new goose-neck engine built by
James Smith. Their next engine was a piano-box machine
built by William Jeffers, of Paw tucket, R. I., and delivered
February 2 2d, 1861. In February, 1872, the company
purchased at their own expense a double pump steam fire
engine. The company was out of service for several
months during 1875. In July, 1876, they were given a
double pump steamer built by Joseph Nussey, of Paterson,
They used this engine until the spring of 1883, when the
30 ENGINE AND HOSE COMPANY SKETCHES.
city authorities bought and put in their charge the Jeffers
steamer formerly run by them. The company were first
housed in a shed on the south side of Market street, east of
Main. Later they occupied a one-story frame house lower
down the street, opposite Prospect street. Here they
remained until 1842, when they removed to their present
location on Hotel street. Five years later they were burned
out, but the house was immediately rebuilt.
AVashixgton Engine Co. No. 3.
This company was organized and placed in service April
20th. 1828, in a two-story brick and stone building on the
west side of Washington street, below Fair street. Their
first engine was a goose-neck engine built by Ephraim
Force, of New York. In 1836 the engine was removed to
a frame building on Ellison street, south side, near Pros-
pect street. In July, 1818, the house burned down and a
two-story brick building was built for them. They
remained at this spot until 1856, when they removed to
their present quarters on Prospect street. They ran their
goose-neck until 1856, when they received a piano-box
engine built by James Smith, of New York. In July,
1861, a single pump Jeffers steam engine was placed in
their charge. This was the first steamer used in Paterson.
In September, 1881, a second-class double pump Amoskeag
engine was purchased for the company and is now being
used by them.
Phosnix Engine Co. No. 1.
This company was organized September 12th, 1828.
Their apparatus was the double decker owned by the Phce-
ENGINE AM) HOSE COMPANY BKETCHE8. 31
nix Manufacturing Co., and during the brief existence of
the company they were quartered in a two-story frame
building on the south side of Boudinot (now Van Houten)
street. Their machine was the only double decker ever in
service in this city, and the membership, as a rule, was
composed of persons in the employ of the Phoenix corpora-
tion. Each member was provided with a white duck coat.
which hung on a peg in the engine house. The question
of who was to pay sundry hills incurred by the company
was the cause of frequent dehates at meetings of the fire
wardens, and finally, on August 11th, 1842, the wardens
notified the company that their services were no longer
needed, and their connection with the fire department of
the Town of Paterson was severed.
Jackso.v Engine Co. Xo. 1.
This company was organized and placed in service in
the fall of 1S55. Their first engine was a piano-box engine
built by James Smith, of New York. A two-story brick
house was built for them on Slater street, near Jersey,
where they are still located. They ran the Smith engine
until Thanksgiving Day. 1868, when they received a new
steamer from the Paterson Steam Fire Engine Works,
which was the first fire engine built in Paterson. Their
present steamer (a Clapp cv; Jones) was delivered to them in
Peotectiox Engine Co. No. 5.
This company was organized in the spring of 1S32 and
went into service with a Smith goose-neck engine. They
lay at the southwest corner of High and Temple streets.
32 ENGINE AND HOSE COMPANY SKETCHES.
They were burned out in 1856 and 1860. In 1861 their
present quarters were erected for them. In 1865 the com-
pany received, in place of their first and only goose-neck
engine, a piano-box machine built by John N. Dennison, of
NeAvark, N. J. This was run by them until November,
1870, when they were given a third-class double pump
engine built by the Paterson Steam Fire Engine Works.
In 1884 they received their present Silsby engine.
Engine Co. No. 6.
When a new goose-neck engine was purchased for
Neptune No. 2, in the spring of 1840, their old engine was
placed in charge of a new company which was stationed at
the corner of Broadway and Mulberry streets. The com-
pany was short-lived, never having over thirteen members,
and they were disbanded December 6, 1842.
Vigilant Engine Co. No. 6.
This company was organized January 1st, 1867. They
were given the hand engine last used by Engine Co. No. 1,
and were housed in a one-story frame building which stood
on a lot adjoining their present quarters, where they lay
until the brick house was quilt for them. In the fall of
1871 they were furnished with a third-class double pump
steamer, built by the Paterson works. In the winter of
1887 their present Clapp & Jones engine came.
Lexington Engine Co. No. 7.
This company was instituted in 1868. The company
was composed of residents of Totowa, and their engine was
the Smith machine used by Engine No. 3 at the time the
latter company's Jeffers steamer came. They were quar-
James (J. Miixs,
ENGINE AND B08B COMPANY BKBTCHES. '■'>'■>
tered in a one-story frame building at the corner of Sheri-
dan avenue and Benry street. The company was soon
disbanded. Their last appearance in public was on a Satur-
day afternoon, when they took their engine to "Molly
Ann's" brook for a "wash" and left her there.
Liberty Engine Co. No. 7.
This company was organized August 9th, 1871, and
went into service in April, 1872. Their first engine was a
piano-box engine, formerly used by Engine No. 6. They
were first located in a one-story frame building on the lot
where their present quarters are situated. In September,
1879, their present engine, a single pump Clap}) & Jones,
was put in service.
Lafayette Engine Co. No. 8.
This company was instituted in 1872, going into service
in August of that year. They first ran from a one-story
frame building located on Sherman avenue, near Totowa
avenue. They were given the engine which Lexington No.
7 had used. Their next location was at the corner of
Wayne avenue and Liberty street, where they are now
located. The city fathers placed in their charge in Septem-
ber, 1874, a double pump engine built by the Paterson
works. Their present house, a two-story brick one, was
built in 1876.
Paterson Engine Co. No. 9.
This company was organized in 1882 and went on duty
March 3d, 1S83, with No. 2's old Nussey engine, which
they still run. They were first housed in a brick building
at the corner of Jackson street and Washington avenue.
34 ENGINE AND HOSE COMPANY SKETCHES.
They took possession of their present quarters in February,
Columbia Hose Co. No. 1.
This company was organized in April, 1855. Their first
apparatus was a four-spring carriage with three bells. The
company were first quartered in John (now Ellison) street,
between Engine No. 3 and Truck No. 1, for a few months,
until their present home in Broadway was built. Their
house was furnished in a handsome and costly manner. At
a fight which occurred in the fall of 1856 two members of
Hose No. 1 joined Engine No. 5's men in resisting an
attack from Engine No. 4's men, and as a result they were
expelled from the department and Engine Co. No. 5 dis-
banded. Hose No. 1 demanded a fair trial for their
expelled brothers. This being refused they voluntarily
disbanded and ended their career by a supper at John Wal-
den's Washington Hotel. A new company went into
service January 16th, 1857. On July 4th, 1864, the com-
pany received their present carriage from William Jeffers,
of Pawtucket, R. I.
Cataract Hose Co. No. 2.
This company was organized June 10th, 1869, and went
into service December 1st of that year. The city purchased
of Thomas Peto, of Philadelphia, the carriage now run by
them. The company was quartered in Engine No. l's
house until July 10th, 1870, when they took possession of
their new house at the corner of Auburn and Goodwin
ENGINE AND HOSE COMPANY SKETCHES. '■'■>
II iiiERNiA Hose Co. No. 3.
This company was organized in L869, and went into
Bervice February 1st, 1870. Their carriage was built by
Nichols & Co., at the Paterson Steam Fire Engine Works.
It ia the same style of carriage as Hose No. 2. The city-
erected a house for them upon the lot adjoining Engine No.
4's house, where they are still quartered.
Eagle Hook and Ladder Co. No. 1.
This company was organized and placed in service
March 22d, 1839. July 23d, 1848, their house on Ellison
street, next to No. 3's house, was burned down, and a small
two-story brick house was built for them upon the same
site. In 1856 they went into new quarters on Prospect
street. August 4th, 1858, they received a new goose-neck
reach truck from Pine & Partshorn, of New York, which
they ran until February 22d, 1872, when they were given
a light truck built in Brooklyn, N. Y., and the year follow-
ing they went to their present house on Jackson street. In
July, 1880, their house, apparatus and furniture were
burned up. Their house was immediately re-built, but
they did not receive their present apparatus until Septem-
GrERMANIA HoOK AND L ADDER Co. No. 2.
This company was instituted in the fall of 1871. They
went into service April 1st, 1872, using the old Eagle truck
and running from a shed in the rear of old Military Hall,
corner of Cross and Ellison streets, until they occupied the
old Eagle truck house in Prospect street in 1873. Their
present truck w T as placed in service in December, 1882-
A CITY ORDINANCE, IS 75.
Providing for the Regulation, Management and Government of the
Department— Elections, How Conducted— Officers and Elections-
Duties and Responsibilities.
TT J E now approach a period wlien the history of the
fire department rests upon recorded and authenti-
cated facts, as revealed in the successive annual reports of
the Chief Engineer, and in the laws and ordinances. So far
the story has been followed as recorded in the published
sketch mentioned in the preface. The present writer takes
up the history where it has been dropped, and continues it
to the present in consecutive form.
An ordinance for the general regulation, management
and government of the fire department of the city of Pater-
son, passed April 9th, 1875, provided that each fire engine
company might have, but should not exceed, seventy-live
members; that each hook and ladder company might have,
but should not exceed, sixty members; that each hose com-
pany might have, but should not exceed, sixty members.
That the election for Chief Engineer and two Assistant
Engineers of the fire department should be held on the first
Tuesday after the first Monday in May, 1875, between the
hours of 7 and 9 o'clock in the afternoon, at the house of
A CITY 0BDINAN0E, L875. .')<
each company, and the person so elected Chief Engineer
should hold office for the term of two years from the 20th
day of May, L875, and his successor should be elected, in
the manner above provided, on the first Tuesday after the
first Monday in May, every two years thereafter. And the
two Assistant Engineers so elected should one of them hold
his office for the term of two years; and there should be
elected one Assistant Engineer on the first Tuesday after
the first Monday in May every year thereafter; and the two
Assistant Engineers so to be elected should determine by lot
which should hold the office for the term of two years.
There should be elected by each company at such elec-
tion one Judge of Election and one Clerk, who should pos-
sess the same qualifications and perform the same duties at
the said elections as near as might be for city officers,
Judges of Election and Ward Clerks, who should before
entering upon the duties of their respective offices take an
oath or affirmation faithfully and impartially to perform all
the duties of their offices according to law.
Every duly qualified member of the department should
be entitled to vote in person at any such election, at the
engine house of the company of which he was at that time
an active member.
That it should be the duty of the Chief Engineer, to-
gether with the Assistant Engineers, in case of fire, to see
that the several fire engines, and the apparatus thereto be-
longing, were worked and used in the most effectual manner
for the extinguishment of the same ; and to enforce the ob-
38 A CITY ORDINANCE, 1875.
servance of good order among the members of the several
fire companies while on duty.
It was their duty also to examine the several fire en-
gines, and the hose and apparatus thereto belonging, at least
once in every two weeks, and to examine into the condition
of all hydrants, and if any of the same were deficient, to
designate the same particularly, and to report thereon once
in each month.
To each company organized and enrolled according to
law, there should be one Foreman, one Assistant Foreman
and Secretary," to be elected annually by the foremen of the
company, and each to hold his office for one year, and until
his successor was elected.
All members of the Paterson Fire Department should,
when on duty as firemen, wear the leather cap as hitherto
used, or a badge as provided.
That each enrolled company shall, as compensation
therefor, in quarter-yearly payments, in lieu of all and every
other charge or demand of any kind whatever, receive the
following named sums per year, to wit: To Engine Compa-
nies Nos. 1 and 2, each, $1,000; to Engine Companies JSTos.
3, 4, 5, 6 and 8, each $500 ; Engine Company No. 7, $400 ;
each Hook and Ladder Company, $340 ; each Hose Com-
The foregoing are the leading features of the ordinance.
DIGEST OF SOME ANNUAL REPORTS.
Views of the Mayor and Chief Engineer — Looking toward a Paid Fire
Department — Recommending the purchase of a Steam Fire En-
gine—The last Hand Engine.
"T^HEKE is, as has been said, solid and sufficient historical
material of the lire and police departments from 1875
to date, thanks to the printed annual reports of the city offi-
cers. From these reports the following chapters have been
1876. — Mayor Benjamin Buckley, in his annual report,
said that no city could be considered safe without a prop-
erly organized and well-disciplined fire department. There
was a great difference of opinion among the people, whether
under the volunteer system, as then organized, an effective
fire department could be obtained. There were many citi-
zens, whose opinions were entitled to great weight, who
contended strongly for a paid fire department. He did not
think that the time had come when tax-payers were ready
to approve of increasing the current expenses of the city to
that extent which would be necessary to maintain a paid
fire department. Assuming such to be the fact, efforts
should be directed towards making the existing department
as effective as possible. He had recently visited, with the
40 DIGEST OF SOME ANNUAL KEPOKTS.
Chief Engineer, all the engine houses in the city, and ex-
amined carefully the different steamers, trucks, and hose
carriages, together with the hose, and was glad to say that
he found them, as a rule, in good condition.
Chief Engineer John E. Regner's report showed that
during the year ending May 1st, IS 76, there had been forty-
six fires, five still alarms and two false alarms. The losses
by fire and water amounted to $312,130.00, insurance,
The Department consisted of the following companies
and apparatus :
Passaic Steamer, No. 1; Washington Steamer, No. 3;
Jackson Steamer, No. 4; Protection Steamer, No. 5; Vigi-
lant Steamer, No. 6 ; Lafayette Steamer, No. 8 ; Liberty
Hand Engine, No. 7 ; Eagle Hook & Ladder, No. 1 ; Ger-
mania Hook & Ladder, No. 2; Columbia Hose Carriage,
No. 1;' Cataract Hose Carriage, No. 2; Hibernia Hose Car-
riage, No. 3 ; Neptune Hose Carriage, No. 2.
In service, 4,000 feet of good rubber hose, 4,500 feet of
leather hose, in poor condition. The apparatus in charge of
the department was in good order with the exception of
Steamer No. 4 and Steamer No. 5. He recommended the
purchase of another steamer. An additional steamer would
enable them to have at all times a sufficient force for any
1877. — The recommendation of the Mayor in the pre-
vious message for the building of a new house for Company
No. 8 ; also the purchase of a new steamer for Company
No. 2, and "the repairing of the house in Jackson street, had
DIGEST OF SOME AN.NTAI, REPORTS. 41
been adopted during the past year. Application had been
been made for a new house for Engine Company, No. 7.
The manual force of the department consisted of 1 < !hief
Engineer, 2 Assistant Engineers, 508 members of engine
companies, 137 members of hose companies, and 92 mem-
bers of hook and ladder companies. Total, 737.
The Chief reported the department in a good working
condition, and the discipline worthy of all praise.
The Mayor said lie believed that the department was not
excelled by any volunteer deparinent in the country.
1*78. — During the year there were 46 tires and 35
alarms by telegraph, entailing a loss of $39,512 of property.
The manual force of the department consisted of 1 Chief
Engineer, 2 Assistant Engineers, 525 members of engine
companies, 102 members of truck companies, 120 members
of hose companies. Total, 750.
The apparatus consisted of seven steam lire engines and
tenders, one band engine and hose cart, two hook and lad-
der trucks, three hose carriages and one supply wagon ; all
in fair working condition.
The department had experienced a great deal of trouble
with defective hose, which had all been tested and repaired,
with indifferent success.
1S79. — Mayor Graham, in his annual report, recom-
mended that a new steam fire engine be purchased for the
use of Engine Company, No. 7, Tyler street, as the hand
engine was useless.
The totals are as follows: number of fires, 44; loss,."
$258,487 ; insurance on loss, $124,468.
4:2 DIGEST OF SOME ANNUAL REPORTS.
The efficiency of the department, the Major said, and
the faithfulness of its members, were matters of record.
1880. — The Mayor, as usual, was eulogistic in his report
of the workings of the department.
During the past year the department had been increased
by the purchase of a new steamer for ]So. 7 Company.
This dispensed with the last hand engine in the depart-
ment, bringing the number of steamers up to eight.
All the steamers were small and lightly built, and the
Mayor recommended that a large, first-class engine be pur-
chased, to be located in the house of one of those companies
situated in the center of the city, where it would do the
most effectual work ; also, that a steamer be placed in the
southern part of the city. as. from the construction of the
buildings in that section, there was great danger of a large
destruction of property should a fire occur.
The whole cost of the department during the year was
The fire department telegraph, under the management
of the present superintendent, was in good condition and
had generally done its work satisfactorily. But with the
utmost care on the part of the superintendent, failures
would occur, which might be attributed to the wires of the
department being in collision with other boxes.
New signal boxes were from time to time added in lo-
calities needing them, as frequency of alarm stations en-
hanced the chances for early alarms.
1882. — The special committee appointed to perfect a fire
escape ordinance had never been able to make a report. It
DIGEST OF SOME A.NNTAI, REPORTS. 48
was deemed important that such a limit should be estab-
lished; also, a Bureau of Permits, where all plans for new
buildings should be submitted for approval before they
could be erected. Fire escapes had been placed on most of
the large factories, and steps taken to perfect the ordinance
bearing on this subject.
The manual force of the department consisted of 1 ( !hief
Engineer, 2 Assistant Engineers, 572 members of engine
companies, 14s members of hose companies, and 109 mem-
bers of truck companies; making a total membership of 832.
1883. — The Mayor recommended that the ordinances of
the city in regard to lire limits should be so made that they
would operate uniformly. Unless a uniform rule was en-
forced there would never have been buildings of brick or
stone in the thickly settled part of the city. Horses should
also be purchased for a portion of the fire engines, so that in
case of emergency the engines might be rapidly taken to
DISAPPEARANCE OF THE HAND ENGINE.
Employment of Horses for Moving of Engines— Improved Steam Ap-
paratus—Membership of the Department— Fires and Alarms-
Chief Stagg Complimented.
TN 1884 the Mayor complained in his message that a clas&
of buildings was being thrust upon the city in violation
of the ordinance concerning fire limits. Permits had been
granted continually for altering and enlarging the tinder-
boxes within these limits. The schools, churches and halls
should be provided with fire escapes, and the strength of the
During the year there had been 37 bell alarms, and 8
Chief MacDonald recommended the purchase of a new
steam fire engine for Protection Steam Fire Engine Com-
pany, No. 5 ; also, a new tender for Paterson Steam Fire
Engine Company, No. 9.
During the year a new engine house had been built at
South Paterson, for Engine Company, No. 9, and a new
steam fire engine bought for Engine Company, No. 4.
The force of the department consisted of 1 Chief Engi-
neer, 2 Assistant Engineers, 613 members of engine compa-
DISAPPEARANCE OF THE HANI) ENGINE. 45
nies, 137 members of hose companies, and 102 members of
truck companies. Total, 852.
The apparatus consisted of nine steam engines, nine four-
wheel tenders, three hose carriages, and two hook and ladder
trucks ; one steam engine, old No, 4, held in reserve at the
hose house, and one supply wagon.
Totals: fires, 45; damage, $80,223.38; insurance, $305,-
1885. — The Major expressed himself as of the opinion
that the fire department should have, wherever practicable,
horses for the moving of the engines. The delay of a few
minutes in dragging an engine to a fire that might break
out in the mills of the city where light fabrics were made
or kept, might be great enough to cause an amount of loss
that would justify the city in a moderate expenditure for
horses to facilitate the movement of some of the steamers.
It would not be necessary, he said, that all engine houses
should be thus equipped at once or in the near future. The
great efficiency of the volunteer department was universally
There were located for tire purposes up to and including
March 1st, 1885, 591 fire hydrants, an increase of 36 during
The apparatus consisted of nine steam fire engines, nine
four-wheel tenders, three hose carriages, and two hook and
ladder trucks, and one supply wagon.
During the year there had been 77 fires and alarms,
showing an increase over the previous year of 32, of which
46 DISAPPEARANCE OF THE HAND ENGINE.
there were 66 bell alarms, an increase of 29. There were
11 still, an increase of 3.
The city has grown so rapidly of late years, there was an
actual necessity for the speedy conveyance of the fire appa-
ratus to the scene of action ; and this required the equip-
ment of horses for some of the fire companies ; a state of
affairs brought to the attention of the Mayor and Board of
Aldermen by Chief John MacDonald.
1886.— The foregoing recommendations of the Chief
were endorsed by Mayor Beckwith in his annual message.
He, also, favored the purchase of horses, and whenever
steamers were to be bought to replace old ones, or as an in-
crease in the established number, they should, he said, be of
the most ample power and of the first quality.
The force of the department consisted of 1 Chief Engi-
neer, 2 Assistant Chief Engineers, 571 members of engine
companies, 121 members of hose companies, 100 members
of hook and ladder companies, making a total membership
of 792 men.
The apparatus consisted of nine steam fire engines, nine
four-wheel tenders, three hose carriages and two hook and
ladder trucks, and one supply wagon.
There were, besides, of old apparatus, two steam fire en-
gines, one old No. 4, stored in Eagle Truck House, Jackson
street, and one old JSTo. 5, stored in the Hose House shed,
Bridge street. Also, one old four-wheel tender in the same
The various engine, hose, and hook and ladder houses
were in very good condition, with the exception of Engine
DISAPPEARANCE 01 i'IIK BAND ENGINE. 47
Companies Nos. 4, 7 and 8, which were greatly troubled
with the water in their cellars most of the year round. The
horses were all doing well, and improving in their work,
and the Chief recommended to have two sets of shoes and
have a man to come and put them on in their several houses
1887. — The Mayor again adverted to the necessity of
purchasing more horses. Nos. 2, 6, 7, 8 and 9 should, he
said, have horses, if possible.
The various engine, truck and hose houses were in pretty
fair condition. A slight alteration to the house- of Truck
No. 1 was needed, the raising of the door one foot higher;
the water closets in the houses of Hose jSIo. 3 and Engine No.
9 needed to be altered, and new ones put in and properly
ventilated ; the back wall of the house of Engine JSTo. 5 had
settled ; the cellar of Engine No. 7's house contained water
all the year round, but w r as in a good condition every other
During the year there had been 84 fires and alarms, an
increase of 3 over previous year. There were 77 bell
alarms and 7 still alarms.
The Chief recommended the purchase of a new hose
wagon for Engine Company No. 6, as the one they had was
past its day of usefulness. He also said that the drivers and
tillermen were not paid in proportion to the time ; they had
long hours, and he would be pleased to see their pay in-
creased. He advocated the placing of heaters in the houses
of Engine Companies Nos. 3 and 4, and in. all houses where
it was intended to put horses ; also, the appointment of a
48 DISAPPEARANCE OF THE HAND ENGINE.
permanent engineer in the same. He also recommended the
purchase of three thousand feet of first-class Fabric hose,
which, with proper care, would outlast the rubber hose ;
and tenders could carry more of Fabric than of rubber hose.
There was not a full quantity of good hose to give two
changes, which every first-class city had.
1888. — The Mayor paid a tribute to the efficiency of the
department, as evidenced by the report of the Chief Engi-
neer, John Stagg. He was rejoiced that his recommenda-
tions had been carried out, resulting in giving all the
The members of the Fire Department could be divided
into four classes, viz : Permanent men, 18 ; partly paid or
call men, 21 ; officers of companies, 40; members of compa-
nies, 596 — making a total of 675. Of these 511 were at-
tached to engines; 74 to trucks ; and 90 to hose companies.
The permanent men consisted of Superintendent of Fire
Alarm, 9 drivers of engines; 2 drivers of trucks; 4 drivers
of hose wagons or hose carriages, and 2 tillermen. The call
men consisted of Chief Engineer and 2 Assistants, and 18
engineers for steamers.
The annual salary of the above and of the respective
companies is as follows : Chief Engineer, $600 ; Assistant
Engineers, $300 ; Fire Alarm Superintendent, $600; Drivers
of engines, wagons and trucks, $750: Tillermen, $750;
Steamer Engineers, $87.50; Engine Companies — No. 1,"'
$2,000; Xo. 2, $500; No. 3, $500; No. 4, $500; No. 5.
* This company owns its apparatus and horses and pays its own drivers
out of the allowance named.
W. Cook, Captain.
W. Allen, Captaii
E. J. Coleman, Captaii).
W. Boyle, Captain.
DISAPPEARANCE OF THE HAND ENGINE. 49
$500 ; No. 6, $500 ; No. 7, $500 ; No. 8, $500 ; No. 9,
$500 ; Truck Companies— No. 1, $340 ; No. 2, $340 ; Hose
Companies— No. 1, $300; No. 2, $300; No. 3, $300.
A PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT.
The Volunteers Are Succeeded by the Present System — Radical
Changes — Increased Expenditures — Efficiency of the Service
Increased— Modern Methods and Scientific Appliances.
TX the year 1888 the hoard of aldermen took away from
the companies the election of chief and assistant engi-
neers, and in May, 1889, appointed David I. Trumbull
chief and John F. Murphy assistant engineer. During that
year the department was reorganized by a special committee
consisting of Aldermen Macdonald, Miller and Kearney,
and a paid department succeeded the volunteer system on
March '20th, 1890, with four permanent men in nine engine
and three hook and ladder companies, and eight call men to
each. John Gillmer succeeded John Crotty as assistant
engineer in May, 1890. Chief Turnbull resigned May 5th,
1890, and Assistant John Murphy was appointed to fill
vacancy of term, John Struck succeeding Assistant
Murphy. The Legislature, in the spring of 1891, passed
a law making the office of chief and assistant engineers dur-
ing good behavior, and in May, 1891, John Stagg was
elected chief and James Mills assistant engineer. In June,
1891, Assistant John Gillmer resigned and was reappointed
under the law of 1S91.
A PAID BTRE DEPABTMENT. 51
The first break into the volunteer system was the dis-
banding of the three hose companies in the spring of lsiio,
and the formation of a new truck company known as Rapid
II. & L. No. 3, which was located in quarters of Cataract
Hose No. 3.
Paterson was well pleased with the old volunteers, as no
other band of men in any section of the country did their
duty more faithfully, but the reorganization on a paid sys-
tem was brought about by the increased duty of the men
and the necessary taking, at the time of fires, of so many
from the shops and factories.
1889. — There were in the department 9 steam lire engines.
A partially paid tire department and the organization of
" call " men was earnestly recommended ; also the purchase
of a chemical engine and that three steam engines be dis-
pensed with ; it being conceded by fire authorities that six
steamers and one chemical engine would be more practical
as well as economical, if the department be organized with
call men, similar to the Newark system.
During the year the department had answered 141
alarms of fire. The loss on buildings. $43,875.50 ; insur-
ance, $278,500.00. Loss on stock, etc., $65,217.90 ; insur-
ance, $128,320.00. Total loss, $109,093.40; insurance,.
The members of the department, divided into four
classes, were as follows, viz : Permanent men, 19 ; partly
paid, 21 ; officers of companies, 41 ; members of companies,
555. Permanent men consisted of superintendent of fire
alarm, nine drivers of engines, two drivers of trucks, four
52 A PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT.
drivers of hose wagons or carriages, two tillermen and one
extra driver. The call men consisted of the chief, two
assistants, and eighteen engineers for engines. The salaries
of the above and the companies per annum were as follows :
Chief engineer, $600 ; assistant engineers, $300 ; fire
alarm superintendent, $600 ; drivers of engines, wagons and
trucks, $750 ; tillermen, $750 ; steam engineers, $85
engine companies— No. 1, $500 ; No. 2, $500 ; No. 3, $500
No. 4, $500 ; No. 5, $500 ; No. 6, $500 ; No. 7, $500 ; No
8, $500; No. 9, $500; truck companies— No. 1, $340; No
2. $340 ; hose companies— No. 1, $300 ; No. 2, $300 ; No
1890. — The radical change made from a volunteer to a
paid system would, Mayor Burnett thought, eventually
bring about the dispensing with some of the engines. He
suggested that one chemical engine, with five or six steam-
ers, would suffice.
On March 20th the department was reorganized by
appointing four permanent and eight call men to each com-
pany. To the department, with the knowledge of their
disbandment, the chief engineer said he appreciated the
earnestness and zeal which the department evinced in their
services to the public during the past year under the contu-
mely which always seems part of the reward of a volunteer.
A review of this department for the past year would be
partly as follows :
Horses, hose wagons, etc., bought ; drivers appointed in
engine companies Nos. 2, 6 and 7; horses bought for hose
carriages in engine companies Nos. 8 and 9 ; heaters bought
A PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT. 53
for engines Nos. 3, 4 and 6 ; Babcock serial truck bought
for truck company No. 1 ; organization of truck company
No. 3, with apparatus from truck company No. 1, driver
and tillerman appointed, horse and wagon furnished chief ;
1,500 feet cotton hose placed in service ; 69 hydrants were
set during the year, making a total of 784.
1891. — The mayor said in his message that the transi-
tion from a volunteer to a paid fire department had neces-
sarily and materially increased the expenditures on this
account, so that the money to be raised to avert the dangers
of fire formed one of the most important items of the
annual tax levy. Although the expense of maintaining the
fire department had increased more in proportion than the
expenses of other departments of the city government there
were still sections of the city inadequately protected.
West Paterson, Madison Park, the Eastside and other parts
of the city claimed attention ; the residents there argued
that they were entitled to the same protection accorded to
others, just as they paid the same proportion of taxes.
Nevertheless, the mayor said, he could not urge the pur-
chase of more apparatus. If the protection afforded by the
fire department could be equalized there would be sufficient
for the whole territory embraced within the city limits ;
the difficulty was that in past years engine houses were
crowded together in the center of the city and little regard
was had for property which was developing in other parts
of the city. He would suggest inquiry into the feasibility
of removing one or more of the engines from their present
location to places where there was greater need of them.
51 A PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT.
This, in his estimation, could be accomplished with compar-
atively little expense and the efficiency of the service might
be thereby increased.
The total manual force of the department consisted of
one chief engineer ; two assistant engineers; thirteen cap-
tains of companies ; ten engineers of steamers ; nine drivers
of steamers; nine drivers of hose wagons; three drivers of
II. ev; L. trucks; two drivers to chemical engine; one driver
to chief engineer ; six tillermen of H. & L. trucks ; one
keeper of hose and coal depot ; ninety-six call men, making
a total of 153 men.
The apparatus of the department consists of ten steam
fire engines and one in reserve, seven hose wagons, two
four-wheel hose carts, three hook and ladder trucks, one
supply wagon, one chief's wagon.
During the year, one double 60-gallon horizontal Bab-
cock fire extinguisher was purchased and company formed
of permanent men formerly connected with engine com-
pany No. 2, and went in service September 14, 1890. The
chemical engine had been of great service in the extinguish-
ment of fires. Two third size Silsby steamers had been
purchased, one for engine company No. 8 and the other for
engine company No. 9. One hose wagon had been pur-
chased and placed with engine company No. 8. One three-
horse hitch was purchased for No. 1 truck, all of which had
been of great service.
Ground was purchased and a new engine house was
erected on Highland street. Engine company No. 2 was
reorganized and placed on duty there December 1, 1890,
A l'AID K1KK liKl'AIM'MKN I. 00
with Bteamer and hose wagon. At that point greater pro-
tection from fire had been given to that section of the city
known as Riverside.
There were ninety-six bell alarms of fire on the fire
alarm telegraph during the year. Of this number four
were general and two second alarms.
1892. — The following table shows the manual force of
this department, with annual compensation paid :
One chief engineer, $1,500 ; two assistant engineers,
each, $1,000 ; thirteen captains, each, $900 ; two engineers
of steamers, each, $875 ; eighteen drivers of steamers and
wagons, each, $850; three drivers of trucks, each, $850;
two drivers of chemical engine, each, $850 ; one driver of
chief's wagon, $850 ; six tillermen of H. & L. truck, each,
$850 ; one driver supply wagon, $850 ; ninety-five hosemen
and laddermen at call, $150.
Appointments. — 1891: John Stagg, chief engineer,
May 6 ; James C. Mills, May 25 ; John Gillmor, June
1 ; assistant engineers ; Frank Geroe, Feb. 15 ; Geo. Wass-
mer, June 15, Geo. Y. Brower, Christian Mundrich, Chas.
H. McGinnis, July 20; Wm. H. Ward, Sept. 10; Felix
McCann, Thomas 1ST. Hallwell, Sept. 21 ; Archie Irwin, Dec.
7 ; Wm. Butterworth, Dec. 21. 1892: H. Henry Harding,
Feb. 15 ; John Clark, March 7, callmen.
Apparatus. — The apparatus consists of nine steam fire
engines and one in reserve ; eight hose wagons, one four-
wheeled hose cart, and one in reserve ; three hook and lad
der trucks, one of which is an 85-foot Babcock Aerial ; one
chemical engine, one supply wagon and one chief's wagon.
56 A PAID FIEE DEPARTMENT.
The track used by H. & L. Co. No. 3, should, Chief Stagg
said in his annual report, be replaced with a new steel frame
city truck with all modern appliances, as one now in use
is not safe for men to ride on, and ladders are old and rotten,
and being constantly repaired.
The value of the Chemical Engine and Extinguishers
has been proved to the satisfaction of all, and instead of the
purchase of another engine I would recommend that a com-
bination hose and chemical wagon be placed in the houses
of Engines Nos. 2 and 9, to be drawn by two horses. This
would give the two outlying sections of the city more pro-
tection than they now have ; also, to place in each of these
companies at least two permanent men, and reducing their
call force three or four men.
Houses. — All the houses in the department are in good
condition except Nos. 6, 9 and Truck No. 3. If the location
of Engine No. 6 is not changed, very heavy repairs will be
necessary to make it fit for its future use as a fire station.
The front of house of Engine No. 9 needs repairing ; also,
the back and side walls of Truck No. 3. The front doors in
house of Truck No. 1 should be made wider, to enable three
horses to get out without crowding. Sewer connections
should be made at Engine No. 8, if new sewer is laid in
Liberty street the coming year.
Horses. — The number of horses in the department at
close of year is thirty-nine. Six have been purchased, four
condemned and sold, one died of injuries received in pasture
field, and one died of disease. At least four new horses
should be purchased, and one now at hose house sold, as he
is unfit for service in a fire house.
A PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT. 57
Hydrants and Water Supply.— Through the kind-
ness of Mr. Win. Ryle, Superintendent of the Passaic Water
Company, says Chief Stagg, I am enabled to present the
following : We have now seventy-four miles of pipe laid,
consisting of 36, 24, 20, 16, 12, 10, 8, 6 and 4 inch pipe,
with 878 fire hydrants. The reservoirs, four in number,
have a combined capacity of 47,000,000 gallons, backed by
pumping machinery of 24,000,000 gallons daily,
Hose. — The total amount of hose in the department is
13,800 feet, of the following manufacturers : Fabric Fire
Hose Co., Callahan & Co., and Eureka Fire Hose Co.; of
which 11,200 feet is in first-class condition, 1,500 feet is in
second-class condition, 1,100 feet is in third-class condition ;
6,450 feet is laid in wagons on reels, and 7,350 feet in re-
serve at hose depot; 57,650 feet of hose was used by the de-
partment, and afterwards hung up, dried and brushed off.
Four hundred feet of hose unfit for service is stored away.
At least two thousand feet of new hose should be purchased
every year to replace damaged and worn-out stock.
During the year the department had answered to 103
bell alarms and 97 still and telephone alarms, which repre-
sents a total loss of $292,278.00, and were insured for
$1,162,904.00. Two times alarms were sent out for same
fire from different stations. Of 198 calls on department for
service at fires, 109 were extinguished by Chemical Engine
No. 1, or the small extinguishers carried in hose wagons and
trucks; 28 by use of water and chemicals; 15 by water
only, and 46 times the department services were not re-
quired. The engine companies laid 57,650 feet of hose,
58 A PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT.
through which water was forced by engine. The Chemical
Engine used 71 tanks of 60 gallons each, and 195 charges
from extinguishers of three and six gallons each were used
by other companies.
The department responded to one call outside city lines,
by sending an engine, Xo. 7, to Wortendyke, in charge of
The fire limit as now established, the Chief maintained,
should be enlarged, and the granting of frame buildings in-
side the limit stopped. Many permits are granted to make
repairs which are rebuilding almost entirely of the struc-
tures. Many of the cellars, lofts and yards of our largest
business houses are nothing but catch-alls for all the inflam-
mable material that can be put away, such as paper, packing
cases, barrels, straw, excelsior, etc., and with the large num-
ber of lightly built frame structures in the thickly settled
portion of our city, it is only a question of time when they
will be wiped out by a sweeping conflagration. It is de-
plorable that some effective effort is not made to have more
substantial buildings erected within the boundary lines of a
Bell alarms, 303 ; still alarms, 97 ; total fires, 200. In-
surance, stock and furniture, $517,239 ; loss, $213,348 ; in-
surance, buildings, $615,665 ; loss, $79,930.. Total insur-
ance, $1,162,901 ; total loss, $292,278.
PRESKNT STATUS OF THE DEPARTMENT.
Officers— Apparatus— Engine, Truck unci Hose Companies— The Men
and Their Work— How the Companies Are Manned and Officered
—Valiant Fire Fighters.
FOR many years, as lias been noted, Paterson had one of
the best volunteer departments in the country. It is
now a paid department, officered as follows : Chief Engi-
neer, John Stagg ; First Assistant, James C. Mills ; Second
Assistant, John Gillmor. Superintendent Fire Alarm Tele-
graph, James F. Zelnff.
The total manual force of the department consists of one
chief engineer, two assistant engineers, thirteen captains of
companies, ten engineers of steamers, nine drivers of steam-
ers, nine drivers of hose wagons, three drivers of H. <fc L.
trucks, two drivers of chemical engine, one driver to chief
engineer, six tillermen of H. & L. trucks, one keeper of
hose and coal depot, ninety-six call men, making a total of
Apparatus. — The apparatus of the department consists
of nine steam fire engines and one in reserve, eight hose
wagons, one four-wheel hose cart, three hook and ladder
trucks, one supply wagon, one chief's wagon.
Engine No. 1. — Located on Yan Houten street, near
60 PRESENT STATUS OF THE DEPARTMENT.
Washington. Engine second size Button, purchased in
1886 and in good condition. Hose wagon built by Gleason
& Bailey, carries 800 feet of hose, and in good condition?
two 3-gallon extinguishers. Captain, Ernest S. Fields ;
Engineer, John Knaus ; drivers, Arthur Rogers and Sam-
uel Miller; callmen, fin. J. Post, fin. H. Brown, Theo.
A. Brown, Con. F. O'Neil, Chas. H. McGuinness, Daniel
Gregory, Joseph Bachlin, Joseph Hardy.
Engine No. 2. — Located on Highland street, near Sassa-
fras. Engine second size Jeffers, purchased in 1871 and in
fair condition. Hose wagon, built by John Post, carries
700 feet of hose, and in good condition, two 3-gallon extin-
guishers. Captain, Floyd King ; Engineer, George Dobson ;
drivers, Henry Nagle and George Sheldrake ; callmen,
Samuel Simonton, William Butterworth, William Davis,
John McGill, John Shaw, Geo. V. Brower, Peter Dahl-
inger, William H. Ward.
Engine No. 3. — Located on Prospect street, near Elli-
son. Engine second size Amoskeag, purchased in 1881 and
in fair condition. Four-wheel hose cart built by Silsby
M'f'g Co., carries 700 feet of hose; in fair condition. Cap-
tain, Chris. Cubby ; Engineer, Chas. Wiley ; drivers, Leon-
ard Hartley and Daniel Leonard ; callmen, James Irwin,
Thos. G. Murphy, Joseph Meller, James B. - Haley, Morris
Rossell, George Wassmer, Christian Mundrich, Rinard
Engine No. 4. — Located on Slater street, near Jersey
street. Engine second size Clapp & Jones, purchased in
1883 and in good condition. Hose wagon built by Sower-
PRESENT STATUS OF THE DEPARTMENT. 61
butt, in good condition, carries 700 feet of hose, two 3-gallon
extinguishers. Captain, Patrick Sweeney ; Engineer, Alex.
Thorns ; drivers, John Cluney and John J. Condon ; call-
men, John J. Canning, Eobert Dunphy, William Marshall,
James Cullerton, Hugh Kennedy, William Morrison, John
Marshall, Jeremiah O' Toole.
Engine No. 5. — Located on Water street between Main
and West street bridges. Engine second size Silsby, pur-
chased in 1884, in good condition. Hose wagon built by
Sowerbutt, in good condition, carries 700 feet of hose, two
3-gallon extinguishers. Captain, William Cook ; Engineer,
Frank Blakely ; drivers, John Lair and William Stannard ;
callmen, Chas. Harrison, Frank Geroe, Jacob Snyder, Peter
Bradley, Peter Howden, John Messenger, Henry Snyder,
Thos. N. Hallowell.
Engine No. 6. — Located on Market street, near Straight.
Engine second size Clapp & Jones, purchased in 1886 and
in good condition. Hose wagon built by John Post, in
good condition, carries 700 feet of hose, two 3-gallon extin-
guishers. Captain, Edward J. Coleman ; Engineer, Frank
Costello ; drivers, Louis Haasser, James O'Neill ; callmen,
Thos. Checkley, Josiah Barton, John Frolich, James Thorns,
Frank McLaughlin, John Hart, Edward Kirwin, Marinus
Engine No. 7. — Located at 298 Tyler street. Engine
third size Clapp & Jones, jmrchased in 1876, in good condi-
tion. Hose wagon built by John Post, in good condition,
carries 700 feet of hose, two 3-gallon extinguishers. Cap-
tain, William Allen ; Engineer, William Farrell ; drivers.
62 PRESENT STATUS OF THE DEPARTMENT.
John W. Bowden, A. Perrins ; callmen, David Devine,
George Mills, Tlios. Fish, Ben. Sanderson, Henry Harding,
Joseph Rogers, William Butterwortli, John Clark, W. B.
Engine No. 8. — Located on Wayne avenue, corner of
Liberty street. Engine third size Silsby, purchased in 1890,
in good condition. Hose wagon built by Post tfe Doremus
in good condition, carries 700 feet of hose, two 3-gallon
extinguishers. Captain, William Boyle ; Engineer, Thos.
Donohue ; drivers, John Ellis and Robert Wright ; callmen,
Adam Banghart, John Nagle, James Dunkerly, Jas. C.'
Matthews, Jr., John W. La Rue, Chris. Rafferty, Kerrin
Keys, James McMullen.
Engine No. 9. — Located on Main street near Washing-
ton avenue. Engine third size Silsby, purchased in 1891,
in good condition. Hose wagon in good condition, carries
700 feet of hose. Captain, Peter Riley ; Engineer, Henry
L. Reed ; drivers, Michael Farrell and Allison Roswell ;
callmeti, Nicholas R. Snyder, George Slater, John C. Gar-
side, John O'Neil, Frank Rever, John Glass, Charles F.
Saulter, Michael Berghorn.
Truck No. 1. — Located on Jackson street, near Green
street. Truck built by Babcock Fire Extinguishing M'f'g
Co., of Chicago, 1889, carries one 85-foot extension serial
ladder, one 55-foot extension ladder, one 38-foot, one 30-
foot, one 25-foot, one 20-foot, one 14-foot, one 12-foot ; two
3-gallon extinguishers, poles, hooks, ropes, etc. Captain,
Joseph Kearney ; Tillerman, Thomas Elvin ; Extra Tiller-
man, Martin Brandt ; driver, David McAllister ; callmen,
1'KKSKNT STATUS OF THE DEPARTMENT. 63
James Jones, Thomas Fanning, Joseph Hntton, Richard
Moore, Timothy Phalon, William J. Stewart, Edward Kil-
patrick, Thomas Hardiman.
Truck No. 2. — Located in Prospect street, near Ellison
street. Truck built by Reading Fire Apparatus Co., 1881,
carries one 65-foot extension, one 35-foot, two 30-foot, one
26-foot, one 19-foot, one 12-foot, one 9-foot and one 6-foot
roof ladder ; two 5-gallon extinguishers, poles, hooks, ropes,
etc. Captain, John Weber ; Tillermen, John Specht and
John Vesey; driver, Richard Cubby; callmen, Gustave
Specht, Charles Fahrenbach, Samuel Close, George Muth,
Albert Merceir, Thomas Armstrong, Felix McCann, John
Truck No. 3. — Located corner of Auburn and Godwin
streets. Truck built by E. Y. Leverich, 1881, carries one
65-foot extension, one 38-foot, one 30-foot, one 26-foot, two
24-foot, one 18-foot, one 12-foot roof ladder ; two 5-gallon
extinguishers, poles, hooks, ropes, etc. Captain, Stewart
Taylor ; Tillermen, Nelson Norris and Harry Lister ;
driver, George Bunting; callmen, N. C. Quackenbush,
James H. Coyle, William R. Close, John J. Hawley,
George Carr, Christopher Murphy, H. M. Butler, Archie
Chemical No. 1. — Located in Hotel street, near Mar-
ket street. Engine, Babcock, double 60-gallon, with 400
feet of hose in two lines, purchased 1890, in good condition.
Captain, William Campbell ; Extr. Engineer, Michael Hal-
nan ; drivers, John Breen and Andrew Knaus.
Hose House and Coal Depot. — Located on Bridge
64 PRESENT STATUS OF THE DEPARTMENT.
street, near Tyler street. One second size Nussey engine,
in reserve, purchased in 1876, in good condition. One
supply wagon for carrying coal, built by William "Walker,
in good condition.
Driver to chief engineer, George Pfitzenmayer ; keeper
hose house, George Slinguland; lineman to fire alarm,
Fire Hose. — There are at present 11,200 feet of first-
class, 1,500 feet of second class, and 1,100 feet of third-class
hose in the department.
The number of signal boxes and instruments is as fol-
lows : 10-circuit repeater, 1 ; bell strikers, 5 ; engine house
gongs, 15 ; engineers' gongs, 6 ; small tappers, 39 ; signal
boxes, 102; galvanometers, 11; cut-offs, 9; indicators, 2;
markers, 7. There are about 90 miles of wire in circuit.
Location of Bell Strikers. — Second Reformed church,
corner .Water and Temple streets ; First Baptist church,
corner Van Houten and Washington streets ; First Presby-
terian church, corner Ward and Main streets ; ~No. 6 public
school, corner Summer and Ellison streets; 'No. 8 engine
house, corner Wayne avenue and Liberty street.
Battery. — The battery consists of 475 cells of gravity.
Poles, Brackets and Tripods. — Fire alarm telegraph
poles, 825 ; American Rapid and Western Union, 86 ; tele-
phone and electric light, 250 ; tripods and brackets, 325.
F. King, Captain.
P. Sweeney, Captain.
UK BENEVOLENT ASSOCIATION.
Its Organization and Reorganization — Past and Present Officers —
Its Beneficiary Features — Widows and Orphans — Rules and
QCTOBER 20th, 1851, a meeting was held at No. 69
Main street (the store of First Assistant Chief Patrick
Curran), for the purpose of organizing a benevolent associa-
tion. The following-named gentlemen were present : From
the Board of Engineers, Patrick Curran ; from No. 1,.
William Sykes, Andrew Moser and Daniel Miller; from
No. 3, Robert Miller, Thomas Bailey and William Fielding;
from No. 5, Thomas Hindle, Lewis Simpson and William
Douglas ; from Hook and Ladder Co. No. 1, Horatio M.
Lane, George English and John Powering. Patrick Cur-
ran was elected chairman and Horatio M. Lane secretary.
But little business was done except to authorize William
Sykes to procure a constitution. November 11th another
meeting was held, at which William Sykes presided. The
proposed constitution was read, and the adjournment to
Nov. 7th followed. Upon the last mentioned date a perma-
nent organization was effected, and the following officers
were elected : Patrick Curran, president ; Thomas Hindle,
vice-president; Horatio M. Lane, secretary; Andrew Moser,.
66 THE BENEVOLENT ASSOCIATION.
treasurer. December 2d, 1851, a code of by-laws was
adopted and the association was fairly launched. From that
day to the present its career has been one of usefulness in
the line of charitable work.
The association was reorganized May 20th, 1890, as the
Firemen's Benevolent Association of the City of Paterson,
N. J. Any sick or disabled fireman of the present depart-
ment is entitled to the sum of $7.00 per week. Beneficia-
ries of the old volunteer department, of whom there are
three, and members of the Exempt Association are entitled
to the sum of $5.00 per week. Widows or orphans of ben-
eficiaries of the old volunteer department or Exempt Asso-
ciation are entitled to the sum of $50 per annum. Widows
or orphans of members of the present department are
entitled' to the sum of $100 per annum. Any beneficiary
of this association may be stricken from the list at any time
by a majority vote of the Board of Trustees.
The present officers of the association are : President,
Wm. B. Campbell ; Vice-President, Wm. Douglas ; Secre-
tary, Nat. C. Quackenbush ; Treasurer, John McKiernan ;
Finance Committee, Thos. Whowell, Wm. Cook, Win.
Koll of Kepresentatives : Chief Engineer John Stagg ;
Engine 1, Wm. Post, Joseph Backalan ; Engine 2, John
McGill, George Brower ; Engine 3, Christopher Cubby,
James Irwin ; Engine 4, Jas. Cullerton, John J. Canning ;
Engine 5, Win. Cook, Peter Bradley ; Engine 6, Edward J.
Coleman, Thos. Checkley ; Engine 7, George Mills, David
Devine ; Engine 8, Wm. Boyle, Jas. McMullen ; Engine 9,
THE BENEVOLENT ASSOCIATION. 67
Peter Riley, John Garside ; Chemical 1, "Wm. B. Campbell,
Andrew Knaus ; Truck 1, David McAllister, James Jones;
Truck 2, Gustave Specht, Felix McCann; Truck 3, Wm.
R. Close, Nat. C. Quackenbush; Exempt Association, Jno.
McKiernan, Tlios. "Whowell.
Roll of Trustees : Engine 1, Daniel Gregory ; Engine
2, "Wm. "Ward; Engine 3, Maurice Rozelle; Engine 4, John
Marshall ; Engine 5, Frank Geroe ; Engine 6, Josiah Ear-
ton ; Engine 7, Thos. Fish ; Engine 8, Chris. J. Rafferty ;
Engine 9, John J. O'Neill ; Chemical 1, John Breen ;
Truck 1, Joseph Hutton ; Truck 2, George Mirth; Truck
3, James H. Coyle ; Exempt Association, "Wm. Douglas.
Officers : "Wm. Douglas, chairman ; Nat. C. Quacken-
bush, secretary. "Widows' Committee : C. J. Rafferty, M.
Rozelle, J. H. Coyle, J. Barton, D. Gregory.
There are at present five firemen and the widows and
orphans of twenty-six deceased firemen drawing relief from
THE EXEMPT ASSOCIATION.
The Plan of Organization — Permanent Officers— Fair at Washington
Hall— Installed in Its New House— Present Affairs of the Associa-
tion — A Burial Clause Inserted in the By-LaAvs.
T^HE project of "organizing an association of exempt fire-
men was talked of for many years before it became an
accomplished fact. In November, 1S82, the following
notice appeared in the Paterson daily papers :
Notice. — To the Exempt Firemen of the City of Pater-
son, IS". J. : Yon are requested to attend a meeting to be
held t on Monday evening, November 27th, 1882, at 8
o'clock, at the engine house of the Washington Steam Fire
Engine Co., No. 3, for the purpose of forming an Exempt
Firemen's Association. Signed : John W. Bensen, "Will-
iam Dobson, John McKiernan, William C. Martin, James
I. King, Thomas Healey, Patrick Sweeney, Will Strong.
In response to this call ninety-six exempt firemen met
at Engine 3's house. Ex-Chief John McKiernan called the
meeting to order and was elected chairman. John John-
son, of Engine 4, was elected secretary. After considerable
discussion regarding the plan of organization, a motion to
make the society a beneficial one was lost and it was agreed
to form a social association. Peter Fields, Bartholomew
THE EXEMPT ASSOCIATION. 69
Riley, Lambert Romaine, John W. Bensen and George W.
Pollitt were appointed a committee <>n permanent organiza-
tion. They reported the following Dames for permanent
officers: John MeKiernan, president; William C.Martin,
vice-president; John Johnson, secretary; John W. Bensen,
treasurer. A committee on by-laws was appointed, consist-
ing of John W. Bensen. Geo. W. Pollitt, John MacDonald,
David I. Tnrnbnll and James I. King. At the next meet-
ing, February 7th, 18S3, the committee on by-laws presented
their report, which was adopted. Garret Yan Honten,
Geo. W. Pollitt, Charles M. King, John Sullivan and John
1. Spittel were elected the first board of trustees, and Joseph
Buckley, John C. McBride and Philip Chapman were
appointed as a standing committee. For a number of years
the association met quarterly at the several fire houses upon
invitation from the companies. The quarters of engines 1,
2, 3, 5 and 6, and truck No. 2 were made use of until 1888.
During the month of October, 1887, a fair was held at
Washington Hall, the proceeds netting $2,000. At the
annual meeting held in December, 1887, it was voted to
establish permanent headquarters, and Geo. W. Pollitt,
John W. Bensen and John I. Spittel were appointed a
committee to procure suitable rooms. At a special meeting
held at engine 3's house in January, 1888, the committee
reported in favor of leasing the rooms on the second floor
of the building No. 169 Market street. The report was
adopted and the same committee was authorized to expend
a sufficient amount to suitably decorate and furnish the
rooms. The rooms were informally opened Wednesday,
70 THE EXEMPT ASSOCIATION.
February 22d, 1888, and the association was comfortably
installed in its new home, which was made use of until May
1st, 1892, when the association took possession of the frame
building corner of Clark and Smith streets, lately purchased
The association is in a first-class condition, has upwards
of five hundred members and is receiving accessions con-
stantly. The rooms comprise parlor, smoking and sitting
room, kitchen and dining room on the first floor ; front and
rear parlor, game room, bath room, reading room and
directors' room on second floor. The reading room is sup-
plied with all the leading daily and weekly newspapers,
magazines, etc., and the game room with various games,
cards, dominos, chess, checkers, etc.
At a meeting held at engine l's house, March 7th, 1883,
twenty-two members signed a proposed plan for burial
insurance, and at a meeting held at engine 2's house, July
11th, 1883, an organization w r as formed with the following
officers : John McKiernan, president ; William C. Martin,
vice-president ; Charles M. King, secretary ; John W. Ben-
sen, treasurer. Directors : Garret Van Houten, James I.
King, John I. Spittel, Henry L. Eeid and William Dobson.
The assessment at a death was $1.10 per member. The
membership increased to fifty-nine, and the fund existed
until the Exempt Association adopted a .burial clause in
The officers of the association are : President, John
McKiernan ; Vice-President, Daniel Gregory ; Recording
THE EXEMPT ASSOCIATION. 71
Secretary, John I. Spittel ; Financial Secretary, William
Carey; Treasurer, Charles M. King.
Directors : . James Kearney, William Fielding, Thomas
W ho well, William C.Martin, William Marshall, William
Standing committees : John T. Pollitt, Samuel Holt,
Henry Bush, Henry L. Reed.
Some of the Officers of the Old and New Departments Who Have
Made Fire History— Chief Stagg and His Start— Exempt Veteran
Firemen Whose Names Are Household Words.
vTOHN STAGG, Chief of the Fire Department at Pat-
erson, N. J., was born in that city December 16th,
1843. Mr. Stagg was educated in the public schools of his
native city. In 1857 he went to work in the Guardian
office and carried papers for about three years, working all
day intiie office and carrying papers evenings at a salary of
$1.25 a week, but that was considered good pay in those
days. He worked in the job department of the Guardian
until 1862, when he enlisted in Company A, 11th New
Jersey Volunteers. He served with the 11th Regiment as
private, corporal, sergeant and quartermaster sergeant until,
when before Petersburg in 1864, he was transferred to the
First Michigan Cavalry, commanded by General Peter
Stagg. He was at once promoted to second lieutenant
and soon after to first lieutenant and aid-de-camp on his
brother's staff, and served as such in the cavalry raid
through the Shenandoah valley and around Richmond until
the close of the war. The brigade was then ordered to
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. IS
Utah on special service and shortly after, in April, L866,
was mustered out.
Mr. Stagg then drifted up into the gold mines in Mon-
tana and "roughed it' 1 until September, L868, when he
returned t<> Paterson. He was immediately employed at
his old place in the Chmrdian office and, pulling oft" Lis coat
and rolling up his sleeves, went to work as if lie had been
there the day before, instead of having gone through four
years of the most exciting sort of life, full of hair-breadth
escapes in battle, skirmish and raid, two years of which
were literally in the saddle. Afterwards he was business
manager of the Morning Call, which he continued until
appointed chief engineer of the present dejDartment, May
He joined Passaic Engine Co. No. 1 the same year he
returned to Paterson (1868), and has been an active fireman
ever since. He has always been foremost in everything
appertaining to the department, rarely missing a fire in over
twenty years. He served as secretary and foreman of his
company, and was elected chief after one of the most stub-
born and hotly contested campaigns ever known in Pater-
son. Chief Stagg is a member of the National Association
of Fire Engineers, and takes a deep interest in the firemen's
organizations, of his state.
James C. Mills, First Assistant Engineer, was born in
Paterson, N. J., in the year 1847, and is by occupation a
silk throwster. At time of appointment in 1891 he was
foreman in the silk mill of R. & H. Adams. He joined
Protection Engine Co. No. 5 in January, 1871, and served
<i BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
with that company until the disbandment of the depart-
ment, and then was appointed a callman. While in Engine
]STo. 5 his comrades placed him in the following offices :
Assistant foreman, foreman, vice-president and president.
Chief Mills served in the late war in a New Jersey regiment
and at the expiration of service received an honorable
John Gillmore was born in Girvin, Scotland, January
23, 1845, and on October 18th, 1865, he came to America
and made his home in Paterson, where he has since lived.
His occupation was that of a loom fixer, and he served as
foreman and loom fixer for nineteen years in the large silk
mill owned by Hamil & Booth. In 1871 he joined Engine
Co. Xo. 6. and in 18S0 he was elected foreman of this com-
pany and remained an active member until the reorganizing
of the company from a volunteer to a paid company.
In 1890 he was elected by the board of aldermen to the
office of assistant chief, and in the following year (1891) he
was re-elected under the new law to hold the position of
assistant chief on good behavior, which position he now
William B. Campbell, President of the Firemen's
Benevolent Association, was born in the Sixth Ward of
Paterson in 1856 ; he is a machinist by trade, and his father
was a fireman some thirty years ago, having been one of
Washington No. 3's most active members in the " fifties."
The subject of this sketch developed a fondness for running
to fires when but a little urchin, and in common with his
playmates in the sixth ward the tap of the fire bell was the
i:i<x;raphical sketches. <5
signal which brought out every boy whose ears caught the
sound. He became an active member of Neptune Engine
Co. No. 2 on December 6th, 1876; since that time lias been
foremost in promoting the interests of his company. He
has been honored by his company, having served them as
assistant foreman, foreman and president. He holds the
last-named position at the present time. He was elected a
representative to the Benevolent Association in April, 1879,
and has been re-elected annually since that time, serving on
the relief committee for seven years. May, 1888, he was
elected president of the Benevolent Association. Mr. Camp-
bell has frequently represented his company in the annual
convention of the lire department, and he is looked upon by
all his associates and acquaintances as one who is a thorough
fireman, with a love for the business that has made him a
typical volunteer fireman. He is now captain of Chemical
William Douglas, Vice-President of the Benevolent
Association, was born in Paterson, August 19th, 1853. His
father, William Douglas, was for many years an active
member of Engine Co. No. 5, and served a term as assistant
engineer. The subject of this sketch was a runner with and
an ardent admirer of No. 5, and as soon as he had attained
his majority (August 18, 1874), he became an active mem-
ber and has ever since that time maintained a lively interest
in the affairs and welfare of the company. He has been the
recipient of many honors at the hands of his fellow mem-
bers, having held every office within their gift except that
of treasurer. In April, 1875, Mr. Douglas was elected a
representative from No. 5 to the Benevolent Association
and was at once elected vice-president. With the exception
of one year (1883) when he was out of town he has been in
the Benevolent board and has held every office except that
of president and treasurer. The greater portion of the time
he has been a member of the finance committee, often the
chairman of it, and he is looked upon by his associates as
one whose judgment is good and wise. Mr. Douglas has
been in the employ of Messrs. E. & H. Adams (cotton and
silk manufacturers) sincl 1870. The last fifteen years he
has been the superintendent of the three mills of the Adams
Bros. He has the confidence of his employers to the fullest
extent, and he is in every way a credit to the department of
which he is a member.
Nathaniel C. Quackenbush, secretary of the Benevo-
lent Association, was born in Paterson October 4th, 1855.
He became an active member of Cataract Hose Co., ISTo. 2,
July 7, 1879, having been a runner with that company for
some time previous to his election. He was elected steward
in the same month, and in December of the same year was
elected secretary, which office he held for two years, when
he was elected foreman. At the expiration of his term he
was elected financial secretary for one year, when he was
again chosen recording secretary, to which office he was re-
elected from year to year until the company was disbanded
in the month of March, 1889, having held a prominent
office in his company for a period of nearly ten years. Mr.
Quackenbush and one other were the originators of the idea
of having a truck company to succeed Cataract Hose Co.,
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 77
whose house and apparatus were burned on the night of
November 9, 1888. Mr Quackenbush was elected secretary
of that company (which was known as Rapid II. & L. Co.
No. 3) when it was organized, and has held that office until
the present time, having been appointed call man when the
department was changed to a paid system, February 28,
1890. He was assistant secretary of the Benevolent Associ-
ation during the years 1881-'82, and secretary in the years
1 883-' 84. He was elected secretary of the Benevolent As-
sociation when it was re-organized, May 20, 1890, and has
held the office till the present time; has also been a member
of the finance committee, and at present is treasurer of the
Call Men's Association. Mr. Quackenbush is a carpenter
and builder and commissioner of public instruction repre-
senting the fifth ward, having been appointed as a Demo-
crat by Mayor Beveridge, March 28, 1892, for a term of
two years. Member of Exempt Association.
John McKiernan, treasurer of the Benevolent Associa-
tion, was born in Paterson, August 18, 1833. He became a
member of Washington Engine Co. No. 3, in February,
1852, and was elected treasurer of his company in October,
1855, and was re-elected in 1856. In May, 1859, he was
elected foreman and served until May, 1862, when he was
elected assistant engineer of the Paterson Fire Department.
In September, 1862, lie went to the war as captain of Com-
pany A, 25th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, which
company was composed mainly of members of Mr. McKier-
nan's fire company. He served as senior captain in all the
engagements in which his regiment took part, and they
78 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
were many, as his regiment has a record of which its sur-
viving members may be proud.
Toward the close of the war Capt. McKiernan served in
the Quartermaster's Department at Newbern, N. C. At
the close of the rebellion he returned home with all the
honors of a brave soldier. But more honors were in store
for him. He was immediately elected foreman of his com-
pany, in which capacity he served until May, 1868, when
he was elected chief engineer of the department. In 1857
he was elected treasurer of the Paterson Firemen's Benevo-
lent Fund. In May, 1869, he was again elected treasurer
of the Fund, and he has served in that capacity until the
present time. In 1880 he was elected treasurer of the New
Jersey State Firemen's Association, and he has been re-
elected every term since. In November, 1882, at the organ-
ization of the Exempt Firemen's Association of Paterson, he
was elected as its president, which office he also now holds.
He is also president of the Exempt Firemen's Beneficial
Association of his department. He has also been president
of Washington Engine Co. No. 3 for the past fifteen years.
Mr. McKiernan was among the organizers of the State Fire-
men's Association of New Jersey. He is very popular in
the fire department, and has received all the honors the fire
department can bestow. He has often been importuned by
his friends to accept offices of a political nature, but has al-
ways declined. He is a member of the firm of Doremus tfc
McKiernan, who have a large store and crockery warehouse
on Main street.
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. < '.'
Robert Gledhill, the genial vice-president of the Ex-
empts, is a gentlemen so well known in this city that he
does not need an extended notice here. Mr. Gledhill was
in active service in the department from 1863 until 1878,
when he took out his certificate. He is the youngest son of
one of the oldest residents of Paterson, Mr. Joseph Gledhill,
who came to this city in 1817. The subject of this sketch
has enjoyed a long and prosperous business career, having
started in the drug business in 1848, as clerk for R. T. Cream-
er, who was then located on the corner of Main and Van Hou-
ten streets. It was not long before he became proprietor,
and shortiy afterward he moved his store to Main street, and
in 1878 sold out his interest to Mr. Kent. Since that time
he has not been actively, engaged in business, but has been
more or less identified with any movement looking towards
Paterson's commercial prosperity. He has filled the meas-
ure of his duties as a good citizen by serving four years as
School Commissioner, and for two years he was elected rep-
resentative from Passaic Steamer No. 1.
Ex-chief Andrew Moser. This gallant old fireman is
the veteran of the Exempt Association, and was the oldest
member of the volunteer department when it disbanded.
He has a record that he can feel justly proud of. He joined
Passaic Engine Company in October, 1847, and served con-
tinuously in that company forty-seven years. During all
that time he failed to respond to roll-call after a fire only six
times. Mr. Moser has never been sick a day in his life, and
he is far more active to-day than many a man of half his
a£e. During his service in No. 1 he held all the different
80 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
offices in the gift of the company and was the president of
the stock company from the time of its incorporation until
it was mustered out. Mr. Moser was born in Alsace, France,
and came to this country in the spring of 1832, and accepted
a position in Holtzman's old cotton mill. He started in the
confectionery business on his own account in 1842, and has
been engaged in it until this spring when he retired. Mr.
Moser is very popular among the younger members of the
association, and his large experience makes him a widely
sought authority on all matters of interest to firemen.
John I. Spittel was born in the city of Paterson, Janu-
ary 4th, 1847. He joined the volunteer department in
1868, first becoming a member of Engine ~No. 2, and served
in that company for several years, when he joined Engine
~No. 3, and remained with them until the starting of the
paid department. During that time he held the office of
vice-pr t esident for five years under President McKiernan,
and was elected foreman of the company in 1881. When
the association was organized he was chosen as one of the
original board of directors and held that position until 1880,
when he was elected secretary, and has been re-elected
at every election since then.
Ex-Chief John F. Murphy was born in this city in
April, 1850. In 1807 he left his home here and went to
Marquette, Mich., and remained there about three years.
His first experiences as a volunteer fireman occurred while
he was a resident of that city, and the knowledge he gained
there proved useful to him afterward. He was in active
service during the big fire in June, 1869, one of the largest
P. Reilly, Captain.
J. Weber, Captain.
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. s l
conflagrations in the West. Mr. Murphy came back to
Paterson in July, L870, and on his return he became a run-
ner with engine No. 6, and three years later he joined the
association connected with Passaic No. 1, and became an
active member of the company in April, 1875, and remained
with it until it disbanded. Shortly afterward he was elected
assistant chief of the paid department, and on the resigna-
tion of Chief Turnbull lie was appointed to till the vacancy.
He served acceptably until his term expired, when he was
succeeded by John Stagg, the present chief.
Majoe James McKiernan was born in Paterson in
1828. He was one of the organizers of Jackson Fire Co.,
No. i, and was assistant foreman and then foreman of the
company. In 1861, when the civil war broke out, Major
McKiernan was chief engineer of the Paterson Fire Depart-
ment. He at once enlisted a company of one hundred men,
nearly all firemen, and led them to Trenton. The boys
elected him their captain and he was mustered in the United
States service as captain of Company G, Seventh N. J. Vol-
unteers. He served in the Army of the Potomac and was
wounded and taken prisoner June 3d, 1862, at Fair Oaks.
He was promoted to be major for gallant service. He
served as commander of Farragut Post 28, of this city. He
died December 2»i, 1882, universally lamented.
Ex-Chief David I. Turnbull w r as one of the organiz-
ers of the Exempt Association. He was born in 1840 in
Paterson, and always took a lively interest in the fire
department from the time of joining Neptune Engine Co.,
No. 2, in 1863, until the disbandment of the volunteers.
82 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
His comrades in the company honored him by electing to
the offices of president, secretary and treasurer for several
terms, and as foreman two years. In the year 1877 he was
elected by the firemen to serve as chief engineer for two
years, and in 1889 was appointed to the same office by the
board of aldermen. After serving one year he resigned the
position. Most of his life has been spent in Rogers Loco-
motive Works as machinist and millwright. Chief Turn-
bull was one of the promoters of the State Firemen's
Association, of which the Paterson Fire Department Ben-
efit Fund is a branch.
RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE FIRE DEPARTMENT.
Fire Department Officials — Qualifications of Members— Pay of the
Force — Badges and Uniforms — Insignia of Office — Fire Alarm
Telegraph — Burial Fund Association.
nULES and regulations for the government of the fire
department were adopted August 3, 1891, with these
officials in office :
Mayor, Thomas Beveridge ; committee on fire depart-
ment, John Macdonald, Chairman; John Hartley, William
R. Harding, James Miller, Joseph Iveppler, Clerk, John T.
Pollitt ; chief engineer of fire department, John Stagg; as-
sistant engineers, James C. Mills, John Gillmore ; superin-
tendent of fire alarm telegraph, James F. Zeluff ; veterinary
surgeon, Dr. William Herbert Lowe.
The rules and regulations are as follows : The fire de-
partment of the City of Paterson shall consist of a chief
and two assistant engineers, superintendent of fire alarm
telegraph, veterinary surgeon, captains, engineers, drivers
and call men to act as stokers, hosemen, laddermen and
other officers, members and employees, as the service may
from time to time require, all of whom shall be under con-
trol of the board of aldermen and subject to rules and reg-
ulations of the department, and orders that may be issued
84 RULES AND REGULATIONS.
by the chief engineer and approved by said board of alder-
men or committee on fire department.
Qualifications of Membership. — Persons to be eligible
to membership in the department must be residents of the
City of Paterson, citizens of the United States, of good
moral character, and able to read and write the English
language understandingly. They shall be in good health,
sound in body and mind, certified to by the city physician,
that he is physically capable of performing the duties required
of him, and not engaged in any business that will prevent
them from instantly responding to an alarm.
Every officer or member before entering on his duties,
shall sign an agreement, to be deposited with the chief en-
gineer, that he will abide by and conform to all rules and
regulations established by the committee and approved by
the board of aldermen for the government of the depart-
ment, and be subject to the penalties named therein.
Every member shall be furnished by the chief with a
copy of the rules and regulations governing the depart-
ment. All members of the permanent force shall give their
entire time to the interest of the fire department, and no
outside work will be permitted.
Applications. — All applications for membership shall
be made in the handwriting of the applicant, who shall
present the same in person to the special committee on fire
department or any regular committee on fire department
who may have charge hereafter.
All applicants for the position of engineers of steamers
KM l.l> AM) UKi.l I. A I KINS.
must stand a practical examination as to their abilities for
looking after the same.
I* ay of the Fobcb. — The pay of the force is hereby fixed
as follows, per annum: Chief engineer, $1,500; assistant
engineers, $1,000; superintendent of fire alarm telegraph,
$1,000; veterinary surgeon, $500 ; captains, $900 ; engineers,
ss;;> ; drivers, $850 ; tillermen, $850; hosemen, laddermen
and stokers at call, per annum, $150.
Chief Engineer. — The chief engineer shall have sole and
entire command at fires and alarms of fire over all mem-
bers of the department, and all apparatus and appurtenances
belonging to the same, and direct all measures he may deem
proper for the extinguishment of fires. He shall devote his
whole time to the performance of the duties of his office.
He shall visit each engine, truck and hose house weekly, or
as often as possible, and report to the committee on fire de-
partment any suggestions for the improvement of the fire de-
partment he may deem necessary.
He shall cause all repairs and other work on account of
fire department to be done, as far as possible, by members
of the permanent force. He shall report to the committee
company officers or members, if any there be, delinquent
in the performance of their duties assigned them, and each
month those absent from fire alarms, also members who
have assigned their pay.
He may, from time to time, issue such orders for the
government of the members as he may deem proper, subject
to approval by fire committee.
He shall have power to suspend any officer or member
RULES AND REGULATIONS.
of the department for neglect of duty or disorderly con-
duct, said suspension to remain in force pending action of
fire committee. He shall also have charge of hose and coal
depot, and place a man on permanent duty there.
He shall not absent himself from the city without consent
of majority of the fire committee.
Assistant Engineers. — In the absence of the chief en-
gineer of the department, he shall designate the senior assist-
ant engineer of the department to command and perform
all the duties, assume all the responsibilities and functions
of the chief of department, and perform such other duties
as his superior may direct.
It shall be the duty of the assistant engineers : 1. Be on
duty constantly, day and night, at their respective head-
quarters, except when called elsewhere on department busi-
ness, or on leave of absence. 2. They shall attend all fires
at stations to which they may be assigned, detailed or called,
and report promptly their arrival to the officer in command.
3. The first to arrive at a fire to assume command and have
full control until command is assumed by the chief engineer
of the department. 4. Direct the movement of officers and
men under their command, and extinguish the fires with the
least possible loss by fire and water. 5. Cause all companies
not needed to promptly return to quarters. . 6. In case of
fire, promptly report any dangerous buildings to the chief
engineer of department. 7. Perform such other duties as
their superior may direct.
Superintendent of Fire Alarm Telegraph. — The
Superintendent of Fire Alarm Telegraph shall have entire
RULES ami KEG1 LATT0N8. 8 i
charge and control of the fire alarm telegraph, subject to
such rules and regulations as may be made from time to
time by the committee. He shall at all times have the
telegraph apparatus in perfect order, and any neglect so to
• do shall be deemed cause for dismissal.
lie shall promptly report to the chief engineer any
interruption in the working of the lines or apparatus where-
by there shall be a delay in giving or receiving an alarm of
tire unless the same is immediately repaired.
In such report he shall state what amount of delay will
occur in repairing the same, and when repaired he shall see
that the chief engineer has notice of the fact.
Lineman. — The Fire Alarm Telegraph Lineman shall be
under the supervision of the superintendent of fire alarm
Veterinary Surgeon. — The Veterinary Surgeon shall
have, under the direction of the committee, general charge
and direction as to the care and management of the horses
belonging to the department, giving such surgical and med-
ical care as may be required.
All orders pertaining to the shoeing of horses in the
department, and any cause removing the horses from' active
duty, shall be made through the office and with the consent
of the chief engineer.
He shall give his opinion as to all horses about to be
purchased, and make such examinations as may be required
by the committee.
Captains. — Captains of companies shall have command
88 RULES AND REGULATIONS.
and control of their companies, and all members shall obey
their orders implicitly.
They shall see that the apparatus in their care, and the
building in which the same is deposited, and all articles in
or belonging to the same, are kept clean and in order for
They shall preserve order and discipline at all times in
their respective companies and enforce a strict compliance
with the rules and regulations of the department and the
orders of the chief engineer. The Captains, on leaving
quarters, shall designate who shall act until their return
unless otherwise ordered.
They shall keep an accurate record of the membership
of their respective companies, an account of all property
entrusted to their care, and all absence from fires or neglect
of duty on the part of the men of their command, in a book
provided for that purpose, which record shall be open for
inspection by the chief and assistant chief engineers, and
members of their companies. They shall present a copy of
same to the board of aldermen, through the chief engineer,
on the first day of each month.
The Captains shall give their entire time to the interest
of the fire department, and they shall at all times be in
attendance at their quarters.
Any company receiving a still alarm of fire shall report
the same to the chief engineer.
The Captain first arriving at a fire shall exercise com-
mand until the arrival of his superior officer.
Engineers. — It shall be the duty of the engineer of each
RULES AM' REGULATIONS. > '-'
steamer to give hia entire time to the interest of the fire
department, and he Bhall at all times !>•• in attendance at his
He shall be held personally responsible for tin- care of
the engine and heater. He shall accompany the engine to
all tires and alarms of fire, and shall have full charge of the
running of the engine, subject to the orders of the captain
and all superior officers.
lie shall see that at all times his engine is ready for use.
Should an alarm of fire occur during the absence of either
<>f the drivers, he must drive in his stead. He must also
assist in the care of the house.
He shall do all repairs, if possible, when so ordered by
his superior officers.
Stokers. — The stoker may be assigned to that position
from among the call men by the captain, and shall, under
the direction of the engineer, assist in the care and manage-
ment of the engine at fires.
They shall see that the engine is properly supplied with
fuel, and perforin such other duties as may be required of
them by the engineer.
Drivers. — It shall be the duty of the drivers of each
engine, hose wagon and hook and ladder truck to be in con-
stant attendance at their respective houses. They shall
have charge of the horses, harness and stables, &c, and have
them well cleaned each morning.
They shall take charge of the horses of the company
during the service of their apparatus at fires.
In cold and stormy weather, on arriving at a tire, they
90 RULES AND REGULATIONS.
shall blanket their horses, and if apparatus is placed in ser-
vice, the driver will try and get shelter for their horses in
When the horses return to the house wet by perspiration
or stormy weather, they shall have them well cleaned,
rubbed down and examined and ready for use.
It shall be the duty of the drivers to exercise their horses
one hour daily (excepting Sunday and stormy weather), and
at no time at exercise take them more than two blocks awaj r
from their respective houses.
They shall practice their horses at the 9.15 p. m. stroke
of the alarm gong each night in going to their places in
front of the apparatus, and they must snap the collar, and
shall at each fire alarm from stations at which they do not
answer first alarms, hitch their horses to their apparatus
and remain hooked for the space of fifteen minutes, unless
back tap is sooner received.
The drivers of hose wagons shall have charge of their
respective apparatus, keep them clean and ready for service
at all times, and also of the hose belonging thereto. He
shall assist in the duties of the stable, and shall also assist in
the care of the house. In exercising his horse he shall do
so at a time when steamer horses are in the house, as at no
time of exercising shall horses of steamer and hose wagon
be out at the same time.
The drivers of engine, truck and hose wagon shall in no
(■use after their respective companies have been relieved
from duty at fires, run over any hose upon their return to
RULES AM) REGULATIONS. '.»1
Drivers of apparatus, while responding to an alarm of
fire are forbidden to turn corners, or in and out of car
tracks, faster than at a moderate trot, and drivers must give
an alarm signal on their gong when approaching corners
Racing to or from fires is strictly prohibited, and if the
apparatus of several companies proceeds in the same street
they shall do so in single file.
Drivers must at all times in going to a fire understand
that direct .orders from the chief or assistant engineers r<>
quicken their pace must be obeyed.
Tlllebmen and Extra Tillermen. — It shall be the duty
of the tillermen of each truck to give their entire time to
the interest of the fire department. And they shall be in
constant attendance at their respective houses, accompanying
their apparatus to all fires and alarms of fires, and assist the
members of the companies in the performance of their
duties at the fire. They shall take charge of and keep in
neat and clean order their respective apparatus and house,
and shall attend to keeping the beds and bunk room in
Call Hosemen and Laddermen. — The call men of the
several companies shall, upon an alarm of fire from the sec-
tion of the city to which they are assigned to duty, proceed
promptly to the place of the fire, and perform any duty that
may be required of them. The}' shall remain on duty until
relieved by order, which shall be given only by the officer
92 KULES AND REGULATIONS.
They shall, while on duty at tires, wear the regulation
Any call man wishing to absent himself from the city,
shall apply to the captain of his company, and the applica-
tion shall be forwarded to the chief engineer for action, and
under no circumstances shall there be more than two call
men absent at one time from any one company.
Badges. — All members of the department shall be pro-
vided with badges, which shall be worn during the whole
time when they shall be on duty.
Uniforms. — The captains, engineers, drivers and tiller-
men shall be required to keep their uniforms in a neat con-
dition, and shall wear them at all times, except when per-
mission is granted otherwise.
The uniforms of the permanent members of the depart-
ment shall consist as follows :
Fire Hat. — For chief of department a white leather
hat, having a gilded front pending from a gilt eagle's head,
and attached to the front of his hat with the insignia of his
rank painted upon it in black letters, shaded with red, and
above the word "chief" in black letters shaded with red,
upon a scroll of gold as per pattern.
For assistant chief of department, same as for the chief,
with the insignia of his rank below the words "assistant
For officers of engine companies, same as for the chief
of department, except that it will be of black leather, and
have a white patent leather stitched front, with the number
of the company cut out of it near the bottom in plain block
RULES AND REGULATIONS. 93
figures, on a background of black patent Leather (three and
one-half inches long, if it be a single figure, and two and one-
half inches long, if it be a double figure), and with the in-
signia of rank above it in gold, shaded with red.
For officers of hook and ladder companies, same as for
officers of engine companies, except that number of the
company will be on a background of red patent leather.
For all other members of companies, same as for officers
of engine companies, omitting the insignia of rank, and ex-
cept that the front will be of black patent leather, with the
number of the company on a background of white patent
For all members of hook and ladder companies, same
as for officers of hook and ladder companies, omitting the
insignia of rank, and except that the front will be of red
patent leather with the number of the company on a back-
ground of white patent leather, and the registered number
of each member in white figures, one inch long, painted on
a line below.
Fatigue Caps. — For the chief of department, of U. S.
navy pattern, made of dark blue cloth, pure indigo dye, with
band one and one-half inches, and quarters one and three-
quarter inches high, stiffened with hair cloth sewed in the
seam of top, and quarters to have small holes in the side for
ventilation, and to be lined with red silk. A narrow welt
around bottom of band and top seam of cap ; the inner band
to be of strong, serviceable leather, the visor to be plain
black, solid patent leather, two inches wide, with rounded
corners ; the chin-strap of black patent leather, one-half inch
94 RULES AND REGULATIONS.
wide, with slides of the same material fastened to each side
of the cap with a small regulation button. The insignia of
rank as prescribed to be placed on the quarters in the center
of the front, the lower points resting nearly upon the upper
edge of band.
For assistant chief of department and company officers,
the same as for the chief of department., except the in-
signia of rank, which will be prescribed for them respect-
For all other members, same as for company officers,
omitting the insignia of rank, and substituting therefore a
white metal Maltese cross, two inches square, with the let-
ters " l P. F. D." on the lower arm, a hook and ladder
crossed on the right arm, a hydrant on the left arm, and
with the registered number of each member in figures,
three-eights of one inch long, in a circle one inch in diam-
eter, to be fastened to the cap with an eye under each side
arm, the lower arm resting on the upper edge of band.
Coat. — For the Chief of Department a double-breasted,
close-fitting sack coat, made of dark blue cloth, pure indigo
dye, cut to button close to the neck, rolling collar, and to
reach to a point midway between the hip joint and the bend
of the knee ; to have eight medium-sized regulation buttons
on each breast, grouped in pairs ; the cuffs to be made to tit
the wrists, and to be closed with three small regulation but-
tons ; to have a pocket on the inside of each breast ; the
sleeves to be cut so as to be conveniently worn inside an
overcoat ; the coat to be lined with blue flannel and the
sleeves with linen.
i;i u:s A\i) REGULATIONS. 95
The prescribed insignia of rank to be placed on the end
of the collar on each side.
For assistant chief of department same as for chief of
department, except that buttons shall be placed equi-distant
and the insignia of rank will be prescribed for them
For company officers, same as for the chief of depart-
ment except that the buttons will be seven in number on
eaeli breast, placed equi-distant, and that the insignia of
rank will be as prescribed for them respectively.
For all other members same as for company officers,
except that it will be single-breasted and have six buttons.
For summer wear a coat may be worn of dark blue flan-
nel, indigo dye, and in all other respects as above prescribed
for the various grades, but without lining.
Overcoat. — For Chief of Department a double-breasted
frock coat, with rolling collar, made according to pattern at
headquarters, with lap seams, of best dark blue pilot cloth,
pure indigo dye, in length to reach to the knee ; to button
up close to the neck, with eight large regulation buttons on
each breast, grouped in pairs ; three on each skirt behind
and three of small size on each sleeve at the cuff ; the skirt
to be open behind ; no outside pockets, but one inside on
each breast ; the skirts and back to be lined with flannel ; the
sleeves to be lined with linen and fit snugly at the wrists.
For all other officers and members, the same as for the
chief of department, except that there shall be five regula-
tion buttons on each breast, placed equi-distant.
Vest. — For all officers and members a single-breasted
96 RULES AND REGULATIONS.
vest, made of same material as the coat, without collar, and
to button with live small regulation buttons to within live
inches of the neck band.
For summer wear a vest may be worn of light cloth or
flannel, dark blue indigo dye, and in all other respects as
Trowseks. — For all officers and members to be made of
the same material as the coat, with lap seams, to be cut to
fit close around the waist, but loosely around the hams and
legs, to admit of their free use. For summer or winter
wear, trowsers may be made of heavier or lighter material
of the same color and dye and in the manner prescribed.
Shirts. — For all officers to be of white linen or cotton,
with white collar.
For all other members to be of dark blue flannel, double-
breasted, with large rolling collar.
Cravat. — For all officers a black necktie or bow.
For all other members, of black silk to pass once around
the neck, with flat knot in front.
Insignia of Office. — For Chief of Department Ave
trumpets measuring one and five sixteenths inches each,
crossed with bell outward and projecting beyond mouth-
piece so as to form a design one and one-half inches in
diameter, to be embroidered in gold upon a circle of dark
For Assistant Chief of Department same as for the chief
of department, except that there shall be three trumpets
measuring one and one-half inches each, crossed with bells
< low] 1 ward.
N. C. QUACKENBUSH.
W. Campbell, Captain.
John McKiernan, Ex-Chief.
RULES AND REGULATIONS. 9?
For Captains of engine companies there shall l>e two
trumpets. The trumpets shall be parallel, with hell down-
wards, and close together, all on an oval of white metal or
nickel plate. For captains of hook and ladder companies,
The insignia for the cap is to have the number of the
company midway between the trumpets or axes.
Coat Badge. — Same as for the cap, except that it shall
be fastened with a pin and catch.
• Buttons. — For Chief and Assistant Chiefs to be of
white metal with gilt face, of the following description :
For overcoat (except the cuff) to be round, one inch in
diameter, with convex roughened face, having the initials
" F. D/' in block letters one-quarter of an inch high in the
For coat (except the cuffs) same as for overcoat except
that it is to be three-quarters of one inch in diameter, hav-
ing the initials " F. D." in block letters in the center, word
'"Paterson" on top and "City" on bottom.
For vests, cuffs of coat, and fatigue cap, same as for
coat, except it be five-sixteenths of one inch in diameter.
For company officers and all other members, same as for
chief of department, except that the buttons are to be of
white metal throughout.
The uniforms of the members of the department shall be
kept neat and clean at all times, and all uniforms shall be
inspected by the chief, who may condemn any parts he
may consider unlit for service, the same to be renewed
within a reasonable time.
98 EULE8 AND REGULATIONS.
Burial Fund Association. — Was organized and by-
laws adopted August 1st, 1892, with the object of providing
a fund for the burial of the deceased members of the
The fund consists of an amount of money equal to the
number of members, at the rate of one dollar per man.
Upon the death of a brother member in good standing,
the sum of one hundred dollars shall be paid to his widow
or nearest of kin.
Paterson's Police Protection
THE EARLY METHODS THAT PREVAILED A QUARTER OF
A CENTURY AGO — CONSTABLES: ONE ELECTED
FOR EACH WARD -SPECIAL POLICE AP-
POINTED FOR STATED PERIODS.
A CITY MARSHAL THE ONLY SALARIED OFFICER.
A POLICE FORCE OF TEN MEN ORGANIZED — A FIXED
SALARY OF FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS
THE PRESENT POLICE DEPARTMENT.
ITS HISTORY AND ORGANIZATION
UP TO DATE.
ORGANIZATION OF THE POLICE FORCE.
A Record of Police Protection Written by Chief Graul — Some Excit-
ing and Interesting- Episodes Officially Related— The Force Up to
T^IIE writer is indebted to Chief Graul for the following
condensed sketch of the Police Department :
Up to July 16th, 1866, Paterson had no police force
other than the constables elected, one in each ward. The
city then contained five wards : the North, East, West,
South and Fifth wards. A city marshal was the only sal-
aried police official who had been appointed by the mayor
and aldermen up to that time, except special police who
were appointed several years previous to the organization of
the force, and who were hired by the city for stated evenings
of the week to patrol Main street to prevent corner lounging
and disorder; their tour of such duty being generally from
seven to ten o'clock. Some of the constables were also em-
ployed in this duty. Many burglaries of private houses
had been perpetrated on the outskirts of the city, and a great
deal of valuable household goods carried off by the thieves,
who appeared to come from outside of the city. These
burglaries were carried on for some time. They became so
frequent and extensive that the citizens got alarmed, and
102 ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE.
the mayor and aldermen, prompted by this fact, decided to
organize a police force of ten men. That was consummated
on July 16th, 1800, and the men so appointed were ordered
to go on active duty August 1st following, with a fixed sal-
ary of $500 per annum.
¥m. G. Watson was mayor of the city, and the follow-
ing constituted the board of aldermen :
James Bush and Charles P. Gurner, from the North
John Keynolds and Halmagh Van Winkle, from the
Peter Simon ton and Samuel Dean, from the West ward.
John Bowering and Win. Atchinson, from the Fifth
Joseph Stansfield and Wm. Killen, from the South ward.
Peter Dobbs was city marshal and head of the police
The men appointed on the force were as follows :
Benjamin Harris and Patrick Kenney, from the North
Frederick G. Graul and John P. Conklin, from the East
Henry E. Jones and Bernard Carrol, from the West
John M. Kemp and John P. Spittle, from the Fifth
George Dean and Edward Dunn, from the South ward.
They were distributed throughout the city in the night
time, and Patrolmen Graul and Jones were detailed by the
ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE. L03
marshal to patrol the outskirts of the East ward, that being
the location where all the burglaries had been committed.
On the night of the 3d of August, the third night of duty,
at about midnight, these two officers discovered the burglars
prowling around the house of D. B. Grant, situated on the
corner of East 18th street and Broadway. The burglars
discovered the presence of the officers and endeavored to
make their escape. They were captured, however, and
proved to be the thieves who had committed all the bur-
glaries in this neighborhood, a large amount of the stolen
property being recovered by the officers from the residences
of both burglars. They were tried on a number of in-
dictments in this and Bergen county, were convicted and
sent to Trenton State Prison for twenty-seven years each.
The names of these burglars were Gustave Dorflinger and
Peter Reinhardt. Dorflinger lived on Second Ave., New
York City, and Reinhardt lived in a house situated in the
woods back of Fort Lee, Bergen County. The latter place
appeared to have been the headquarters of the thieves, as
the greater amount of the plunder was found there. They
travelled with horse and wagon, the horse being a fast road-
ster, and they generally cleaned out the parlors of houses ;
in some cases they .took up carpets. Dorflinger was a native
of Switzerland, and a very large and powerfully built man.
He was very desperate, and carried a five-chamber Smith &
Wesson revolver. When they discovered the presence of
the officers on the night of the arrest, Reinhardt endeavored
to make his escape by running down Broadway, toward the
city. Patrolman Graul gave chase and captured him after
104 ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE.
a short run. Dorflinger stood his ground and Patrolman
Jones took him into custody. Graul brought his prisoner
back toward Jones and Dorflinger, and when within about
100 feet of where they were standing, Jones left his pris-
oner and came to handcuff Reinhardt, who was in Graul' s
custody. Just then Dorflinger started and ran out Broadway,
toward the country. Graul said to Jones : " There goes your
man." Jones replied : " Go and catch him." Graul gave
chase and run Dorflinger down. Just as he did so, Dor-
flinger turned and fired his revolver at Graul. Graul grap-
elled with the burglar, and a fierce struggle ensued, during
which the burglar discharged his revolver again. Graul,
having no weapon except a small club, fought to get pos-
session of the burglar's revolver, which he succeeded in
doing after a hard struggle. When the burglar saw he was
losing ground in the struggle, and having lost possession of
his murderous weapon, he broke loose from his captor and
ran into the bushes, which were very thick on both sides of
the road. Graul ordered him to stop, and upon his failing
to do so, fired two shots at him, one of which took effect in
the muscle of his right arm. Dorflinger concealed himself
in the bushes, and could not be found that night, but was
arrested two days later in New York .city. Search was
made for their horse and wagon, after Reinhardt had been
brought to the lockup, and it was found concealed in the
Van Buren woods on Broadway hill.
No more burglaries were committed after the capture of
these two men, and citizens residing in the suburban parts
of the city felt comparatively safe at night thereafter.
PRESIDENT BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS.
James C. Siglar,
ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE. 1<T)
John R. Spittle, wlio had been appointed from the Fifth
ward, declined to serve, and John P. Conklin, who had been
appointed from the East ward, only served six days, and re-
signed Aug. 6th, 1866, and Thomas Maher was appointed to
fill this vacancy. Maher only served two days. On the
third day he came on duty in a very drunken condition, and
Marshall Dobbs relieved him of his badge.
Aug. 20, 1866, Thomas Maher was dimissed, and Alex-
ander Davison and Patrick Delaney were appointed. Oct.
1, 1866, the salaries of patrolmen were raised to $700 per
annum. Jan. 7, 1867, Patrick Kenny resigned, and Daniel
Gerve and Alexander W. Morgan were appointed. Feb. 18,
1867, Heniy E. Jones resigned, and Patrick Cronin was ap-
pointed. Feb. 19, 1867, Fred'k G. Graul was appointed
temporary roundsman by Marshal Dobbs. April 15, 1867,
Cornelius Quackenbush was appointed city marshal, and
Patrick Cronin and Patrick Delaney were dismissed. May
20, 1867, Fred'k G. Graul was appointed permanent rounds-
man, and John B. Rice and Anthony Ellison were ap-
pointed on the force. July 1, 1867, Bernard Carroll re-
signed (under charges). Aug. 5, 1867, Charles Simonton
was appointed to the force. Oct. 7, 1867, John Parmley
was appointed to the force. Oct. 21, 1867, Edward Dunn
resigned, and Michael Keeff was appointed. Nov. 18, 1867,
James Hewitt, Thomas Morrison, John Jordan and James
Clark were appointed. Jan. 6, 1S68, Anthony Ellison re-
signed, under charges, and Isaac Allman was appointed.
Feb. 13, 1868, Benjamin Harris died. Feb. 17, 1S68, John
M. Kemp resigned, under charges, and Dewit C. Simonton
106 ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE.
was appointed. June 1, 1868, Alexander W. Morgan was
appointed captain of police, but no duties were denned for
the captain. July 9, 1868, Henry Barclay was appointed
on the force. Aug. 31, 1868, John Parmley died. May 10,
1869, Matthias Vreeland, Jacob Huff, and James Condron
were appointed. May 24, 1869, Adam Hargreaves, John
Rooney, and John Keirwinwere appointed. Aug. 3, 1869,
Roundsman Graul's salary was increased to $800 per an-
num. Aug. 30, 1869, Isaac Allman resigned. Sept. 13,
1869, William Murray was appointed. Jan. 20, 1S70, Capt.
Morgan petitioned the board of aldermen to define his
duties as caj^tain of police. It was referred to the commit-
tee on police. March 14, 1870, the committee on police re-
ported to the board on the matter referred to them in refer-
ence to denning the duties of the captain of police, and they
recommend that the office of captain be abolished. The
recommendation of the committee on police was adopted.
March 28, 1870, John B. Rice was appointed second rounds-
man. June 13, 1870, Charles Holloway, Stephen Wester-
velt, William Duff, Patrick Guilfoil, William Roe, and
John McBride were appointed. Sept. 12, 1870, the rank
of roundsman was changed to sergeant, and Henry Barclay
was appointed third sergeant. Oct. 12, 1870, the first sta-
tion house was built, on the present site. Jan. 15, 1872,
William Duff" was dismissed. March 4, 1872, William Roe
resigned. May 6, 1872, John B. Rice was appointed chief
of police, under the new city charter, which did away with
the office of city marshal ; Michael Keeff was appointed ser-
geant to fill the vacancy caused by the promotion of Ser-
ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE. 107
geant Rico to chief of poKce; William Wilds was ap-
pointed, and Jacob Unit' resigned. June 3, 1872, Henry
Rose, John Cronk, Martin R. Drew, Daniel McClory, John
"Wirzer, and John Binson were appointed. June IT, 1872,
Alexander F. Anderson, Win. Beatty, John Qninlan, Al-
bert Polhamus, John Baxter, Joseph T. Brown, and Wm.
Cairns were appointed. June 3, 1872, James Hewitt was
appointed fourth sergeant. Aug. 5, 1872, John McBride
was appointed fifth sergeant, and George Dean was dis-
missed. Oct 21, 1872, Alexander W. Morgan resigned.
Jan. 20, 1873, Alexander F. Anderson and Dewitt C.
Simonton resigned. April 7, 1873, Sergeant Graul was
promoted to captain of police. May 19, 1873, John Keir-
wan was dismissed. Aug. 18, 1873, James Clark was dis-
missed. July 6, 1874, Wm. Cairns resigned. Jan. 4, 1875,
Joseph T. Brown died. Oct. 4, 1875, Alexander Davidson
resigned. Feb. 14, 1876, Chief of Police John B. Rice
was dismissed, and Captain Graul was placed in charge of
the department by the mayor. April 3, 1870, Captain
Graul was promoted to chief of police by the unanimous
vote of the board of aldermen. Dec. 4, 1876, James C.
Watson resigned. Aug. 4, 1879, Charles Simonton was
dismissed. April 19, 1880, John Baxter resigned. May
17, 1880, Isaac Harris, Charles Magee, John Powers, James
Steel, Richard Mallinson, Wm. Bailey, Wm. Roe, Frank-
Becker, Wm. O'Rourke, James Dougherty, John Riker,
Fred'k Bott, James McNamara, Thomas Mclnerney,
Thomas Mullen, and Michael Phalon were appointed. June
21,1880, John W. McCrea, John Dervel, Herman Hilhnan,
108 ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE.
John Sommers, and Wm. Keys were appointed. July 11,
1880, Wm. Murray was dismissed. April 25, 1881, John
Bimson was appointed captain of police. June 6, 1881,
Wm. Bailey resigned. June 20, 1881, Wm. McCloud and
Wm. Van Voorheis were appointed. May 15, 1882, John
W. McCrea was dismissed. May 1, 1882, Herman Hillnian
resigned. July 11, 1882, David Kissich, Albert Magee,
Wm. Mills, jr., Jacob Struck, John Fields, Charles Schock-
lin, Benajak W. Beardsley, Wm. Bland, John Holland,
Mathew McGirr, and Miles W. Fitzgerald were appointed.
April 21, 1883, Wm. Miles, jr., resigned. Oct. 15, 1883,
Wm. McCloud was dismissed. Nov. 2, 1883, John Quin-
lan resigned (under charges). March 3, 1884, Henry Rose
resigned (under charges). May 2, 1884, Charles Hollo-
way died. Aug. 2, 1884, William Van Voorheis resigned.
Nov. IT, 1885, James Dougherty was dismissed. April
11, 1885, James Steel resigned. April 5, 1886, John
Dowd was dismissed. June 1, 1886, Wm. C. Rourke died.
July 1, 1886, Peter Murphy, John W. Bradley, David Gib-
son, Thomas Walker, Patrick Kilt, Michael F. Bradley,
Frank Bullock, Henry Vanderhoof, Patrick Fitzpatrick,
John Rosenburgh, Charles W. Bush, James Evers, Peter
Zeluff, Andrew Vreeland, Andrew J. McBride, John II.
O'Hara, Charles F. Hoffman, John F. Bradley, Ivrine ( )ver-
beck, John McKelvey, Alexander Masterton, John Parkin-
sen, George W. Halstead, William Sweeney, John Roman*.
John Taylor, James Mullen, John Costello and Frank
Whitla were appointed. July 12, 1886, Adam Hargreaves
was appointed sergeant; Richard Wallinson was dismissed.
ORGANIZATION <>F THE FORCE. L09
March 21, L887, William Keys resigned (under charges).
July 26, John II. O'Hara resigned (under charges). Aug. 1.
Ed. Xolen. Frank Zimnier, Howard Gull, George T. Cazar,
Samuel Kelly, William H. Adams and Charles Titus were
appointed. May 7, 1SS8, Mathew McGirr and John Hiker
were appointed sergeants. Nov. 19, 1888, "Wm. Sweeney
was dismissed. Jan 15, 1889, Jolm F. Bradley died. Jan.
8, 1890, Frederick Bott died. Feb. 26, 1890, James Con-
dron died. April 26, 1890, George T. Cazar died. July
26, L890, IVEathias Yreeland died. May 18, 1891, Samuel
Kelly was dismissed. June 15, 1891, John D. Garrison.
Wm. H. Lord, Henry O'Brien, George Cox, Adolpli Kepp-
ler, Nelson Graham, Daniel Dermond, Charles Robinson,
John Draper, Jolm H. Hurd, James Miller, Jolm Stewart.
Wm. E. Perry, John Fielding and Jolm Campbell were
appointed. Oct, 19, 1891, Daniel McClory resigned. Nov.
10, 1891, Wm. Beatty died. Nov. 16, 1891, Charles Boyle
was appointed. Dec. 21, 1891, Thomas J. McGrath was
appointed. Feb. 9, 1892, Michael Plialon died. Feb. 15,
1892, James Dougherty, Henry Titus, James Kehoe and
Frank Sweetman were appointed. April 15, 1892, John
Rosenberg was dismissed. May 9, 1892, John McKelvey
resigned. May 26, 1892, Patrick Guilford was dismissed.
Aug. 26, 1892, Alexander Master dismissed. Dec, 1.
1892, George Cox resigned under charges. March 10,
1892, The patrol wagon for this department arrived at this
date. It had been ordered by the board of aldermen about
one month before. March 18, 1892, the patrol wagon went
into service. March 24, 1S92, the mayor and new police
110 ORGANIZATION OF THE FORCE.
justice met and appointed the new police commission. The
mayor appointed James Johnson for two years and John
MacDonald for one year. Justice Van Cleve appointed
Wm. Ryan for two years and James C. Siglar for one year.
March 28, 1892, the board of police commissioners organ-
ized; Commissioner Ryan was elected president and John
F. Lee appointed clerk. One of the first acts of the board
of police commissioners was to provide a stable adjoining
the police station, where the patrol wagon, ambulance and
police horse and vehicle could be kept ; they also appointed
two. ambulance drivers, one for night service and one for
day service, thus enabling the department to give prompt
and better service.
THE AMENDED CHARTER.
An Oath of Affirmation — The Mayor to Appoint All Policemen, Sub-
ject to the Confirmation of the Board of Aldermen— A Chief of
Police— A Day and Night Police Force — Their Duties and Com-
pensation—Chief, Captain, Sergeants and Patrolmen— Uniform
and Badges— Salary.
T^HE Amended Charter, approved March 23d, 1871,
made it obligatory on every constable, before entering
upon the duties of his office, to take and subscribe before the
city clerk an oath of affirmation in the form prescribed for
constables of townships, using the word "city" instead of
" township ; " and every constable, before entering on the
duties of his office, should enter into bonds to the mayor
and aldermen of the city, with one or more sureties to be
approved by the board of aldermen, in such sum as might
be fixed by ordinance from time to time.
Section 32 of the amended charter reads as follows :
" That the mayor shall appoint all policemen for said city,
subject to the confirmation of the board of aldermen, and
he shall have power to suspend any policeman, but shall,
immediately upon so doing, communicate the fact of such
suspension, with the reasons therefor, to the said board;
and no policeman appointed and confirmed as aforesaid
112 AMENDED CHARTER.
shall be removed except for cause and by the votes of a
majority of all the members of said board. The mayor
shall appoint one person from among the police force of
said city, in May next after the passage of this act. to be
chief of police, subject to the confirmation of said board,
who shall perforin the same duties as other policemen, and
such additional duties as the board of aldermen shall by
ordinance require of him; and the said chief of police shall
hold such office during good behavior, unless sooner
removed by a two-thirds vote of all the members of said
" Section 33: That in all actions now pending or to be
brought hereafter before the recorder of said city, and in
all proceedings in any of the criminal courts of the county
of Passaic, the police officers of said city shall possess the
same powers, perform the same duties and receive the same
compensation as constables of the county of Passaic in like
cases, except that no such officer shall receive any compensa-
tion for services under proceedings before said recorder."
An ordinance to establish, regulate and control a day
and night police ; to regulate and define the manner of
their appointment and removal, their duties and compensa-
tion, was passed April 9th, 1875, of which the following is
an abstract :
The police department shall consist of the chief of
police, one captain and as many sergeants and patrolmen as
the board of aldermen may from time to time appoint.
That during the illness or absence of the chief of police
the captain of police shall execute and discharge the duties
A.MENDED OHABTBB. 113
of the office of chief of police, and at all other times Bhall
discharge such duties as may be prescribed.
The members, when on duty, .shall wear such Uniform
and badges, or signs of office, as shall from time to time be
prescribed by the board of aldermen.
The annual salary of the captain of police shall be $950 ;
of each sergeant, $900 ; of each patrolman, $850 ; and
neither of said officers shall receive any other costs, fees or
charges for services performed while on their regular duty.
Applications for appointment shall be made to the
mayor in writing, and signed by the party by and for whom
the application is made.
A certificate signed by a majority of the examining
board (chief, city physician and committee on police),
recommending any candidate presenting himself for such
examination, shall be considered and taken by the mayor as
sufficient evidence of such examination.
Each of the several ward constables shall be a police
constable, and entitled to receive the fees upon the service
of processes by them for violation of any of the laws or
ordinances of the city, as full remuneration for the duties
of their position of police constables.
In addition to such ward constables there shall be
appointed by the board of aldermen such other police con-
stables as they shall from time to time think necessary for
the better government of the city, who shall receive as full
remuneration for performing the duties of the position of
Any member of the police force may be expelled from
Hi AMENDED CHARTER.
office by a majority vote of the board of aldermen, in addi-
tion to any other punishment to which he may be subject
by law, against whom any of the following charges may be
substantiated, namely : Intoxication ; willful disobedience
of orders ; violent, coarse or insolent behavior to a superior
in office, or any other person ; receiving money or other
valuable thing contrary to the statutes of the state, the ordi-
nances of the city, or the rules and regulations of the police
department ; willful non-compliance with the said rules and
regulations ; inefficiency or gross neglect of duty ; willfully
maltreating, or doing unnecessary violence towards a pris-
oner or citizen, and such other causes as may be specially
provided for or mentioned in said rules and regulations.
An act approved March 4th, 1880, enacted that "in all
cases where any fireman or policeman of any incorporated
city or town of this state is disabled while in the discharge
of his public duties, it shall be lawful for the common
council, board of aldermen, finance committee, or other
governing body of such city or town, to pay such person so
disabled as aforesaid, during the time he is disabled, such,
compensation, including medical attendance, as said com-
mon council, board of aldermen, nuance committee, or other
governing body of such city or town shall deem reasonable
and proper, on the certificate of a physician, describing
AN EXCELLENT POLICE FOKCK.
Summary of Events Compiled from Annual Reports — Distribution of
the Force — Additional Men Appointed — A Mountain Tragedy.
I^ATERSOX has always had an excellent police force.
At present it consists of 88 men. Tlie officers are a
chief, captain, 7 sergeants, and 79 patrolmen. The oldest
member of the police force is Chief Graul, who has served
26 years. Sergeant Keeff comes next with 25 years. Ser-
geant Hewitt and Patrolman Jordan each have 24 years and
6 months to their credit.
As in the case of the fire department, the writer has
compiled the following summary of police history from the
annual reports of the chief and the messages of the mayor.
The official year ended March 20.
1876. — The mayor reported to the board of aldermen that
the committee on police made some effort during the year to
secure a better state of discipline and more effectiveness in
the force than had heretofore existed. During the past year
charges had been preferred against the chief for conduct
unbecoming an officer. After a fair trial before the board
of aldermen, it resulted in his removal from office, Feb. 14>
1876. Frederick G. Graul was appointed to fill the vacan-
cy, April 3 following. The mayor recommended that the
116 AN EXCELLENT POLICE FOKCE.
committee having charge of the department should give it
their special attention, and whatever might be necessary to
render the force efficient, well disciplined, and of high moral
character, that the same be done.
1877. — The chief of police reported the discipline of the
force as having been very good. But one officer had been
reported with having violated the rules. The number of
men on the force was twenty-five, consisting of the chief,
four sergeants and twenty patrolmen. Attention was called
to the unfit condition of the station house. Adjoining the
room used for the police were the lodgers' rooms. In winter
especially these rooms were always crowded at night with
lodgers. Some plan, it was urged, should be adopted by
which the policemen could be relieved from this unpleasant
proximity to these lodgers.
The total number of arrests was 1,391.
Tlie peace of the city had been very good, there having
been no serious crimes or extensive robberies committed.
The distribution of the force was as follows : One ser-
geant to attend to licenses of saloons, pedlers, hacks, shows,
ifec. One patrolman to regulate the market for the sale of
country produce. One patrolman for duty in the vicinity of
the Erie Railway depot to prevent lounging about the depot
and to protect passengers from being insulted in the waiting-
rooms, and to preserve the peace in that vicinity. Two
patrolmen to do general patrol duty in the day time, and
serve warrants, when issued, by the Recorder. One patrol-
man detailed at the station house in the day time to keep
the police room and cells clean, attend all the wants of the
AN EXCELLENT POLICE FOEOE. 117
station house, attend to the recorder's court while in session,
and keep a correct list of persons apprehended, and their dis-
posal by the recorder. One patrolman detailed at the sta-
tion house in the night time to keep a correct list of persons
applying at the station house for lodging, see that the lodg-
ing room was properly cleaned every morning, make are-
port of street lamps that had not been lighted during the
night — when so reported by the officers going off duty every
morning, make a report of all alarms of lire in the night
time, the cause of the alarm, the box it is sent from and the
exact time it strikes, and also deliver the fire lanterns to the
officers doing duty at the fire. Three sergeants on night
duty, each one having a district assigned him, to visit each
patrolman as often as possible during the night, in their
respective districts, make a written report every morning
when going off duty, stating the time and place, when and
where he saw each patrolman during the night, and report
all irregularities on the part of any patrolman to the chief
of police; also take charge of the police at fires where a fire
occurs in their respective districts. Fourteen patrolmen to do
night work, distributed as follows : One in the First ward,
one in the Second ward, two in the Third ward, two in the
Fourth ward, three in the Fifth ward, two in the Sixth
ward, and three in the Seventh and Eighth wards. The
city was divided into fourteen beats, whereby each patrol-
man had a very large territory to patrol.
1878. — The records of this year are missing.
1879. — There was a diversity of opinion in regard to the
necessity of an increase of the force ; it was a question that
118 AN EXCELLENT POLICE FORCE.
required to be carefully considered, the Mayor said. As a
general rule the city was very peaceable, but it was thought
advisable, if not necessary, to increase the force in order to
shorten the beats.
On Monday, August 12, the body of Bartholomew Mc-
Grail was found beheaded, lying on the track of the 1ST. Y.,
L. E. & W. R. R., near Passaic Bridge. It was rumored
that he was murdered in this city and the body taken in a
wagon to the spot where it was found. It was proved how-
ever that he came to his death by having been accidentally
Four cases of highway robbery were reported during the
year. A number of small burglaries were also committed.
The tramp had become a dangerous nuisance, and there
were good reasons to believe that a great portion of the
robberies committed in private dwellings were committed
by them. The chief suggested that there be some plan
adopted to put them to work, which would have the effect
of driving them from the vicinity.
The force, he said, was entirely too small to guard the
city against thieves and the young rowdy element that was
growing up. It should consist of at least forty members.
The total number of arrests was 1,573.
1880. — Mayor Graham in his annual message indulged
in some strictures on the misconduct of certain members of
The principal object, he said, in maintaining a city was
to protect the property and life of its citizens, and to do
this there must be a well-organized and sufficient police
AN EXCELLENT POLICE FORCE. 119
force. He had suspended members of the force for various
com] >laints. One member was dismissed. There were other
complaints against some of the patrolmen, but the parties
making the complaints were slow in coining forward to
substantiate their charges. It had been shown during the
year that a small number of the officers, by their miscon-
duct, could weaken public confidence in the entire depart-
ment. The city counsel had decided that the board of
aldermen could make rules regulating the department.
There was no branch of the city government, the mayor
said, had met with such an amount of criticism as the
police force. There had been a number of special police-
men appointed, principally as private watchmen, whereby
many points in the city had been guarded.
He recommended that the force be increased to at least
its original number, as in his judgment it was too small for
a proper surveillance of the largely increased floating popu-
lation of the city.
On Saturday, June 2Sth, 1879, James Osborne was way-
laid in a stable on Jersey street, and struck on the head
with a cart rung in the hands of John Hartley, from which
injuries he died three days afterward.
On the night of Oct. 28th, 1879, an old German named
Michael J. Firchs, living in a shanty at No. 23 Ward street,
was shot and killed.
On the evening of Monday, Sept. 15th, 1879, H. Cor-
win, of No. 51 Spring street, was assaulted near his resi-
dence, and robbed of his watch and chain.
On Saturday morning, Feb. 21st, 1880, the body of
120 AN EXCELLENT POLICE FORCE.
Harriet Hink was found murdered in her apartments, No.
55 Division street. A jury brought in a verdict that she
came to her death from injuries inflicted with a blunt in-
strument and they recommended that Patrick Henry
Bracken be held for the action of the Grand Jury.
A great many burglaries had been committed during the
year, principally in small stores and private houses.
On Sunday morning, May 2d, 1880, several German
singing societies went to Garret Mountain at daybreak, as
usual, to celebrate May-day. It drew together a great many
people on the mountain, some of whom began strolling off
on adjacent property. William Dalzell occupied a large
plot of land next to the Garret Mountain property. A
young man named Joseph Van Houten came on Dalzell's
property. Dalzell's son and Van Houten began to quarrel,
whereupon Dalzell, sr., shot the latter dead. The Dalzells
fled to' their dwelling, fearing violence. Officers hurried to
the scene of the disturbance, and the murderer was ar-
rested. The crowd set fire to the building, and the officers
with their prisoner had to run across lots to the next house,
to escape a shower of stones. Here several officers had
very narrow escapes. The crowd showed a disposition to
make an assault on the place. Two coaches were procured,
one by the sheriff and one by the chief. The Rev. Father
MoNulty and the mayor went on the mountain and tried to
pacify the enraged crowd. The priest volunteered to get
on the seat with the driver. Dalzell was rushed from the
house through the police lines to the carriage by the sheriff,
and the carriage driven away, not, however, without the
Frank Van Cleve
Frederick G. Graul,
CHIEF OK POLICE.
AN EXCELLENT POLICE FORCE. 121
crowd making an unsuccessful attempt to capture the
He was tried for manslaughter and a verdict of not
As in the previous year, several robberies, of no great
magnitude, were committed, the proceeds of which had
The most extensive burglary committed for many years
took place on the night of February 14th, 1881, in the
jewelry establishment of Garside & Berdan, No. 122 Mar-
ket street, and property carried away to the amount of
Twenty-one additional men were appointed during the
year, one resignation was received, and one officer was dis-
missed from the force during the year, making the total
number of officers forty-three. The effect of more police
officers w T as very apparent. There should be at least one officer
to every thousand inhabitants. A great many more arrests
had been made than in former years, and. better order had
been preserved, showing that the increase to the force had
had the desired effect.
CHANGES IN THE DEPARTMENT.
Homicides. Check Forgers, and Rioting — Thieves from Other Cities
— Total Number of Arrests — Several Serious Shooting Affrays —
A Terrible Explosion.
-i 882. — During the past year seven officers had been tried
on charges. The mayor and citizens seemed to have
worked themselves into a very uncomfortable state of vir-
tuous indignation over the alleged delinquencies of a few
black sheep in the department.
The mayor had a sermon to preach on this subject. He
expressed himself as of the opinion that a change could be
made for the better in the department, by promptly trying
and disposing of all cases where charges were made against
policemen. He had a plan, like all reformers. It was
"that a change could be made for the better in trying all
such cases, not in the method, but in the final ending of
such trials, and to that end would recommend that hereafter
the findings of the committee, upon the approval of the
mayor, shall be ended."
If his plan, the mayor said, were adopted " it would
have a tendency to increase the discipline of the force and
relieve the aldermen from the pressure often brought to
bear on them to shield an officer from a well deserved
CHANGES IN THE DEPAIi'l MNKT. 123
The force consisted of chief, captain, four sergeants,
On April 25th, 1881, Patrolman John Bimson was pro-
moted to be captain of police.
Value of stolen property restored, $2,235.85.
Total number of arrests, 3,083.
1883. — One homicide occurred during the year. It was
committed on the night of August 15th, 1882, by David
Taylor, who kept a liquor saloon at No. 85 Spruce street,
his wife being the victim. He was convicted of man-
slaughter and sentenced to state prison for four years.
The city was visited the past year by three different sets
of thieves from other cities : shoplifters and check forgers.
Conviction followed arrest in every case.
The chief had ordered the force to be drilled twice
a month in Upton's tactics, and thirteen department drills
had been had, Captain Bimson being the instructor.
During the past year eleven men were appointed on the
force, one resignation was tendered and one man was dis-
missed, making the total number 53.
Charges against members :
Patrolman Adam Hargreaves, neglect of duty ; fine. 3
Patrolman John W. ]VIcCrea, drunk ; dismissed the
Patrolman Patrick Guilfoil ; neglect of duty ; one day's
Patrolman John Sommers; disobedience of orders ; rep-
124 CHANGES IN THE DEPARTMENT.
Patrolman Thomas Mullen ; absent from duty ; one
1884. — The force numbered 48 men, as follows : 1 chief,
1 captain, 4 sergeants and 42 patrolmen.
The peace of the city had been very good during the
preceding year. The timely arrival of Sergeant McBride
with a squad of officers, on the evening of July 12th, on
the corner of Main and Ellison streets, prevented what
might have been a riot. The Orangemen's society had held
a picnic at Bunker Hill. On their return in the evening an
altercation took place between a hackman who was driving
down Main street and a marshal of the Orangemen's pro-
cession. A large crowd gathered and but for the arrival of
Sergeant McBride, a fight was inevitable.
A very serious accident occurred on July 13th, at the
paint store of James F. Norwood and James D. Dunkerley,
Xo. 174 Main street, which resulted in the loss of two lives.
The accident was caused by the explosion of gas.
Three deadly assaults, one of them fatal, were recorded
during the year.
The city covered over eight square miles of territory,
and contained about 58,000 inhabitants. To cover this
large territory and give proper police protection, it would
require at least 75 men. It was deemed advisable to estab-
lish a sub station in the southern part of the city.
The aggregate amount of the pay roll was $44,594.11.
Total number of arrests, 3,136.
Total value of stolen property recovered, 81,752.88.
(MANGES IN THE DEPARTMENT. 125
1885. — The force consisted of 1 chief, 1 captain, 4 mi-
geants and 40 patrolmen.
The captain took charge of the night force ; each ser-
geant took charge of a squad of officers on post; three pa-
trolmen were detailed for desk duty, two to serve warrants
and answer calls for ambulance, and all other calls during
the day time ; one for duty at the depot in the day time :
live for post duty in the forenoon in charge of a sergeant ;
ten for post duty in the afternoon, in charge of a sergeant,
and nineteen for duty on post at night, in charge of two
Officer Charles Hollaway died May 2d, 1884. He was
appointed a patrolman, June 13th, 1870.
1886. — The mayor in his message declared that the force
should be increased to at least one policeman to every
Many burglaries had been committed, some of a serious
character. In several cases business houses were entered,
the safes blown open or the doors drilled, the combination
locks destroyed, and in two cases (F. C. Van Dyek & Co.'s
and H. B. Crosby & Son's ) the burglars carried away a con-
siderable amount of money and valuable papers.
Professional safe burglars worked very successfully about
this time in all the cities of the Middle and Eastern States.
Newark, Jersey City and Hoboken had been visited fre-
quently by this class of thieves and all efforts to capture
them had failed. Private houses and small store robberies
had been quite prevalent during the fall and winter months,
126 CHANGES IN THE DEPARTMENT.
which caused extra duty to be imposed on the members of
Several serious shooting affrays had occurred, one of
which resulted in the killing of two persons, at the house
No. 271 Main street ; the husband killing his wife, and then
killing himself. The parties to this tragedy were George
llolford and Mary his wife. There were no witnesses, as
the first intimation anyone had of its occurrence was when
their son came home and found both dead. It was very
plain to be seen from the surroundings that llolford had
shot his wife in the head while she was asleep in bed, and
then shot himself. He was a peddler by occupation and
originally came from Newark, JST. J.
On the night of August 15, 1885, John H. CVDell went
into the saloon kept by his wife at ISTo. 25 1-2 West street
and demanded an interview with her in the back room.
She went in with him. He asked her if she would live
with him again. She gave him a negative reply and came
out into the bar room to serve customers. O'Dell came out
behind her and stood at the end of the bar and without any
warning pulled out a revolver from his pocket and fired two
shots, one of which struck his wife in the breast, and the
other grazed the head df one of the customers in the bar
room. He was disarmed by one of the men present.
O'Dell then ran to the police station and gave himself up to
Officer Drew, who was on duty at the desk. O'Dell had
served a term in the state prison for wife beating and had
been discharged from that institution but a short time before
the shooting. He was tried and convicted for attempting
GHANOES l.\ THE DEPARTMENT. 127
to commit murder and was sent to the state prison for five
years. Eis wife soon recovered from her injury, the ball
not having touched any vital part.
On October, 28th, 1885, another shooting affair occurred.
This was at the law office of Z. M. Ward in the Vreeland
building on Main street. This caused great excitement for
a time on account of the parties to it being well known in
the community. This was done by Thomas A. Dowling,
who went to Ward's office, and while there shot Ward.
Dowling fired two shots, one of which however only took
effect. Dowling then ran to the police station and asked to
be protected. It was at first supposed that Ward was fatal-
ly shot, but this proved not to be so, as he recovered very
rapidly after the ball had been extracted from his person by
1887. — The increase of thirty additional officers to the
department during the past year had had a great influence
over the young and lawless element, and had had the effect
of breaking up a great deal of the corner lounging and
other annoyances which were very prevalent.
The total number of arrests was 2,688.
1S88. — A terrible explosion of a revolving rug boiler
occurred at the Ivanhoe paper mill on April 23d, 1888,
causing the death of two men and the injuring of about 20
Among the list of casualties recorded in Chief Graul's
report was a number of people who received injuries during
the morning of March 12th, the day of the great blizzard.
The seven additional men appointed by the board
128 CHANGES IN THE DEPARTMENT.
brought the number up to seventy-seven patrolmen, five
sergeants, one captain, one chief.
The construction of the new lockup building during the
past year was an improvement over the old structure, giving
better lockup accommodation, better facilities for keeping
clean and separating prisoners. This building, however,
was only partly finished.
PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT.
The Most Horrible Murder Ever Committed in Paterson. — Many Petty
Thefts. — Necessity of a Patrol Wagon. — Laws Concerning the
Sale and Regulation of the Liquor Traffic. — Roster of the Depart-
'i 889. — Two murders were committed, the victims being
Matthew Ash, whose body was found in the river, near
the West street bridge, on the afternoon of Nov. 8, and
Kate or Cornelia Laber, who was murdered by her husband,
Tunis, Feb. 28. This was, perhaps, the most horrible mur-
der ever committed in this city, and was the result of jeal-
The finishing and furnishing of the' upper floor of the
new headquarters' building the past year had given accomo-
dations that the need of had been felt for a long time, and
which were fully appreciated by the officers and patrolmen
of the department. By this improvement the different
grades of officers and patrolmen were separated from each
other, each grade having their separate rooms. While there
had been no extravagance shown in the furnishing of the
different apartments, yet each was elegantly and substantial-
1890. — Many petty thefts had been reported committed
130 PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT.
by juvenile thieves. This class of thieving had increased
wonderfully. Many of the arrests made and convictions
had were of small boys. It was sometimes a hard problem
for the judges of the county court to solve, when this class of
offenders were brought before them, as to what disposition
k> make of them. Some were hardly fit subjects for the
state reform school, yet some degree of restraint should be
placed upon them. Many of this class fell into bad habits
through neglect of their parents, who were compelled to
work in the mills and workshops to earn their livelihood,
while the children were left to themselves at home with no
one to look after them. In this way they learnt to practice
mischief, commenced pilfering, and soon cropped out as
thieves. If a city or county institution were established
where this class of offenders could be committed by the re-
corder for correction, many would, perhaps, have been
saved 'from becoming habitual criminals.
The chief called attention to the fact that while the city
had grown immensely in the past few years, both in popu-
lation and improvement in property, the police force had
diminished in numbers, and no effort had been made to in-
crease the same. "Whole blocks of dwelling houses and fac-
tories had grown up in the suburbs ; the farm lands, where
produce was raised a few years ago, had been transformed
into homes of working people. The territory to be patrolled
by the police had extended far out beyond where it was
necessary to patrol before, yet the police force had not
kept up with this growth, but had been reduced by death
and dismissals ; consequently, the police protection given the
PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT. 131
suburban parts of the city was limited, and of little effect.
He therefore recommended that an additional number of
men be appointed to meet this demand, and a sub-station be
established in the southern part of the city ; that provisions
be made by which the ambulance and police vehicle be
kept convenient to and under the direct supervision of the
department, and that a police patrol wagon be purchased;
all to be kept at the same place, with a man to take care of
them. This, he said, would be a great improvement in the
police and ambulance service, and the additional expense
would be trifling.
1891. — Since the last annual report, the department sus-
tained the loss of two men by death and one permanently
disabled by sickness. No appointments had been made
since July 18, 1887. At that time it was deemed necessary
to appoint seven additional men, who made the total num-
ber of the force 77, consisting of chief, captain, 5 sergeants,
and 70 patrolmen. Since that time two patrolmen were
promoted to sergeants, five had died, one was dismissed
from the force, and one was permanently disabled by sick-
ness. This reduction brought the number of patrolmen
down to 61 men. Of this number, three were detailed to
desk duty in the station house, two to do detective work,
serve warrants and answer calls ; one as truant officer, one to
do duty at railroad depot, and one to attend in the recorder's
court. This reduction of the patrolling force reduced it to
53 men. The chief called attention to the necessity of
providing the department with a patrol wagon. It was de-
cided by the board last year to purchase one, but no pro-
132 PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT.
vision was made as to where it should be kept, and the pur-
chase was not made. The patrol wagon and ambulance, he
said, should be kept in a stable connected directly with the
police station, and a person should be engaged to take care
of them both. He could see only one way by which that
could be done, and that was to place them in the house oc-
cupied by Engine Company No. 1. That property could
be directly connected with the station house by placing a
door in the rear partition wall of that property. That house
would be well adapted for that purpose. Then to provide
a house for that company, a lot could be purchased next to
their present house, and a house could be built for that com-
pany that would be better fitted for engine purposes than
the house then used by them.
The department was also in great need of a fund on
which to draw in cases that required the expenditure of
money in following up criminals and violators of ordinances.
He did not know of any police department that did not have
such a fund. The department had never been provided
with any funds to pay any expenses that were necessary to
incur in either following up a criminal or obtaining evi-
dence against violators of ordinances. The enforcing of the
laws concerning the sale of liquor usually required some ex-
pense in obtaining evidence. The amount' required was
small, and when prosecutions were had and convictions fol-
lowed, the amount so spent was usually returned ten-fold
by fines imposed. Besides this, the state law required that
all fees allowed by law in criminal cases for arrests, examin-
ations, and serving commitments, shall be paid into the city
PBESENT POLICE FOKCE EXHIBIT. 133
treasury. This was done by the chief, monthly. The amount
allowed by law for each arrest, under the criminal laws of
the state, was 80 cents ; for each examination, 50 cents, and
for each commitment, $1. These bills were made payable
to the city of Paterson, and were paid by the county collec-
tor. The amount collected annually from this source was
usually from $800 to $1,000. The earning of this money
was largely due to the persevering manner in which crimi-
nals were hunted down, and which oftentimes required
some expense. It would therefore seem proper that some
of the money derived from this source be set aside to meet
such expenditures as were required to prosecute this work.
1892. — Following is an abstract of Chief Graul's annual
The peace of our city has been very good during the
past year ; we have had no severe disturbances of the peace,
and no extensive robberies committed. The additional 15
patrolmen appointed by your honorable board in June last,
and the two appointed to fill vacancies that occurred since
that time, have made a good impression on the lawless ele-
ment of this city, and was a wise step taken by you in the
proper time. The patrol wagon which you have purchased,
and goes into service now, will, I- am sure, be one of the best
appliances to do police work ever furnished this department.
Yet the service of the patrol wagon will not be perfect until
the police telegraph system is furnished. I therefore ear-
nestly recommend that said system be furnished.
Two deaths have occurred in the membership of this
13-1 . PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT.
department during the past year, those of Patrolman Will-
iam Beatty and Michael Phalon.
Patrolman Beatty was appointed a member of this de-
partment on June 17, 1872. He died Nov. 10, 1891, hav-
ing thus served 19 years, 4 months, and 23 days.
Policeman Phalon was appointed on May 17, 1880. He
died on Feb. 9, 1892, having thus served 11 years, 8 months,
and 23 days.
Roster of the force. — The following exhibit will show
the name, age, date of appointment, and time served by
each member of this department :
date of TIME
AGE - ™™. Y 4s RVED HO.
Frederick G. Graul 51 . . . .July 16, 1886 25 7
JohnBimson 46.... June 3, 1872 19 9
Henry Barclay 60. . . . July 9, 1868 23 7
Michael ( Keeff 62.... Oct. 21, 1867 24 4
James Hewitt 62... Nov. 18, 1867 24 3
JohnMcBride 52 ...June 13, 1870 21 9
Adam Hargreaves 52. . . .May 24, 1869 22 9
MathewMcGirr 37. . . .July 10, 1882 9 8
John Riker 35.... May 17, 1880 11 10
John Jordan 63.... Nov. 18, 1867 24 3
John Rooney 65. . . .May 24, 1869 22 9
Stephen H. Westervelt 58. . . . June 13, 1870 21 8
Patrick Guilfoil 50 . . .June 13, 1870 21 8
Wm. Wilds 53 May 6, 1872 19 10
JohnCronk 62... June 3, 1872 19 9
Martin R. Drew 61... .June 3, 1872 19 9
John Werger 54.... June 3, 1872 19 9
Isaac Harris 54. . . .May 17, 1880 11 10
Charles Magee 35. . . .May 17, 1880 11 10
PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT. 135
T -ssia* y . e t ;i ' d m „.
John Powers 35.... May 17, 1880 11 10
Wm. Roe 52. .. .June 13, 1870 12 7
Frank Becker 50... May 17, 1880 11 10
James McNamara 48 11 10
Thomas Mclnerney 38.... " 11 10
ThomasMullen 36.... " 11 10
John Sommers 37 ...June 21, 1880 11 9
David Kissick 41. . .July 10, 1882 9.. ..8
Albert Magee 38.... " 9 8
Jacob Struck 36.... " 9 8
John Fields 47.... " 9 8
Charles Schocklin 37.... " 9 8
Benejah W. Beardsley 39 . . . " 9 8
Wm. Bland 44.... " 9 8
John Holland 32.... " 9 8
Miles W. Fitzgerald 48. ... " 9 8
Peter Murphy 36. .. .June 21, 1886 5 8
John W. Bradley 43. . . . " 5 8
David Gibson 42.... " 5 8
Thomas Walker 31 ... . " 5 8
Patrick Kilt 43.... " 5 8
Michael F. Bradley 31. . . . " 5 8
Frank Bullock 35. . . . " 5 8
Henry Vanderhoff 34... " 5 8
Patrick Fitzpatrick 42 . . . " 5 . . .
John Rosenberg 38
Charles B. Bush 48.... " 5
James Evers 30 ... . 5 .
PeterZeluff 42.... " 5.
Andrew Vreeland 42 5 .
Andrew J. McBride 31 " 5.
Charles F. Hopper 40. . . . " 5
136 PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT.
Krine Overbeds 36. . . .June 21, 1886 5 8
John McKelvej 32 ... . " 5 8
Alexander Masterton 32 ■' 5 8
John Parkinson 34.... " 5 8
George Halstead 33 " 5 8
JohnRomery 32... " 5 8
John Taylor 29 . . . " 5 8
James Mullen 33. ... " 5 8
John Mullen 41.... " 5... .8
JohnCostello 40.... " 5 8
Frank Whitta 43 ... . " 5 8
Edward Nolen 34.... July 18, 1887 4 7
Frank Zimmer 33 " 4 7
Howard Gall 33....
Wm. H. Adams 44
Charles Titus 36....
John D. Garrison 37. . .July 1, 1891 . . .
Wm. H.Lord 30.. .
Henry O'Brien 23....
George Cox 32....
Adolph Keppler 28 "
Nelson Graham 38 "
John Draper 26. . . . Sept. 1, 1891 . .
Charles Robinson 28 "
JohnH. Hurd 38.. .
James Miller 44... " . ...
John Stewart .. . 42....
Wm. E. Perry 28....
John Fielding 33....
John Campbell 32 ... .
Daniel Dermond 34 ... . "
Charles Boyle 32 . . . .Dec. 1, 1891 . .
. . . 7
. . 5
PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT.
Thomas J. McGrath 30. . . .Dec. 27, 1881
James Dougherty 26. . . .Mar. 1, 1892.
Hemy Titus 44.
James Kehoe 26 .
Frank Sweetman 24 .
Total 88 men
Amount of Pay Rolls.
.$ 5,626 24 For Sept., 1891.
' ' June
Total pay rolls $73,
Incidental expenditures 4,
Total expenditures $78,374 84
NUMBER OF ARRESTS MADE BY MONTHS.
For March, 1891.
" April "
" May ' '
* ' June ' '
' ' Nov.
' ' Dec.
Police Officials, Their Records and Services — The Executive Heads of
the Department— They. Are Men of Integrity and Experience,
Who Have the Interest of the Public Welfare at Heart.
lflTAYOR Thomas Beveridge was born in Oneida county,
^ New York, in 1840, where he received his early edu-
cation. At the age of eighteen he left home and all his
boyhood associates to try his fortune in the west. This was
in 1858, and after knocking about the country for two years
working on the farms of Michigan and other states, then
mostly inhabited by Indians, he concluded there was no
place like home and returned to New York state, where his
folks were then living. When the war broke out in 1861
he enlisted in Company F, Twenty-sixth New York Volun-
teers. During the war he saw considerable active service,,
was wounded at the second battle of Bull Run, and was
discharged shortly afterward, having won many laurels as a
brave and valiant sergeant in the company in which he
served. He was an able-bodied young man, noted among
his companions for bravery and self-possession. At the
close of the war he made his home in Brooklyn for a while,,
where he cast his first vote for President Lincoln, who was
then running for a second term. The mayor, in speaking
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 130
of the incident, says he will never forget standing in line
for two hours while waiting his turn to cast a ballot for
" Old Abe." This incident, coupled with the fact that it
was on the 15th day of April, 1865, the day after Lincoln
was assassinated, when Mr. Beveridge came to Paterson,
fixes Lincoln and his eventful life indelibly in his memory.
His father, the late Thomas Beveridge, came to this city
in 1863 and engaged extensively in the lumber business.
The mayor joined his parents here a few years afterward
and found employment with his father, whom he assisted
for nine years. The elder Beveridge did a business of
$250,000 a year. In the spring of '76 Thomas left his
father, to embark in the coal business on his own responsi-
bility. He located in Barclay street, where he has remained
ever since, and now does a business of $50,000 yearly. As
a business man he has made life a success. The strong
Scotch nature, perseverance and endurance which he inher-
ited from his father's side, has never deserted him in the
most trying times. He is a man of remarkable vitality and
constitutional vigor, and finds mental and manual labor alike
easy. Being of a strong social nature, he seeks for com-
panions among those who are generally considered foremost
in business and political life. He is a self-made man in the
full sense of the word, and so well balanced mentally that
he can readily conform to any position, whether in business
or politics. As a speaker he is slow and deliberate, a man
of few words, never putting two where one will do, as his
acceptance of the mayoralty nomination will show :
" Gentlemen of the convention, I feel highly honored by
14:0 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
your nomination, coming as it does, unsolicited. If elected
I shall endeavor to perform the duties of the office to the
best of my ability and the satisfaction of the people."
Commissioner Frank Van Cleve was born in the city
of New York on January 24, 1853, and obtained his educa-
tion in the public schools of the metropolis and the Free
Academy, at present the Free College of the City of New
York, graduated with honor at the latter institution. In
1869 he removed with his parents to Corona, a village near
Hackensack, in Bergen county, N. J. Here he was ticket
agent for the New York and New Jersey Railroad Com-
pany, and made himself useful on his father's farm. In
June, 1875, he removed to Paterson where he entered the
law office of Mr. John C. Paulison, he was admitted to the
practice of the law in 1879, and Mr. Paulison dying shortly
afterwards Mr. Van Cleve succeeded to his practice which
he has since considerably increased. In April, 1886, lie was
appointed judge of the district court by Governor Green
and served until January of the year following when a leg-
islature differing from him in politics declined to re-appoint
him. There are a number of sterling qualifications which
have made Mr. Van Cleve one of the most popular men in
the city. He is possessed of a genial good humor which is
unruffled under the most adverse circumstances and this
combined with his ready Avit not only enlivens his conversa-
tion but also assists him materially in the exercise of his
profession. He is gifted with legal acumen and a persua-
sive style of pleading which win him many cases and clients,
and all who have ever had any dealings with him, know
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 141
that he can be depended upon under all circumstances. lit;
was appointed police justice by Governor Abbott in 1892,
for a term of five years and is now holding the position.
Commissioner John Macdonald was born at Philadel-
phia, Pa., April 16th, 1848 : a resident of Paterson from
1854 until 1858 and from 1865 until the present time.
When sixteen years old he enlisted for one hundred days in
the 84th Regiment, K G. S. K Y., Colonel Conklin,
After his discharge he re-enlisted for three years, or during
the war, in 95th Kegiment, N". Y. V. V. and was honorably
discharged at the close of the war, having seen active ser-
vice in front of Petersburgh, and taking part in the closing
services that led up to the surrender of Lee's army, at Ap-
pomattox court house. In 1870 he joined Protective En-
gine Co., No. 5, of the Volunteer Fire Department of this
city and was chosen secretary, assistant foreman and fore-
man of the company. In 1879 his company placed him in
nomination before the Fire Department for the office of
chief engineer, but he was defeated, the successful candi-
date at that time was B. Piley.
In 1883 his company, still true to him, once more made
him their choice and the department ratified the choice by
electing him without opposition. In 1888 he was elected
alderman of the Third ward on the Kepublican ticket. In
1890 he was re-elected, the Democrats of the ward refusing
to run a ticket against him. In 1890 at the organization of
the board of aldermen he was elected president. In 1892,
appointed police commissioner for one year; has been em-
ployed with Andrew, McLean & Co. during the past 25
142 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
years, and is now foreman in their weaving department at
Passaic, N. J.
Chief of Police Frederick G. Graul was born in Ger-
many on Sept. 1st, 1840. His parents emigrated to this
country when he was about nine years old, and settled in
this city. He attended the public schools for several terms,
and then was put to work in the mill. He worked at va-
rious occupations until the Civil war broke out when he en-
listed on Sept. 17, 1861, in Company G, 7th Regiment, N".
J. V., for three years. He participated in the siege of
Yorktown, battle of Williamsburgh, Fair Oaks, Seven
Pines, seven days' fight before Richmond, Bristo Station,
second Bull Run, Fredericksburgh and Chancellorsville, Va.
He was wounded at the last mentioned battle in the elbow
of his right arm by a rifle ball. He participated in many
small skirmishes which took place, and was taken prisoner
in 1>he seven days' fight before Richmond with four of his
comrades. He was a prisoner for about six weeks, spending
two weeks in tobacco warehouse No. three on Main street,
Richmond, and the remaining four weeks on Belle Island,
in the James River. At the end of that time he was ex-
changed and rejoined his regiment at Harrison's Landing,
on James river. He was discharged Oct. 7th, 1864, at
Trenton, K J. He was appointed on the police force of
this city July 16th, 1866, being one of ten men who were
then appointed in organizing the first police force of this
city. The ten men so appointed entered upon active duty
Aug. 1st, 1866. He attended strictly to the business of that
office, for which he was rewarded by promotion from time
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 143
to time. His first promotion was given him by the city
marshal, who was then chief of police, who made him tem-
porary roundsman on Feb. 19th, 1867. He was made per-
manent roundsman on May 20th, 1867 by the board of al-
dermen. He was promoted to sergeant Sept. 12th, 1870;
promoted to captain April 7th, 1873, and was nominated for
chief of police by Mayor Benjamin Buckley, on April 3d,
1876, and received the unanimous vote of the board of al-
dermen for that appointment.
He has made many important arrests at various times.
His first experience with criminals commenced on the night
of Aug. 3d, 1866. It was the third night of active duty as
a police officer. He had been detailed, with another officer
named Henry Jones, to patrol that part of the city lying
east from Carroll street, which was a suburban part of the
city at that time, and which was known as the burglarized
district on account of there having been numerous burglaries
committed there previous to that time. Their instructions
were to watch all the better class houses in that vicinity and
endeavor to capture the thieves who were operating. They
spent the greater part of their time near the corner of East
Eighteenth street and Broadway. Jones had provided him-
self with a revolver, handcuffs and club ; Graul had no
revolver or handcuffs, but simply carried a small.billet of
wood. About midnight, on the third night of their watch,
they discovered two men prowling around the house of A.
B. Grant, situated on the south-east corner of East Eigh-
teenth street and Broadway. Their actions indicated that
they were burglars, intent on burlarizing that house. Graul
144 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
and Jones tried to conceal themselves behind a rail fence on
the opposite side of the street. The burglars, however,
discovered the officers and endeavored to make their escape.
One of them, the smaller man of the two, ran down Broad-
way toward the city, while the other, a very large and
powerfully built man, remained standing in the middle of
the road. Graul gave chase after the man down Broadway
and after a short run captured him, placed him under arrest,
and took him back to where Jones and the large man were
standing. When he got within about one hundred feet of
them, Jones left his man standing in the road and came and
met Graul and his man. Jones took out his handcuffs and
placed them on Graul' s prisoner. Just then Jones' man
started on a run out Broadway toward the country. Graul
drew Jones' attention to it by saying : "Jones, there goes
your man." Jones replied, "go and catch him." Sooner
than let the man get away Graul again gave chase and ran
the man down. The fellow, when he saw that Graul was
close behind him, dropped on his hands and knees, thinking
no doubt that the officer would fall over him. He was dis-
appointed in this, however, as Graul had taken the precau-
tion not to run right behind him, but a little to one side,
and consequently when the man dropped Graul ran a few
paces past him and turned to arrest him. ' The fellow was
prepared for desperate work, and when he saw he had his
match before him he opened tire from a large-sized Smith
& Wesson revolver. Graul being unarmed had to resort to
main force to subdue and capture the man. He therefore
sprang at him and grappled to gain possession of the
Michael Keeff, Second Sergeant
John McBride, Fourth Sergeant.
Henry Barclay, First Sergeant.
IlKHiKAPHICAL SKETCHES. 145
burglars' weapon. During the struggle that ensued the
weapon was discharged again. (Irani then f ought for the
hand the burglar had the revolver in, and succeeded in get-
ting hold of the weapon. The burglar fought with desper-
ation, but when Graul had hold of the weapon he began
using his stick on the burglar's head. The burglar cried
"murder" and broke away and ran into the bushes, which
were thick on both sides of the road. Graul ordered him
to stop, and on his failing to do so the officer fired two shots
at him, one of which took effect in the muscle of his right
arm. Graul followed him into the bushes but could not
find him. Jones, in the meantime, stood in the place where
Graul left him, and made no effort to come and assist. He
knew Graul had no revolver ; he heard all that was going
on ; he heard the shots fired and knew it could not be his
brother officer who was doing the firing, yet he was too
cowardly to come near. This burglar made his escape that
night but was arrested two days later at his house on Second
avenue, in New York city, through information obtained
from his partner. About thirty-six bills of indictment for
burglary were found in this and Bergen county. They
were tried and convicted on a number of those indictments,
and were sentenced to twenty-seven years in state prison at
Trenton. The names of this pair of thieves were Peter
Reinhardt and Gustave Dorflinger. Bernhardt was a small-
sized man and very cunning. Dorflinger was a very pow-
erfully built man, and very desperate. He was a native of
Switzerland and was about thirty-four years of age. His
face, arms and body were covered with large scars. He
146 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
escaped from the Trenton state prison in 1873, with tive
other convicts, and was recaptured a few days after the
escape in Baltimore, Md., after having committed a burg-
lary there. He was returned to Trenton prison and
remained until the winter of 1885. He was then pardoned
by the Court of Pardons, through the appeals made to the
court by his relatives. He immediately went to Philadel-
phia and joined a gang of thieves known as the Fern wood
gang. He was arrested, with other members of the gang,
by Captain Quirk, Lieut. Beal, Detective Bond and Don-
oughy, of the Philadelphia Police Department, on March
15th, 1886, and gave them his name as Christopher Copaz.
The gang was taken to Media, Delaware Co., Pa., where
they had been operating. He was convicted of burglary
and, on June 11th, 1886, received sentence of ten years in
the Eastern penitentiary of Pennsylvania. Among those
who escaped with Dorflinger from the Trenton prison in
1873 was one Charles Gray, alias Champagne Charlie, a
five-year convict sent from this city. Chief Graul found
him in Middletown, X. Y., and returned him to Trenton
prison. Among the many arrests made by Chief Graul is
one which he frequently refers to as being one in which he
took desperate chances to prevent his prisoner from escape-
ing. This was a case where a notorious thief named
Charles Conklin had robbed his employer of three hundred
dollars and fled. The case was placed in Chief Graul's
charge to look after, he being captain of police at that time.
He could get no clue as to where Conklin had gone ; he
knew, however, that Conklin was well acquainted in some
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 147
of the small North River towns. He consequently started
out to make search for him in that direction. On Feb.
18th, 1875, his first place to make search was Haverstraw,
N. Y. lie immediately upon his arrival there learned that
Conklin was stopping at an hotel there, but had gone out
sleigh riding with a friend and two girls, but he could not
ascertain what direction they had gone in. He obtained the
services of a constable of Haverstraw, and he recommended
that they hire a team and go hunting the country hotels for
them. This plan was adopted and the man w T ho furnished
and drove the team guaranteed that he would find Conklin
or he would make no charge. They drove many miles and
visited many country hotels until at midnight they drove
under the shed of Knapp's hotel at Clarksville and there found
the team that Conklin had hired. Graul went into the bar
room of the hotel and arrested him. Conklin laughed and
said, "I am in JSTew York State and you have no business
here." Graul replied, he would not be in that state long,
and proceeded to take Conklin outside and place him in the
sleigh. Conklin asked to be allowed to get his things
which were in the upper part of the house. He went up
with Conklin and the women of the house and the crowd
in the bar room followed. As soon as Conklin got into the
room, he refused to go and began to show fight. The pro-
prietors of the hotel urged the crowd not to allow Conklin
to be taken, and some move was made by the crowd to
force themselves into the room. Graul, seeing that he had
to resort to desperate means, pulled his revolver and cleared
the room, and handcuffed Conklin. He placed him in the
148 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
sleigh and took him to the house of the constable at Haver-
straw, and waited to take the first train in the morning.
Conklin first refused to come out of New York state
without a requisition, but finally consented to ''come pro-
vided Graul did not handcuff him. This was agreed to,
and Graul left Haverstraw with his prisoner on the first
train on the New York and New Jersey railroad. When
they had gone for some distance, Conklin became sick and
wanted to go to the closet. Chief Graul went with him
and remained at the door with it partly open. Conklin was
inside watching his chance to close the door entirely. He
succeeded in doing this eventually, the catch being on the
inside. Graul could not open it. Conklin opened the
window and dropped on the frozen snow. He rolled over
several times and came near getting under the wheels.
Graul stepped out on the platform of the cars just in time
to see Conklin pick himself up and start off on a run. The
train was running at the rate of about twenty miles an hour
occording to Conductor Ball's judgment. When the officer
saw Conklin pick himself up and run, he swung his body
off from both hand rails and jumped, and slid on the snow
for some distance. He threw off his heavy overcoat and
went in pursuit of Conklin over the frozen snow. He
caught him again after a chase of about five hundred yards.
The train had gone on and Graul had to walk his prisoner
to the next station, which was Hillsdale. He arrived home
with his prisoner all right, and in due time sent him to
Trenton for three years.
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 149
Chief Gran] lias always showed great activity as a police
officer. He has brought fugitives from many places outside
of this state, namely, Pittsburg, Philadelphia, Reading and
Allentown, Pa., Holyoke and Springfield, Mass., Port Jer-
vis, Middletown, Goshen, Brooklyn, Yonkers and New
York city. He entered the service at the age of twenty-six
and is now in his fifty-third year.
Thomas C. Simonton, Jr. was born in the city of New
York, but before he was a year old his parents removed to
Patersdn, and he has resided here ever since. In 1874 he
entered the office of Hon. G. A. Hobart as a law student,
and in June of 1877, he was admitted to the bar of Xew
Jersey as an attorney ; in June, 1880, after the expiration of
the necessary three years of additional study, he was ad-
mitted as a counsellor at law of the state. Mr. Simonton is
also an attorney and counsellor at law of the state of New
York, and at times practices law there. In 1887 he was ap-
pointed city counsel of Paterson for one year, and in 1888
was re-appointed to the same office for a period of five
years. He is an active member of the Republican party.
Mr. Simonton has a fine law practice and that combined
with his office as city counsel, makes him an extremely busy
State Senator John Hinchliffe has effected much for
the Police and Fire departments in the way of important
and needful legislative enactments, looking towards the im-
provement of these organizations. He is the steady friend
of these and all other public interests in Paterson, which
come under his official cognizance.
150 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES.
Senator Hinchliffe was born in New York city, May
19th, 1850, and has resided in Paterson since he was one
year old. He is president of the Hinchliffe Brewing and
Malting company of Paterson. He was educated in the
public schools. He was a member of the board of educa-
tion of Paterson from 1875 to 18^7, and a commissioner
of taxes and assessments for two terms, from 1877 to 1881,
and was president of the board during his last term.
James C. Siglek was born Sept. 1st, 1848, in the city
of New York, but became a resident of Paterson three
months later where he has always resided at the one place,
21 Washington street, in the Third ward. He has always
been identified with the political fortunes of the Demo-
cratic party. He was a member of the first county board
of registration and was reappointed for the second term.
He \p at present business manager of the Paterson Daily
Guardian, the oldest paper in Passaic county and the only
Democratic daily paper in the city. He has been employed
on this paper, on and off, for 33 years, filling every position
from newsboy to his present responsible position. He was
appointed a member of the police commission at the forma-
tion of the board in March, 1892.
Police Commissioner William Ryan was born in Pat-
erson, N. J., fifty years ago. When a boy he received an
ordinary school education and afterward learned the trade
of carriage painter. He worked in the locomotive works
for a time, painting the cabs and tenders of locomotives.
He afterward engaged in the carriage-painting business for
himself and established a large, remunerative business by
GENERAL KULES, POLICE DEPARTMENT.
How the Force is Governed and Disciplined — Their Duties Defined —
A Formidable Machine That is Controlled with the Simplicity and
Regularity of Clock-work.
^\NE. Each and every member of the police force shall
devote his whole time and attention to the duties of
his office, and is expressly prohibited from following any
other calling, or being employed in any other business.
Although certain hours may be allotted to the respective
members for the performance of duty on ordinary occa-
sions, yet at all times they must be prepared to act imme-
diately on notice that their services are required.
2. Punctual attendance, prompt obedience to orders,
and conformity to the rules of the department, w r ill be
3. Each and every member in his conduct and deport-
ment must be quiet, civil and orderly ; in the performance
of his duty, he must maintain decorum and attention, com-
mand of temper, patience and discretion ; he must at all
times refrain from harsh, violent, coarse, profane, or inso-
lent language, yet at the same time, when required, act
with firmness and sufficient energy to perform his duty.
4. No member of the department shall, in the station-
house or elsewdiere while on duty, drink any kind of liquor,
152 GENEBAL RULES.
or smoke, or (except in the immediate performance of his
duty) enter any place in which any kind of intooaicating
drmk may be sold or furnished. No liquor, or any intoxi-
cating drink, shall, upon any pretext, be introduced into the
station-house, except as advised by a physician ; nor shall
smoking by any member of the force be allowed at any
time in the station-house.
5. No member of the police force shall receive or
share in, for his own benefit, any present, fee, gift or emol-
ument for police service other than the regular salary,
except by consent of the police committee ; nor shall any
such member receive or share in any fee, gift or reward
from any person who may become bail for the appearance
of any arrested, accused or convicted person, or who may
become surety for any such person on appeal from the
judgment or decision of any court or magistrate, or any fee,
gift or reward in any case, from any attorney-at-law who
may prosecute or defend any person arrested or prosecuted
for any offense within the county of Passaic ; but policemen
may receive to their own use their ordinary fees as wit-
nesses, when entitled thereto, on subpoenas, except in the
6. No member of the department will be permitted to
apply for a warrant in any court, or make a complaint for
damages, or adjust the same, unless he shall have received
permission from the chief of police.
7. No member shall compound any offence against the
law, or withdraw any complaint.
Adam Hargreaves, 5th Sergeant.
Jas. Hewitt, 3d Sergeant.
John Riker, 7th Sergeant.
Mathew McGirr, 6th Sergeant.
GENERAL RULES. L53
8. No member shall communicate to any person any
information which may enable persons to escape from ar-
rest or punishment, or to dispose of or secrete any goods or
other valuable things stolen or embezzled.
9. No member shall communicate, except to such per-
sons as directed by his superior in office, any information
respecting orders he may have received, or any regulation
that may be made for the government of the department.
10. Each member shall at all times have with him a
small book in which he shall enter the names of persons
taken in charge by him, and such particulars in each case as
may be important in the trial thereof.
11. The chief of police and captain, sergeants and pa-
trolmen when on duty shall wear the shield on the outside
of the outermost garment, over the left breast.
12. Policemen shall at all times, and on all occasions
when on duty, conspicuously display their shields so that
the entire surface of the same may be easily and distinctly
13. Any persons who shall be arrested shall be taken
immediately before the recorder, or to the station-house;
and the officer making the arrest shall report to the officer
in charge the name of the party arrested, and the cause and
time of the arrest.
14. The night policemen, when off duty, in case of
fire shall immediately repair to such fire, and report to the
chief of police, or in his absence, to the senior officer pres-
ent ; and on occasions of fires, riots, or emergencies when
the reserve force has been on active duty, the officer in
154 GENERAL RULES.
charge, immediately on their return to the station-house,
shall call the roll, to ascertain who, if any, have been absent.
15. Members of the police force must be civil and re-
spectful to each other on all occasions. Courtesy in the in-
tercourse between officers and members of the force pro-
motes discipline, and tends to produce mutual respect. A
patrolman on meeting or passing a superior officer shall sa-
lute him in the manner prescribed for "Officer's Salute" in
Upton's Military Tactics. It is the duty of the subordinate
to offer ji/rst the prescribed salutation, and of the superior
to return it. Men in the ranks will not salute unless or-
dered to do so by the officer in command. Members of the
force on duty in citizen's dress are not required to salute.
16. They must not render any assistance in civil cases,
except to prevent an immediate breach of the peace, or to
quell disturbance actually commenced.
17s Every member of the force will be furnished with
a copy of the rules and regulations, which they will keep in
their possession, in order to become perfectly familiar with
their respective duties.
18. All members of the force who find horses or cattle
astray, must report the same to the officer in charge at the
station-house, who will cause the same to be taken to the
19. Members of the department when suspended, or
on resigning, will immediately surrender their book of
rules and regulations, their shield, wreath and other insignia
of office in their possession, to the chief of police.
which he accumulated considerable property. He always
took an active part in politics, being a staunch Democrat
and a liberal contributor. He was elected five times for
two-year terms to represent the Seventh ward in the board
of aldermen. He was appointed a police commissioner in
March, 1892, and was chosen the first president of the board
of police commissioners. He has been an energetic worker
in all positions of public trust, and always enjoyed the con-
fidence of his constituents.
John F. Lee was born at Carbondale in the state of
Pennsylvania, in the year 1859. He came to Paterson
with his parents when two years of age, and has resided
here ever since. After receiving the usual public school
education he entered the employ of Hamil & Booth and
remained in their employ until he was twenty years of age.
After leaving the silk business Mr. Lee entered the employ
of the Prudential Life Insurance Co. He acted as agent
for the company for about seven years, when he was pro-
moted to the position of assistant superintendent. He
retained this position for two years, when he left the
employ of the Prudential Co. to engage in the business of
real estate and insurance agent, in which business he has
been engaged continuously ever since. Mr. Lee has been
successful in the real estate and insurance business. He has
always been a staunch Democrat, and in the year 1889 he
was elected on the Democratic ticket as a justice of the
peace to represent the seventh ward. Mr. Lee has always
been identified with the C. Y. M. L. A. the most successful
Catholic association in the city of Paterson, and for the past
two years lias been its president. Mr. Lee was appointed
clerk of the police court and also clerk of the board of
police commissioners in March, 1892.
QENERAX BULBS. 155
20. No member of the department shall leave the city
or be absent from duty, without permission from the chief
21. Unless in cases of sickness contracted while on the
police force and so certified by the city physician, absence
from duty of any member thereof, without due leave, shall
be considered cause for removal or forfeiture of pay for the
time absent, as the board of aldermen in the first case, or
the committee on police in the second case, may determine.
22. In case of the sickness of any member of the po-
lice force, and his inability thereby to be on duty, lie shall
at the earliest possible moment notify the chief of police
thereof, procure a certificate from a reputable physician of
the city of Paterson, or deliver to the chief of police a
sworn statement of his illness.
23. Every member when entering on duty must be
neat in his person, with his clothes and boots clean, and his
dress in conformity with the regulations.
24. No policeman shall connect himself with any so-
ciety, club, committee, or organization of any kind, the ob-
ject of which is the political advancement of any political
party, clique or individual, or be a member of any fire or
25. No member of the department will be allowed to
receive any complimentary subscription or gift, whether
tendered by citizens or any member of the police force.
26. No member of the department shall be permitted
to solicit or make any contributions in money or other thing,
156 GENERAL RULES.
on any pretext, to any person, committee or association, for
any political purpose whatever.
27. Chief of police. — The chief of police shall keep
an account of all property, money or valuables stolen and
that may come to his possession, in whose possession the
same is found, and when reclaimed shall take a receipt
under said account of all such property reclaimed, and if
the same is not reclaimed in three months, shall turn the
same over to the mayor, to be by him disposed of as the
board of aldermen may direct.
28. The chief of police shall, at the first regular meet-
ing in every month, report to the board of aldermen the
number of arrests made during the month previous thereto,
Ijv whom such arrests were made, the nature of the offence,
and any other matter pertaining to his office, which he may
deem proper to report upon. He shall also render a full
report.' in writing, of the duties of his office for the pre-
ceding year, at each annual meeting of the board of
29. The chief of police shall keep a book, wherein
shall be entered the name and residence of each policeman ;
also a roll showing the time of night each policeman shall
go on duty, the beat on which he is stationed, and his hours
of actual duty; and shall note the absentees -at each roll-call.
30. The chief of police shall keep in his office a book
in which shall be entered the name of every person com-
plained of for violation of the city ordinances, the nature
of the complaint, and the name and residence of the com-
plainant in each case, and shall make a report thereof to the
GBNBBAL RULES. I 5 i
committee on police as often as they shall require, and to
the board of aldermen once a month.
31. The chief of police shall designate the day and
night posts in each ward, and the policemen who are to pa-
trol the same.
32. It shall be the duty of the chief to repair in person
to all serious or extensive fires, to all riots or tumultuous
assemblages within the city, and take command of the po-
lice present ; to save and protect property, and to arrest
such persons as he may find disturbing the peace, or in-
citing so to do.
33. It shall be his duty to communicate to the city
physician the presence of any contagious or infectious dis-
ease, or the existence of any nuisance in the city, which
shall be detrimental to public health.
34. It shall be the duty of the chief to see that the
laws of the state and the ordinances of the city are duly en-
forced throughout the city, and it shall also be his duty to
instruct each member of the police force as to his duty
under the rules of the police department, the ordinances of
the city and the laws of the state ; and to see that each
member becomes familiar with said rules and ordinances,
and to report any delinquency in that respect to t 1 " 3 mayor
or the committee on police.
35. He shall keep a book in which shal 1 "l e recorded all
orders promulgated by him; he ;w°U post a copy of each
general order issued by himself on a bulletin in the assem-
bly room ; and he shall cause copies of the same to be fur-
158 GENERAL RULES.
nished to the committee on police from time to time as often
as they shall require.
36. He shall promptly report to the mayor each and
every case of dereliction of duty of any member of the de-
partment, which may in any way come to his knowledge,
and also all complaints made to, him against any member
37. All members of the police force shall be considered
to be always on duty, and shall appear in full uniform,
except when the mayor or commmittee on police shall deem
it proper to allow them to appear in citizen's dress.
38. Captain of Police. — During the illness or absence
of the chief of police, the captain of police shall execute
and discharge the duties of the office of chief of police, and
at all other times shall perform such duties as may be
39i He shall promptly report in writing to the chief of
police every case of dereliction of duty of any member of
the department, which report shall contain the name of the
person reported, and the nature of the offense or charge
-K>. Sergeants. — Each and every sergeant shall, if pos-
sible, ^p, each patrolman on his beat within his district,
without ca* |ng ; but should he not be able to find one, the
call will be given in thcvienter and on each extremity of the
beat, and if unable then to find the man he is in search of,
he will extend his search to the adjoining beats, until the
beat of the man absent is fully re-covered. He will report
GENERAL RULES. 159
to the chief of police the name of the man and the cause of
absence, if ascertained.
41. The sergeants must report to the officer in charge
at the station house every morning, before seven o'clock,
the time and place where they saw and conversed with the
patrolmen in their respective districts during the several
hours of patrol duty performed by them, and in what man-
ner they were occupied when so visited.
42. The sergeants' reports on the location of patrolmen
shall cover intervals of not more than two hours' time,
unless for satisfactory reasons ; and the sergeants shall make
oath before the recorder, on the first clay of each month, to
the correctness of their reports made daily during the pre-
43. The sergeants shall carefully note every case of
misconduct or neglect of duty of the patrolmen belonging
to their respective districts, and report the same to the
chief of police.
44. Patrolmen. — The prevention of crime being the
most important object in view, the patrolmen's exertions
must be constantly made to accomplish that end. They
must examine, and make themselves perfectly acquainted
with, every part of their respective beats, and vigilantly
watch every description of persons passing their respective
ways. They must, to the utmost of their power, prevent
the commission of assaults, breaches of the peace, and all
other crimes about to be committed.
45. They must, by their vigilance, render it extremely
difficult for anyone to commit crime in their respective
160 GENERAL RULES.
beats. The absence of crime will be considered tlie best
proof of the efficiency of the police, and when on any beat
offences frequently occur, there will be good reason to sup-
pose that there is negligence or want of ability on the part
of the person in charge of such beat.
46. They shall carefully inspect every part of their
respective beats, but the regularity of inspection hereby
enjoined shall not prevent any of them from remaining at
any particular place, if their presence be required ; and if
they so remain, they must satisfy their superior officer that
there was sufficient cause for their so doing.
47. They must at all times be able to furnish particular
information respecting the state of their respective beats.
48. They shall frequently, during the tour of patrol
duty, carefully examine, in the night time, all doors and
low windows of dwelling houses and stores in their respec-
tive 1 teats, to see that they are properly secured ; also areas
and area gates of the several houses within such beats.
49. They must, if possible, fix in their minds such
impressions as will enable them to recognize suspicious per-
sons whom they frequently meet in the streets at night, and
endeavor to ascertain their names and residences, and
communicate to their commanding officer all information
50. They shall strictly watch the conduct of all persons
of known bad character, and do so in such manner that it
will be evident to such parties that they are watched and
that certain detection must follow the attempt to commit
crime. They shall note the time in writing of the appear-
GENERAL RULES. 101
ance of any person of known bad character on their
respective beats, the attending circumstances, and the prem-
ises that sucli persons may enter, and report to the com-
51. They shall report to the chief of police all gamblers,
receivers of stolen property, or their suspicions that certain
persons are such.
52. When any person charges another with the com-
mission of a crime, and insists that the person charged shall
be taken into custody, the policeman shall require the
accuser, if unknown to him, to accompany him as a witness,
along with the accused, to the police station, and shall then
with as little delay as possible return to his beat and inspect
the same with great care, to see that no depredations have
been committed during his absence.
53. They shall carefully watch all disorderly houses, or
houses of ill fame, or houses which disorderly persons fre-
quent, within their respective beats, observe by whom they
are frequented and report their observations to their
54. They shall pay particular attention to all ale
houses, hotels, saloons or restaurants, which close at unusu-
ally late hours, and are kept open between twelve o'clock on
Saturday night and twelve o'clock on Sunday night, and
report the same to the chief of police.
55. They shall take particular notice of all hacks, cabs
or other vehicles at night which under any circumstances
excite their suspicions.
162 GENERAL RULES.
56. Neither of them shall leave his beat until regularly
relieved, unless it be for the purpose of taking a prisoner to
the station house, or to answer a call for assistance by a
police officer, or to make an arrest in view on the confines
of his beat, or to follow an offender to an adjoining beat for
the purpose of making an arrest.
57. They shall examine carefully all street lamps on
their respective beats, and report to their commanding offi-
cer all that may not be lighted at the proper time, are not
properly cleaned, or are in any way out of order.
58. If any of them shall observe in the street anything
likely to produce danger or public inconvenience, or any-
thing which seems irregular or offensive, they shall report
the same immediately on their return to the station house.
59. Each and every one of them shall give his name
and number to all persons who may require the same.
,60. They must not use the baton except in the most
urgent cases of self-defense.
61. Policemen must not walk together, or talk with
each other, or with any other person when they meet on the
confines or any other part of their beats, unless it be to com-
municate information appertaining to the department, and
such communication shall be as brief as possible.
62. They must constantly patrol their respective beats
while on duty, unless otherwise directed by the rules and
regulations of their commanding officer.
63. It will be deemed a neglect of duty on the part of
a policeman carelessly to lose his shield, emblem, or other
insignia of office, or neglect to fasten the same securely to
GENERAL RULES. 163
his person, or when lost not to report the same immediately
thereafter to the officer in command at the station house.
64. Umbrellas or walking canes are not to be used by
policemen while on duty.
65. Each policeman holds his office during good
behavior only. It is therefore especially enjoined upon
members of the department carefully to study and thor-
oughly understand the police rules, and to acquire a suffi-
cient knowledge of the laws and ordinances of the city to
enable them to discharge their respective duties.
6Q. Uniforms. — The full dress of the members of the
police force shall be of navy blue cloth, indigo dyed and all
wool, of the standard make and quality used by the New
York city police force.
67. The style of the dress shall be as follows : For the
officers : — A double-breasted frock coat ; waist to extend to
the top of the hips ; skirt within one inch of the bend of
the knee ; two rows of buttons on the breast, eight in each
row, placed equal distances from each other ; distance
between each row, five and a half inches a.t the top, three
and a half inches at the bottom ; rolling collar ; cuffs three
and a half inches deep, three small buttons on the under
seam ; two buttons on the hips, one button on the bottom of
each skirt pocket welt, two buttons intermediate, so that
there shall be six buttons on the back ; lining of the coat
black ; pantaloons plain ; vest single-breasted, with nine
buttons placed at equal distances from each other.
68. For the patrolmen : — Single-breasted frock coat ;.
rolling collar ; waist to extend to the top of the hip, skirt to
164 GENERAL RULES.
within one inch of the bend of the knee ; nine buttons on
the breast ; two buttons on the hips ; two buttons on the
bottom of each pocket, and three small buttons on the under
seam of the cuffs ; pantaloons to have white welt on the outer
seam ; vest single-breasted, with nine buttons placed at
equal distances from each other.
69. The summer dress shall consist of navy blue flannel
sack coat, and navy blue flannel pantaloons, indigo dyed and
all wool, of the standard make and quality known as the
Middlesex flannel. The style for the officers shall be
double-breasted coat, buttoned close up to the chin ; short
rolling collar ; two rows of buttons of five each on the
front ; coat to reach half way between the hip and knee ;
pantaloons to be without welt in the seam. The style of
this dress for the patrolmen shall be single-breasted sack,
buttoned close up to the chin, to reach half way between
the hip and knee ; four buttons on the front ; no pockets to
show on the outside ; pantaloons to be same as in winter.
70. The overcoat shall be of blue cloth, indigo-dyed,
double-breasted, rolling collar, waist to extend to one inch
below the hip, skirt to three inches below the bend of the
knees ; swell edge, stitched one-fourth of an inch from the
edge. The chief of police and the captain will have nine
police buttons on each breast, six on .back and skirt, and
three on the cuffs. Patrolmen will have nine police but-
tons on each breast, four on the back and skirt, and two on
the cuffs. All buttons on the breast of double-breasted
coats shall be placed in two rows, at a distance between
rows of seven inches at top and three and a half inches at
GENERAL RULES. 165
bottom, measured from centers, and in such manner as to
form, when the coat is buttoned, direct lines from top to
bottom. The material of the overcoat shall be of the
standard quality and make used by the New York city
71. The hats, caps, badges, buttons, batons, clubs, etc.,
shall be such as the committee on police may adopt, samples
of which shall be deposited in the office of the chief of
72. All officers when on active duty shall wear stand-
ing collars of sufficient depth to show one-fourth of an inch
above the coat collar, and black neck dressings. The day
patrol shall wear white gloves while on their posts. Coats
shall be worn buttoned at all times during active out door
duty, and the club or baton shall be habitually carried in
73. Station House Regulations. No person shall be
allowed to remain in the station house without express per-
mission from the officer in charge, except members of the
department and persons on business.
74. The officer in command at the police station house
shall enter in a book to be there kept for the purpose, the
name at full length of every person detained therein, the
time of his arrest, the offence with which he may be
charged, the name and residence of the complainant, and
the name of the officer or patrolman that arrested said
75. He shall also enter in a book to be kept at the said
station house an account of all property, money or other
166 GENERAL RULES.
valuable thing which may come into his possession, the
name and residence of the owner, if known, in whose pos-
session it was found, and by whom, and whether the same
was stolen or otherwise.
76. He shall transmit copies of the entries made pur-
suant to the two preceding rules to the chief of police every
morning at 9 o'clock, together with the time and cause of
taking said person into custody, and the names and resi-
dences of the witnesses.
77. There shall be kept at the station house, for the
use of the criminal authorities, under the direction of the
chief of police :
1st. A record of orders issued from his office.
2d. A record of suspicious persons and places in the
city of Paterson.
3d. A record of reported crimes and misdemeanors com-
mitted in the city of Paterson, for which no arrests have
been made at the time they are reported.
4th. A record of houses of prostitution, assignation
houses, gambling houses, and disorderly or disreputable
houses of every kind in the city of Paterson, with the
names of the owners and keepers thereof.
78. The members of the force shall assemble at the
station house for drill, according to Upton's Manual of Mil-
itary Tactics, in the "School of the Soldier" without arms,
whenever so ordered by the chief of police or as often as
in his judgment necessity requires.
"THE LYONS OF AMERICA."
What a Century Has Done for Paterson — Alexander Hamilton — The
"Society for Establishing Useful Manufactures."— The First
Cotton Mill— Business Development of the City— The Great Falls.
SKETCH OF THE OLD FIRE DEPARTMENT.
An Organization That Did Notable Service and Produced a Devoted
Body of Men — Their Services Briefly Reviewed — Introduction of
the Steam Engine — Some Big Fires 12
CHIEFS AND ASSISTANT ENGINEERS.
Past and Present Department Commanders — A Roster of "Well-known
Names — Date of Appointment and Term of Service 23
ENGINE AND HOSE COMPANY SKETCHES.
When Organized and Where Located— The Goose-neck and Piano-box
Engines— The Amoskeag — The Silsby — Modern Apparatus— Hose
and Hook and Ladder Companies 28
A CITY ORDINANCE, 1875.
Providing for the Regulation, Management and Government of the
Department — Elections, How Conducted — Officers and Elections —
Duties and Responsibilities 36
DIGEST OF SOME ANNUAL REPORTS.
Views of the Mayor and Chief Engineer — Looking toward a Paid Fire
Department — Recommending the Purchase of a Steam Fire En-
gine — The Last Hand Engine 39
DISAPPEARANCE OF THE HAND ENGINE.
Employment of Horses for Moving of Engines — Improved Steam Ap-
paratus — Membership of the Department — Fire and Alarms —
Chief Stagg Complimented 44
A PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT.
The Volunteers Are Succeeded by the Present System — Radical
Changes — Increased Expenditures — Efficiency of the Service
Increased — Modern Methods and Scientific Appliances 50
PRESENT STATUS OF THE DEPARTMENT.
Officers— Apparatus— Engine, Truck and Hose Companies— The Men
and Their Work — How the Companies Are Manned and Officered
— Valiant Fire Fighters 59
THE BENEVOLENT ASSOCIATION.
Its Organization and Reorganization — Past and Present Officers-
Its Beneficiary Features — Widows and Orphans — Rules and
THE EXEMPT ASSOCIATION.
The Plan of Organization— Permanent Officers— Fair at Washington
Hall— Installed in Its New House— Present Affairs of the Associa-
tion—A Burial Clause Inserted in the By-Laws 68 *
Some of the Officers of the Old and New Departments Who Have
Made Fire History— Chief Stagg and His Staff— Exempt Veteran
Firemen Whose Names Are Household Words 72
RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE FIRE DEPARTMENT.
Fire Department Officials— Qualifications of Members— Pay of the
Force — Badges and Uniforms — Insignia of Office — Fire Alarm
Telegraph — Burial Fund Association 83
ORGANIZATION OF THE POLICE FORCE.
A Record of Police Protection Written by Chief Graul— Some Excit-
ing and Interesting Episodes Officially Related— The Force Up to
THE AMENDED CHARTER.
An Oath of Affirmation — The Mayor to Appoint All Policemen, Sub-
ject to the Confirmation of the Board of Aldermen — A Chief of
Police — A Day and Night Police Force — Their Duties and Com-
pensation — Chief, Captain, Sergeants and Patrolmen — Uniform
and Badges — Salary Ill
AN EXCELLENT POLICE FORCE.
Summary of Events Compiled from Annual Reports — Distribution of
the Force — Additional Men Appointed — A Mountain Tragedy. .115
CHANGES IN THE DEPARTMENT.
Homicides, Check Forgers, and Rioting — Thieves from Other Cities-
— Total Number of Arrests — Several Serious Shooting Affrays —
A Terrible Explosion 122
PRESENT POLICE FORCE EXHIBIT.
The Most Horrible Murder Ever Committed in Paterson. — Many Petty
Thefts. — Necessity of a Patrol Wagon. — Laws Concerning the
Sale and Regulation of the Liquor Traffic. — Roster of the Depart-
Police Officials, Their Records and Services — The Executive Heads of
the Department— They Are Men of Integrity and Experience,
Who Have the Interest of the Public Welfare at Heart . . . .138
GENEBAL RULES, POLICE DEPARTMENT.
How the Force is Governed and Disciplined — Their Duties Defined —
A Formidable Machine That is Controlled with the Simplicity and
Regularity of Clock-work 151
A D VER 7 'I SEME A ' 7 'S
" CRESCENT MILLS," Cliff St.
"ALBION MILLS," Madison St.
THE LARGEST ALL-SILK RIBBON
Paterson, N. J,
A D VER TI SEMEN TS
Louis F\ Liotard,
SUCCESSOR TO A. LIOTARD,
id Importer of
REEDS AND HARNESS.
SUCCESSOR TO A. LIOTARD,
Manufacturer and Importer of
all kinds of
SOLE AGENT FOR CHAISE FRERES'
PATENT BRAIDED HEDDLES. ° U ancl 5 ^ -b^SSex fc>t.
Paterson, N. J.
Telephone No. 387.
Pelgram & Meyer,
Silks, Ribbons, Etc.
, Factories at Paterson, N. J., Boonton, N. J.,
and Harrisburg, Pa.
SALESROOM, 58 k 60 GREENE ST., NEW YORK.
P. O. Box 808.
J. ATKINSON & CO.,
BUbblNu, UiUULu, LIU., Used in Manufacturing.
Job Turning done of All Kinds.
95, 97 and 99 RIVER STREET, - - PATERSON, N. J.
(Near Main Street Bridge.)
A D VEK TI SEMEN TS
WM. H. DUNKERLY,
Cotton, Woolen, Flax and Silk Machinery,
FLUTING ROLLERS OF E VERY DESCRIPTION.
Special: Patent Reels and Patent Doublers.
Dealers in New and Second-Hand Machinery; Engines, Boilers, Steam
Pumps, Injectors, Shafting, Pulleys, Hangers, etc.
COR. SPRUCE AND GRAND STS., PATERSON, N. J.
Doherty & Wadsworth,
PATERSON, N. J.
John C. Ryle % — g) ^J f -^^M^s - * U - (g — I George G. Tillotson.
JOHN C. RYLE & CO.,
OF TRAM, ORGANZ1NE, ETC.
PATERSON, N. J.
107 Washington St.
AD VER Tl SEMEN TS
ESTATE OF GEORGE BARNES, 3
Oil of Vitriol,
Pyroligneous Acid, Acetic Acid
Red Liquor, Iron Liquor, Nitrate of Iron, Bi-Chloride Tin,
Muriates of Iron, Tin, Antimony, &c.
PATERSON, N. J.
Passaic Silk Works.
PATERSON, N. J.
JAMES JACKSON & SONS,
Jacquard Machines and Compass Boards, Specialties.
VELVETS AND VELVETEENS IN THE GRAY, DYED AND FINISHED.
18 & 20 Albion Avenie, Paterson, N. J.
W. M. INGL1S. A. D. VREELAND.
Inglis & Co.
Commission SlLK THROWSTERS
Paterson, N. J.
The Phoenix Silk Mdnutoturing Go.
PATERSON, N. J.,
20-26 GREENE STREET, NEW YORK.
PHOENIX MILLS, Paterson, N. J.
ADELAIDE MILLS, Allentown, Pa.
TILT SILK MILL, Pottsville, Pa.
ALBERT TILT, President.
JOS. W. CONGDON, Vice-President.
JNO. R. CURRAN, Secretary.
JOHNSON , C0WD1N & CO.
Silk Ribbons, * * * *
Riverside, Paterson, N. J.
A D I r ER TI SEMEN TS
207 to 223 River St.
Our work being steady all the year round, and also of a quality to
give satisfaction, thus enabling us to increase our production, we
are in a position to. give employment to girls on sewing machines,
and to young men as ironers, at as good average pay as any mill
CHAS. L. AUGER, Prest. and Treas. CHARLES SIMON, Sec'y.
& « # #
The Auger \ Simon Silk Dyeing Go.
COLORS /> BLACKS
Paterson, N. J.
r^ ornforth & Marx,
PATERSON, N. J.
A D VER T I SEMEN TS
Standard Oil Company,
Refiners of Petroleum,
S. B. FARNUM,
PATERSON, N. J.
KEARNS BROS. SaS
Specialties : Weighted Blacks and Pure Dye
inzine and Tram Brights and Heavy Tram
Souples, and Fast Blacks and Colors for Velvets, Tailors'
Goods, etc. Works: Cor. Wood & Shady sts., Riverside,
Paterson, N. J. P. O. Box, No. 665.
LOCKWOOD BROS. & CO.,
I^TTDIMTTIIDC CARPETINGS, OILCLOTHS,
FUfxlNl 1 U JaE,, refrigerators, bedding,
Draperies and House Furnishing Goods in General.
11 CROSS STREET. ™
290, 292, 294 MAIN ST.
AD VER TISEMENTS
— <g>— ^ ESTABLISHED 1 87Q. 75=S^
J oseph At kinson & Son,
Wholesale Bakers * Flour Dealers
36 HAMBURGH AVENUE,
m PATERSON. N. J.
LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE ^jfe w. e. knipscher,
a 432 » I FRANK MAASS.
Knipscher & Ma ass
. HEAVY COLORED SOUPLES VAN HOUTEN
* AND FAST COLORS FOR JjJ AND MILL STS.,
* TAILORS' GOODS.
! r-T* EQUAL 7 ° ^ PATERSON, N.J.
30 CENTS A DAY SECURES A HOME,
ON THE INSTALLMENT PLAN IN THREE YEARS.
First-class Building Lots for sale cheap and on easy terms, on Main
and adjoining streets. Payment in Installments monthly, according to the
price of lots. Ten per cent. Will be allowed the purchaser who pavs all
cash. One payment of $20 on all lots purchased to be paid on the dav of
sale. A warranty deed will be given to all purchasers, thus guaranteeing
the property free from all incumbrances.
222 MAIN ST. Of the firm of Doremus & McKiernan. PATERSON, N. J.
A D VER TI SEMEN TS
C. W. INGLIS, President.
patogoq Lumber 1 and Wood Wooing Co.
DOORS, SASH, BLINDS, MOULDINGS, LUMBER, FRAMES, &c.
HARD & WOOD * WORK * A * SPECIALTY.
Railroad Avenue, Slater Street and Dale Avenue,
TELEPHONE 296. PATERSON, N.J.
Fine LINEN YARNS for Manufacturing Purposes.
Salesrooms: No. 218 Church Street,
"THRIFT &, SON,
AND DEALERS IN
SHINGLES, _ (J \\/\ ^ ^ R LATH, Ac.
424 STRAIGHT ST.,
All kinds of Mill Work to order. PAT EI R SO N , N.J.
AD VER TISEMENTS
JAMES VAN KIRK. A. H. KNAPP.
midland Coal Yard.
VAN KIRK & KNAPP,
WHOLESALE AND RETAIL DEALERS IN
LEHIGH and BITUMINOUS COAL.
Yard Cor. Broadway and East 18th St.,
TELEPHONE 221. P ATE RSON, N. J .
Marshall & Ball,
221 and 223 Main St.
OLDEST HOUSE IN THE BUSINESS.
AT established leas. °|^"~~ a *
(Successor to Chas. O'Neill.)
SmSJS COAL, LUMBER, BLUE STO NE <P BUILDING MATERIALS,
standard for quality. (Sj 9 II ^ 2 30 to 266 Mill Street.
LEHIGH COAL A SPECIALTY. \ Ijjfe TELEPHONE 191.
Ladders 6c. per foot and upwards.
AD VER TISEMENTS
10-20 GOVERNOR STREET,
* * * COMPLIMENTS OF * * *
PATERSON, N. J.
S. T. Zabriskie, Pres't. E. Phillips, Sec'y and Treas.
The Anderson Lumber Co,
Lumber, Goal and Masons' Materials,
PACKING GASES, HOUSE, TRIM, SCROLL SAWING AND TURNING.
Mill Yard and Docks Foot of Gregory Ave.,
PASSAIC, n. j.
AD VER TI SEMEN TS
PATERSON • IRON • CO.
-Iron § jSteel ^orgiiigs-
For Railways, Steamships, Sugar Mills, &c, Forged or Finished.
Office and Works: - PATERSON, N. J.
C. D. BECKWITH, President.
William T. Ryle, Pres. Arthur Ryle, Treas. William Strange, Vice-Pres.
Wm. M. Brock, Sec'y and General Manager.
Edison EktriG Illuminating Gompany,
PATERSON, N. J.
INCANDESCENT tP ARC LIGHTING.
Arc Lamps on Low Pressure, i. <?., Incandescent Current, a
New Feature. Can be turned on and off at all
hours by means of a switch, same as
PRICES FURNISHED UPON APPLICATION.
Chas. O. Brown, Pres't. G. Planten, Treas. ' W. G. A. Miller, Sec'y.
The Riverside Bridge & Iron Works,
Engineers * and * Bridge * Builders,
Railroad Bridges and Heavy Iron Structural Work
of Every Description.
WORKS AT NEW YORK OFFICE,
PATERSON, N. J. No. 18 BROADWAY.
WITH . . |\ I / \ SESL?'
\ II I ASHES,
HEIR USE M V J SggJv.
The : United : Gas : Improvement : Co.
Gas Office : 146 Ellison Street, Paterson, N. J.
J. S. ROGERS, Pres't,
JOHN HAVRON, Secy.
REUBEN WELLS, Supt
R. S. HUGHES, Treasurer, 4 4 Exchange Place, New York
The » Rogers «• Locomotive
and * Machine * Works,
NEW YORK OFFICE,
44 EXCHANGE PLACE.
GEO. SWIFT. Established 1844. T. E. SNYDER.
Geo. Swift & Co.
Successors to E. B. KING.
Stoves, Raphes apd fiot-flir purpace^,
PLDM'BERS, STEAM AND GAS FITTERS.
Tin, Copper and. Sheet Iron Workers,
ENGINEERS' SUPPLIES, ETC.
68 AND 70 VAN HOUTEN STREET, PATERSON N. J.
ADVER Tl SEMEN TS
America's Kamous Snow Plow
The Leslie Bros. Mfg. Co.
PATERSON, N. J.
Pattern Pine, Pine Lumber,
Spruce, Hemlock, N. C. Pine,
Cypress, Yellow Pine,
White Wood, Ash,
Oak, Cherry, Walnut.
247 to 257 Market St.,
200 to 206 and 213 to 217
THE A. HUBBARD LUMBER CO
Sash, Doors, Blinds,
Millwork of every Description.
Office, No. 247 Market St.
PATERSON, N. J.
Jotin Royle & Sons,
Straight Street, Essex Street and Ramapo Avenue,
NEAR THE Erie and the N. Y., S. & W. R'y Depots.
PATERSON, N. J.
JOHN W. FERGUSON, C. E.
- * ENGINEER AND BUILDER * *
Contracts taken for all classes of mill and shop construction ; complete plans and specifi-
cations furnished as part of the contract.
Correspondence is solicited with parties intending to erect buildings of this character, who-
wish to have the entire work done under one contract, including the engine, boilers,
heating apparatus, plumbing, etc.
Satisfactory reference furnished from parties for whom similar work has been done.
Office, paterson National Bank Building,
PATERSON, N. J.
McNab & Harlin Mfg. Co,
BRASS # COCKS,
PLUMBERS' BRASS WORK,
Globe Yalves, Gauge Cocks, Steam Whistles and Water Ganges,
WROUGHT IRON PIPE AND FITTINGS,
Plumbers' and Gas Fitters' Tools,
No. $6 John Street, NEW YORK.
Factory, PATERSON, N. J.
John E. Beggs, President and Treasi
A D I 'ER TI SEME NTS
German American Insurance Company,
119 WASHINGTON STREET.
CHAS. REYNOLDS, Manager.
Losses Promptly Settled and Paid at this Office.
Telephone 520. CALL FOR REFERENCE.
First National Bank,
paterson, n. j.
United States Depository.
CAPITAL STOCK, .... $400,000
SURPLUS AND PROFITS, . . . 320,000
Business and Family Accounts Received.
ALPttEUS S. ALLEN. JAMES BOOTH. HENRY B. CROSBY.
GARRET A. HOBART. W. O. FAYERWEATHER. JOHN REYNOLDS.
A. W. ROGERS. GARRET D. VOORHIS. JOHN J. BROWN.
WM. BARBOUR. EDWARD T. BELL. J. W. CLEVELAND.
JOHN J. BROWN, President.
JOHN REYNOLDS, Vice-President.
EDWARD T. BELL. Cashier.
W. G. SCOTT, Assistant Cashier.
OFFICE OR THE
LESLIE AND COURTLAND STS.
AD VER T/SEMENTS
Paterson Opera jiouse,
JOHN J. GOETSCHENS,
Playing only the best Attractions
at Popular Prices.
•Matinees Wednesday and Saturday.
John R. Lee,
Railroad * Contractor,
313 Main Street,
Established 1860. Telephone 133.
J. A. Hall & Co.
Reeds, : Harness, : Lingoes.
and General Weavers' Supplies.
Reeds and Harness for Ribbon and
Broad Silk Manufacturers
30 AND 32 HAMILTON AVENUE.
PATERSON, N. J.
HENRY B. KINO,
PRINTERS' * ROLLERS,
Cor. Summer and Fulton Streets.
AD VER TISEMENTS
Paterson, N. J.
Capital $150,000. Surplus $100,000.
Established 1864. -»■ : - Mi : ■ «>- Telephone No. 226.
S. S. SHERWOOD,
Real Estate and Insurance Agent
No. 270 MARKET STREET,
Opposite Depots. PATERSON, N.J.
For many years I have been Selling Well Located Lots on Installments
of $5.00 per month under contracts that protect the buyer should he be
unable to keep up his payments at any time. During these years there
have been no forfeits.
Heal Estate Bought, Sold and Exchanged.
MONEY TO LOAN ON BOND AND MORTGAGE,
_(5) AND (S)_
FULL ♦ CHARGE ♦ TAKEN ♦ OE ♦ PROPERTY.
FREDERICK HARDING I SON • •
jacquard cards a 200 and 202 Straight St.
Jos. Heildelberger, Pres't
Wm. M. Smith, Sec'y and Treas.
S. Dringer, Supt.
New Jersey Iron and Metal Company,
— DEALERS IN —
SCRAP IRON, STEEL, COPPER, BRASS, ETC.
Old Boilers, Engines and Machinery,
Office aijd Yard, 124 to 130 Railroad Jtaue,
PATERSON, N. J.
P. O. Box, 697. Telephone, 186.
•jT he most complete printing establishment in
Vjr the EASTERN STATES is at MERIDEN, CONN., and is
conducted by : : : : : ::::::::
Ti)<? J ourr>al Pu bli^l)ir)(3 Co.
Is it not better to have your WOOD or PHOTO ENGRAVING,
ELECTROTYP1NG, PRINTING and BINDING done under one roof than
by as many separate parties? And then, too, why pay four profits whe n
we combine the work and are satisfied with one? •■
Let us estimate for you and tell your friends about
IN 1 -
CUe ape IWanufaotupops of
SPECIALLY ROLED and
PRINTED ACCOUNT BOOKS,
And the Only manufacturers in
the State of
SILK BADGES, STAMPED If! GOLD,
SILS/ER OR INK, for Clubs,
Soeieties, Reunions and Con-
The Hartford Times on Dec. 3, 1892, says
Throughout this State the largest circu-
lation is in nearly every instance enjoyed
by one or the other of the evening papers
in each community, notably so in the case
of * * * * The Journal,
in Meriden, etc.
Send us your address for advertising
rates and sample copies. Address,
The Journal Publishing Co.
The Peterson Safe Deposit anil Trust Go.
NO. 152 MARKET STREET,
Opposite New City Hall.
Accounts opened for $i or any larger sum.
Interest allowed on deposits.
SAFE DEPOSIT DEPARTMENT,
Small Safes and Boxes rented in fire and
burglar proof vaults at a nominal yearly-
JOHN W. GRIGGS, President.
JAMES INGLIS, JR., Vice-President.
F. R. ALLEN, Treas.
• The Paterson National Bank.
State, City and County Depository.
Began Business July 10, 1889.
CAPITAL, ..... $300,000
SURPLUS AND PROFITS, . . 75,ooo
DEPOSITS, ..... 1,200,000
WILLIAM STRANGE, President.
HARWOOP B. PARKE, Vice-President.
HENRY C. KNOX, Cashier.
WATTS COOKE. Hon. JOHN W. GRIGGS. JOHN S. COOKE.
WILLIAM BARBOUR. FRANK W. ALLEN. SAMUEL J. WATSON.
BERNARD KATZ. WILLIAM STRANGE. WILLIAM T. RYLE.
SAMUEL V. S. MUZZY. HENRY C. KNOX.
HARWOOD B. PARKE.
BUSINESS AND PERSONAL ACCOUNTS INVITED.
Not to be taken
from this library
PATERSON FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY
3 0204 00102985 1